The Green Papers: Election 2000 
Democratic PartyGuam Democrat
Territorial Convention: Saturday, March 18, 2000
Popular VoteDelegate Votes
Floor VoteHard Total
Gore, Al           6.  100%    3.   50%
Uncommitted                 3.   50%
Total           6.  100%    6.  100%
Voter Eligibility: Closed Caucus
Delegate Selection: Caucus/Convention

6 total delegate votes - 3 at-large; 3 Unpledged PLEOs

Last modified Sunday, June 18, 2000
States Chronologically    States Alphabetically    Democrat Convention    Guam Republican    Guam Links

20 March 2000: Unpledged delegate preference update: Gore 3. Unpledged delegates appear in the "Soft Unpledged" field.

An AP report states that Guam party chairman Joe San Augustin reported that all 12 Guam delegates support Vice President Al Gore. (Some may have supported Senator Bill Bradley who dropped out of the race on 9 March). Guam has 12 delegates but casts 6 delegate votes.

Saturday 18 March 2000: A Territorial Convention made up of all interested voters meets to choose 6 of Guam's 12 delegates to the Democratic National Convention (together representing 3 of Guam's 6 delegate votes at the National Convention).

  • "These 6 at-large delegates to the National Convention are elected in 'preference caucuses' at the Territorial Convention which allocate these delegates to the presidential contenders in a way which reflects the percentage of support for the candidates at the Territorial Convention- a mandatory 15 percent threshold being necessary in order for a presidential contender to be allocated National Convention delegates."
  • Each of these 6 Pledged delegates will only cast ½ (or .5) of a vote on the floor of the Democratic National Convention.

The remaining 6 delegates (representing Guam's remaining 3 delegate votes) are Unpledged PLEOs who will go to the Democratic National Convention officially "Unpledged".

The 3 "Unpledged" votes are cast by 6 actual delegates as follows:

  • This territory's Democratic Member of Congress (=a non-voting Delegate in the House of Representatives); the territorial Delegate is an "Unpledged PLEO" and casts 1 delegate vote.
  • This territory's Democratic Governor; the territorial Governor is an "Unpledged PLEO" and casts 1 delegate vote.
  • This territory's 4 Democratic National Committee members: each of these territorial DNC members casts ¼ (=.25 vote) apiece for a total of 1 delegate vote.

© Copyright 2000
Richard E. Berg-Andersson, Research and Commentary, E-Mail:
Tony Roza, Webmaster, E-Mail: