The Green Papers: Election 2000 
Republican PartyNebraska Republican
Primary: Tuesday, May 9, 2000
State Convention: Friday, June 23 - Sunday, June 25, 2000
Popular VoteDelegate Votes
Floor VoteHard Total
Bush, George W.  145,176  78%   30.  100%   30.  100%
McCain, John  28,065  15%            
Keyes, Alan  12,073   6%            
Write-In  444   0%            
Total  185,758 100%   30.  100%   30.  100%
Voter Eligibility: Modified Open Primary, Polls Close at 8 PM CDT (0100 UTC)
Delegate Selection: Loophole Primary

30 total delegates - 6 base at-large/ 9 re: 3 congressional districts / 15 bonus

Last modified Monday, December 25, 2000
States Chronologically    States Alphabetically    Republican Convention    Nebraska Democrat    Nebraska Links

29 June 2000 update: The 21 delegates chosen at the 25 June 2000 State Convention are pledged to vote for Bush.

The Popular Vote above is based on official returns from the 9 May Primary. This Presidential Primary coincides with a state/local primary. These coinciding primaries tend to have an impact upon voter turnout.

Delegates are directly elected in the Nebraska Republican Primary. Here are the unofficial results:

CD 1 3  
CD 2 3  
CD 3 3  
Total 9  

Tuesday 9 May 2000: 9 of Nebraska's 30 delegates to the Republican National Convention will be directly elected in the Nebraska Presidential Primary, in which delegates are directly elected and listed on the ballot as individuals. This is a "Loophole" type primary in which there is also a presidential preference vote atop the ballot: a so-called "beauty contest", the results of which have no effect on the allocation of National Convention delegates.

  • "Each of the State's 3 congressional districts is assigned 3 National Convention delegates: a total of 9 district delegates to be directly elected by the voters and individually listed on the ballot with their presidential preferences indicated.

Friday 23 June to Sunday 25 June: The Nebraska Republican Party Convention convenes and chooses the remaining 21 at-large delegates.

  • "Nebraska's 21 at-large delegates chosen by the State's Republican Party Convention are not required to reflect the results of the presidential preference voting in the primary."

Nebraska has 93 counties and 3 congressional districts: 92 counties are wholly within a given congressional district; 1 county is divided among more than one congressional district.

UNDIVIDED COUNTIES (wholly within one Congressional District):

  • CD 1: Burt, Butler, Cedar, Colfax, Cuming, Dakota, Dixon, Dodge, Gage, Johnson, Lancaster, Madison, Nemaha, Otoe, Pawnee, Richardson, Saline, Saunders, Seward, Stanton, Thurston, Washington, Wayne and York.
  • CD 2: Douglas and Sarpy.
  • CD 3: Adams, Antelope, Arthur, Banner, Blaine, Boone, Box Butte, Boyd, Brown, Buffalo, Chase, Cherry, Cheyenne, Clay, Custer, Dawes, Dawson, Deuel, Dundy, Fillmore, Franklin, Frontier, Furnas, Garden, Garfield, Gosper, Grant, Greeley, Hall, Hamilton, Harlan, Haynes, Hitchcock, Holt, Hooker, Howard, Jefferson, Kearney, Keith, Keya Paha, Kimball, Knox, Lincoln, Logan, Loup, McPherson, Merrick, Morrill, Nance, Nuckolls, Perkins, Phelps, Pierce, Platte, Polk, Red Willow, Rock, Scotts Bluff, Sheridan, Sherman, Sioux, Thayer, Thomas, Valley, Webster and Wheeler.

DIVIDED COUNTIES (split between more than one Congressional District):

  • Cass: CDs 1 and 2.

© Copyright 2000
Richard E. Berg-Andersson, Research and Commentary, E-Mail:
Tony Roza, Webmaster, E-Mail: