The Green Papers: Election 2000 
Democratic PartyNebraska Democrat
Primary: Tuesday, May 9, 2000
Popular VoteDelegate Votes
Floor VoteHard Total
Gore, Al  73,639  70%   32.  100%   21.   66%
Bradley, Bill  27,884  26%          5.   16%
Uncommitted                 6.   19%
LaRouche, Lyndon  3,191   3%            
Write-In  557   1%            
Total  105,271 100%   32.  100%   32.  100%
Voter Eligibility: Modified Open Primary, Polls Close at 8 PM CDT (0100 UTC)
Delegate Selection: Proportional Primary

32 total delegate votes - 17 district / 6 at-large; 3 Pledged PLEOs; 5 Unpledged PLEOs; 1 Unpledged add-on

Last modified Monday, December 25, 2000
States Chronologically    States Alphabetically    Democrat Convention    Nebraska Republican    Nebraska Links

9 May 2000: Unpledged delegate preference update: Gore 5, Bradley 0. Unpledged delegates appear in the "Soft Unpledged" field.

The Popular Vote above is based on official returns from the 9 May Primary. This Presidential Primary coincides with a state/local primary. These coinciding primaries tend to have an impact upon voter turnout.

Here's how we compute the delegate count:

  1. A candidate must receive 15% or more of the total popular vote to qualify for delegates. Discard those votes cast for candidates who do not qualify.
  2. Allocate Congressional District delegates from the qualified vote in each district. Allocate Pledged PLEO and At-Large delegates using the statewide qualified vote. Bill Bradley, having withdrawn from the campaign, is not entitled to receive At-Large and PLEO delegates.
  3. In each jurisdiction:
    1. Total qualified vote = total votes cast for the qualifying candidates in the jurisdiction.
    2. Allocation = (delegates for the jurisdiction) × (candidate's popular vote) ÷ (total qualified vote).
    3. Assign each candidate the WHOLE NUMBER of delegates.
    4. If delegates remain, allocate each of the remaining delegates to those candidates with the LARGEST REMAINDERS.

Delegates 26

Delegate Estimate: While the district vote is not yet available, Gore has won about 12 while Bradley has won about 5 district delegates (assuming a 70% to 27% spread in each district). Gore has won the 6 at-large and 3 Pledged PLEO delegates.

Tuesday 9 May 2000: 26 of 32 delegates to the Democratic National Convention are allocated to presidential contenders based on the results of the voting in today's Nebraska Presidential Primary.

  • "17 district delegates are to be allocated proportionally to presidential contenders based on the primary results in each of the State's 3 congressional districts. In addition, 6 at-large National Convention delegates plus 3 Pledged PLEOs are to be allocated to presidential contenders based on the primary vote statewide. A mandatory 15 percent threshold is required in order for a presidential contender to be allocated National Convention delegates at either the congressional district or statewide level."

The remaining 6 National Convention delegates consist of 5 Unpledged PLEOs and 1 Unpledged "add-on"s; these 6 delegates will go to the Democratic National Convention officially "Unpledged".

The breakdown of unpledged delegates is:

  • 4 Democratic National Committee members
  • 1 Member of Congress (Senator)
  • 1 add-on

Nebraska has 93 counties and 3 congressional districts: 92 counties are wholly within a given congressional district; 1 county is divided among more than one congressional district.

UNDIVIDED COUNTIES (wholly within one Congressional District):

  • CD 1: Burt, Butler, Cedar, Colfax, Cuming, Dakota, Dixon, Dodge, Gage, Johnson, Lancaster, Madison, Nemaha, Otoe, Pawnee, Richardson, Saline, Saunders, Seward, Stanton, Thurston, Washington, Wayne and York.
  • CD 2: Douglas and Sarpy.
  • CD 3: Adams, Antelope, Arthur, Banner, Blaine, Boone, Box Butte, Boyd, Brown, Buffalo, Chase, Cherry, Cheyenne, Clay, Custer, Dawes, Dawson, Deuel, Dundy, Fillmore, Franklin, Frontier, Furnas, Garden, Garfield, Gosper, Grant, Greeley, Hall, Hamilton, Harlan, Haynes, Hitchcock, Holt, Hooker, Howard, Jefferson, Kearney, Keith, Keya Paha, Kimball, Knox, Lincoln, Logan, Loup, McPherson, Merrick, Morrill, Nance, Nuckolls, Perkins, Phelps, Pierce, Platte, Polk, Red Willow, Rock, Scotts Bluff, Sheridan, Sherman, Sioux, Thayer, Thomas, Valley, Webster and Wheeler.

DIVIDED COUNTIES (split between more than one Congressional District):

  • Cass: CDs 1 and 2.

© Copyright 2000
Richard E. Berg-Andersson, Research and Commentary, E-Mail:
Tony Roza, Webmaster, E-Mail: