The Green Papers: Election 2000 
Democratic PartyMissouri Democrat
Primary: Tuesday, March 7, 2000
Meetings: Thursday, March 30, 2000
District Convention: Thursday, April 27, 2000
State Committee: Saturday, May 6, 2000
State Convention: Saturday, May 13, 2000
Popular VoteDelegate Votes
Floor VoteHard Total
Gore, Al  171,562  65%   92.  100%   51.   55%
Bradley, Bill  89,092  34%         24.   26%
Uncommitted  3,364   1%         17.   18%
LaRouche, Lyndon  906   0%            
Price, Pat  565   0%            
Total  265,489 100%   92.  100%   92.  100%
Voter Eligibility: Open Primary, Polls Close at 7 PM CST (0100 UTC)
Delegate Selection: Proportional Primary

92 total delegate votes - 49 district / 16 at-large; 10 Pledged PLEOs; 15 Unpledged PLEOs; 2 Unpledged add-ons

Last modified Sunday, December 24, 2000
States Chronologically    States Alphabetically    Democrat Convention    Missouri Republican    Missouri Links

15 June 2000: Unpledged delegate preference update: Gore 13, Bradley 1. Unpledged delegates appear in the "Soft Unpledged" column.

30 April 2000: Unpledged delegate preference update: Gore 12, Bradley 1. Unpledged delegates appear in the "Soft Unpledged" field.

18 March 2000: Unpledged delegate preference update: Gore 10, Bradley 2. Unpledged delegates appear in the "Soft Unpledged" field.

Bill Bradley, having withdrawn from the campaign, is no longer entitled to receive At-Large and unpledged PLEO delegates (rule 9.C). The 5 At-Large and 3 unpledged PLEO delegates originally assigned to Bradley have been reassigned to Gore in the "Soft Pledged" field.

The Popular Vote above is based on official returns for the 7 March Primary obtained from the Missouri Secretary of State.

Here's how we compute the delegate count. (Official results obtained from the SOS April 19, 2000):

  1. A candidate must receive 15% or more of the total popular vote to qualify for delegates. Discard those votes cast for candidates who do not qualify.
  2. Allocate Congressional District delegates from the qualified vote in each district. Allocate Pledged PLEO and At-Large delegates using the statewide qualified vote.
  3. In each jurisdiction:
    1. Total qualified vote = total votes cast for the qualifying candidates in the jurisdiction.
    2. Allocation = (delegates for the jurisdiction) × (candidate's popular vote) ÷ (total qualified vote).
    3. Assign each candidate the WHOLE NUMBER of delegates.
    4. If delegates remain, allocate each of the remaining delegates to those candidates with the LARGEST REMAINDERS.

Delegates 75  51  24

Wednesday 1 March 2000: Automatic certification of 15 Unpledged PLEO delegates. These delegates consist of Missouri members of the Democratic National Committee, the Minority Leader of the U.S House of Representatives, the Missouri Democratic Governor, Missouri Democratic Members of Congress, and distinguished former elected officials.

Tuesday 7 March 2000: 75 of Missouri's 92 delegates are allocated in today's Presidential Preference Primary.

  • "The Presidential Preference Primary is the first step in the delegate selection process in Missouri. Delegates shall be allocated so as to reflect fairly the expressed presidential preference or uncommitted status of primary voters. The at-large and congressional district delegates shall be allocated statewide and within the respective district in proportion to the percentage of primary vote won by each presidential preference, except that preferences falling below a 15% threshold shall not be awarded any delegates."

Missouri's 49 district delegates to the Democratic National Convention are apportioned from the 9 Congressional Districts as follows:

  • CD # 1= 6 delegates
  • CD # 2= 6 delegates
  • CD # 3= 6 delegates
  • CD # 4= 5 delegates
  • CD # 5= 6 delegates
  • CD # 6= 5 delegates
  • CD # 7= 5 delegates
  • CD # 8= 5 delegates
  • CD # 9= 5 delegates

Thursday 30 March 2000: Ward, township, legislative district meetings and county mass meetings are held.

Thursday 27 April 2000: Election of 49 pledged delegates at the District Convention. The delegates are allocated according to the results of the 7 March Primary.

Saturday 6 May 2000: Democratic State Committee meets to elect 2 unpledged add-on delegates and 10 pledged PLEO (Party Leader and Elected Officials) delegates.

  • Eligibility for the 10 pledged PLEO delegate positions is limited to mayors, statewide elected officials, state legislative leaders, state legislators, state elected officials, county elected officials, local elected officials, and Democratic party leaders.

Saturday 13 May 2000: 16 At-large pledged delegates are selected by the State Democratic Convention.

"The breakdown of Unpledged Party Leader and Elected Official delegates to the Democratic National Convention below is somewhat different from that provided by the Democratic Party: the reason for this is that the one or more of its Members of Congress are also members of the Democratic National Committee and are considered to be DNC members (i.e. "Party Leaders") rather than Democratic office holders (i.e. "Elected Officials") by the Party. However, it is the opinion of "The Green Papers" that the average voter/citizen or other interested party who accesses this website would more readily identify Party Leaders who are also Elected Officials by their political office rather than their status as members of the DNC and we, therefore, count them as Elected Officials rather than as Party Leaders in the following breakdown:"

  • 9 Democratic National Committee members
  • 5 Members of Congress (Representatives)
  • 1 Governor
  • 2 add-ons

Missouri has 114 counties plus 1 city independent of any county and 9 congressional districts: 111 counties are wholly within a given congressional district while 3 counties plus the independent City of St. Louis are divided among more than one congressional district.

UNDIVIDED COUNTIES (wholly within one Congressional District):

  • CD # 3: Jefferson and Ste. Genevieve
  • CD # 4: Bates, Benton, Camden, Cass, Cole, Dallas, Henry, Hickory, Johnson, Laclede, Lafayette, Maries, Miller, Moniteau, Morgan, Osage, Pettis, Pulaski, St. Clair, Saline, Vernon and Webster
  • CD # 6: Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, Caldwell, Carroll, Charlton, Clay, Clinton, Cooper, Daviess, DeKalb, Gentry, Grundy, Harrison, Holt, Howard, Linn, Livingston, Mercer, Nodaway, Platte, Putnam, Ray, Schuyler, Sullivan and Worth
  • CD # 7: Barry, Barton, Cedar, Christian, Dade, Douglas, Greene, Jasper, Lawrence, McDonald, Newton, Ozark, Polk, Stone and Taney
  • CD # 8: Bollinger, Butler, Cape Girardeau, Carter, Crawford, Dent, Dunklin, Howell, Iron, Madison, Mississippi, New Madrid, Oregon, Pemiscot, Perry, Phelps, Reynolds, Ripley, St. Francois, Scott, Shannon, Stoddard, Texas, Washington, Wayne and Wright
  • CD # 9: Adair, Audrain, Boone, Callaway, Clark, Franklin, Gasconade, Knox, Lewis, Lincoln, Macon, Marion, Monroe, Montgomery, Pike, Ralls, Randolph, Scotland, Shelby and Warren

DIVIDED COUNTIES (split between more than one Congressional District):

  • Jackson: CDs 4, 5 and 6
  • St. Charles: CDs 2 and 9
  • St. Louis County: CDs 1, 2 and 3

independent City of St. Louis: CDs 1 and 3
[NOTE: the City of St. Louis is completely independent of St. Louis County which surrounds it.]

CD # 5 is wholly within Jackson County

© Copyright 2000
Richard E. Berg-Andersson, Research and Commentary, E-Mail:
Tony Roza, Webmaster, E-Mail: