The Green Papers: Election 2000 
Republican PartyGeorgia Republican
Primary: Tuesday, March 7, 2000
Popular VoteDelegate Votes
Floor VoteHard Total
Bush, George W.  430,480  67%   54.  100%   54.  100%
McCain, John  179,046  28%            
Keyes, Alan  29,640   5%            
Bauer, Gary  1,962   0%            
Forbes, Steve  1,647   0%            
Hatch, Orrin  413   0%            
Total  643,188 100%   54.  100%   54.  100%
Voter Eligibility: Open Primary, Polls Close at 7 PM EST (0000 UTC)
Delegate Selection: Winner-Take-All Primary (by district and statewide)

54 total delegates - 6 base at-large/ 33 re: 11 congressional districts / 15 bonus

Last modified Thursday, August 3, 2000
States Chronologically    States Alphabetically    Republican Convention    Georgia Democrat    Georgia Links

The Popular Vote above is from official returns from the 7 March Primary.

Here's how we estimate the delegate count:

  1. The candidate with the greatest popular vote in each of the 11 districts receives that district's 3 delegates.
  2. The candidate with the greatest statewide popular vote receives 21 delegates. Bush has the greatest number of votes statewide.

Delegates 54  54  0

Tuesday 7 March 2000: All 54 of Georgia's delegates to the Republican National Convention are allocated to presidential contenders in today's Georgia's Presidential Primary.

  • "33 district delegates are to be allocated to presidential contenders based on the primary results in each of the state's 11 congressional districts: each congressional district is assigned 3 National Convention delegates and the presidential contender receiving the greatest number of votes in that district, notwithstanding that candidate's percentage of the total primary vote in the district, will receive all 3 of that district's National Convention delegates. In addition, 21 at-large delegates (6 base at-large delegates plus 15 bonus delegates) are to be allocated to the presidential contender receiving the greatest number of votes in the primary statewide, notwithstanding that candidate's percentage of the total primary vote statewide. This winning candidate will be said to have received the 'final net primary vote': note, however, that it will be possible- by winning delegates at the 'winner-take-all' congressional district level- for a presidential contender other than the one so receiving the final net primary vote statewide to be allocated National Convention delegates in the Georgia Presidential Primary."

Georgia has 159 Counties and 11 Congressional Districts: 153 counties are wholly within a congressional district; 6 counties are divided among more than one congressional district.

CD # 1 includes the Counties of:

  • Brantley, Bryan, Bulloch, Camden, Candler, Chatham, Effingham, Evans, Glynn, Jenkins, Liberty, Long, McIntosh, Pierce, Screven, Tattnall, Toombs and Wayne.

CD # 2 includes the Counties of:

  • Baker, Brooks, Calhoun, Chattahoochie, Clay, Colquitt, Cook, Crisp, Decatur, Dougherty, Early, Grady, Lee, Lowndes, Macon, Marion, Miller, Mitchell, Quitman, Randolph, Schley, Seminole, Stewart, Sumter, Taylor, Terrell, Thomas, Tift, Turner, Webster and Worth.

CD # 3 includes the Counties of:

  • Coweta, Fayette, Harris, Henry, Meriwether, Muscogee, Pike, Spalding and Talbot.

Clayton County is split between CDs 3 and 5.
DeKalb County is split between CDs 4 and 5.
Fulton County is split between CDs 5 and 6.
Cobb County is split between CDs 6 and 7.
Cherokee County is split between CDs 6 and 9.
Gwinett County is split between CDs 6 and 11.

CD # 7 includes the Counties of:

  • Bartow, Carroll, Chattooga, Douglas, Floyd, Haralson, Heard, Paulding, Polk and Troup.

CD # 8 includes the Counties of:

  • Appling, Atkinson, Bacon, Ben Hill, Berrien, Bibb, Bleckley, Charlton, Clinch, Coffee, Crawford, Dodge, Dooly, Echols, Houston, Irwin, Jeff Davis, Lamar, Lanier, Monroe, Montgomery, Peach, Pulaski, Telfair, Treutlen, Twiggs, Upson, Ware, Wheeler and Wilcox.

CD # 9 includes the Counties of:

  • Catoosa, Dade, Dawson, Fannin, Forsyth, Gilmer, Gordon, Habersham, Hall, Lumpkin, Murray, Pickens, Rabun, Stephens, Towns, Union, Walker, White and Whitfield.

CD # 10 includes the Counties of:

  • Baldwin, Burke, Butts, Columbia, Elbert, Emanuel, Glascock, Greene, Hancock, Jasper, Jefferson, Johnson, Jones, Laurens, Lincoln, McDuffie, Oglethorpe, Putnam, Richmond, Taliaferro, Warren, Washington, Wilkes and Wilkinson.

CD # 11 includes the Counties of:

  • Banks, Barrow, Clarke, Franklin, Hart, Jackson, Madison, Morgan, Newton, Oconee, Rockdale and Walton.

© Copyright 2000
Richard E. Berg-Andersson, Research and Commentary, E-Mail:
Tony Roza, Webmaster, E-Mail: