The Green Papers: Election 2000 
Democratic PartyGeorgia Democrat
Primary: Tuesday, March 7, 2000
Popular VoteDelegate Votes
Floor VoteHard Total
Gore, Al  238,396  84%   93.  100%   65.   70%
Bradley, Bill  46,035  16%         12.   13%
Uncommitted                16.   17%
Total  284,431 100%   93.  100%   93.  100%
Voter Eligibility: Open Primary, Polls Close at 7 PM EST (0000 UTC)
Delegate Selection: Proportional Primary

93 total delegate votes - 50 district / 17 at-large; 10 Pledged PLEOs; 14 Unpledged PLEOs / 2 Unpledged add-ons

Last modified Wednesday, August 16, 2000
States Chronologically    States Alphabetically    Democrat Convention    Georgia Republican    Georgia Links

31 July 2000: On July 24, 2000 former Democratic Governor Zell Miller was appointed to fill the late Republican Paul Coverdell's Senate seat. Senator Zell Miller will attend the convention as an unpledged PLEO delegate. This change increases the size of the Georgia Delegation from 92 to 93 delegates.

30 April 2000: Unpledged delegate preference update: Gore 12, Bradley 0. Unpledged delegates appear in the "Soft Unpledged" field.

18 March 2000: Unpledged delegate preference update: Gore 11, Bradley 0. Unpledged delegates appear in the "Soft Unpledged" field.

Bill Bradley, having withdrawn from the campaign, is no longer entitled to receive At-Large and unpledged PLEO delegates (rule 9.C). The 3 At-Large and 2 unpledged PLEO delegates originally assigned to Bradley have been reassigned to Gore in our "Soft Pledged". The "Hard Total" however, shows the delegates as originally assigned.

The Popular Vote above is from official returns from the 7 March Primary.

Here's how we compute the delegate count:
  1. A candidate must receive 15% or more of the total popular vote to qualify for delegates. Discard those votes cast for candidates who do not qualify.
  2. Allocate Congressional District delegates from the qualified vote in each district. Allocate Pledged PLEO and At-Large delegates using the statewide qualified vote.
  3. In each jurisdiction:
    1. Total qualified vote = total votes cast for the qualifying candidates in the jurisdiction.
    2. Allocation = (delegates for the jurisdiction) × (candidate's popular vote) ÷ (total qualified vote).
    3. Assign each candidate the WHOLE NUMBER of delegates.
    4. If delegates remain, allocate each of the remaining delegates to those candidates with the LARGEST REMAINDERS.
Delegates 77  65  12

Tuesday 7 March 2000: 77 of 92 delegates to the Democratic National Convention are allocated to presidential contenders based on the results of the voting in today's Georgia Presidential Primary.

  • "50 district delegates are to be allocated proportionally to presidential contenders based on the primary results in each of the State's 11 congressional districts. In addition, 17 at-large National Convention delegates plus 10 Pledged PLEOs are to be allocated to presidential contenders based on the primary vote statewide. A mandatory 15 percent threshold is required in order for a presidential contender to be allocated National Convention delegates at either the congressional district or statewide level."

The remaining 15 National Convention delegates consist of 13 Unpledged PLEOs and 2 Unpledged "add-on"s; these 15 delegates will go to the Democratic National Convention officially "Unpledged".

The breakdown of unpledged delegates is:

  • 7 Democratic National Committee members
  • 4 Members of Congress (1 Senator, 3 Representatives)
  • 1 Governor
  • 1 Distinguished Party Leader (former President Jimmy Carter)
  • 2 add-ons

Georgia has 159 Counties and 11 Congressional Districts: 153 counties are wholly within a congressional district; 6 counties are divided among more than one congressional district.

CD # 1 includes the Counties of:

  • Brantley, Bryan, Bulloch, Camden, Candler, Chatham, Effingham, Evans, Glynn, Jenkins, Liberty, Long, McIntosh, Pierce, Screven, Tattnall, Toombs and Wayne.

CD # 2 includes the Counties of:

  • Baker, Brooks, Calhoun, Chattahoochie, Clay, Colquitt, Cook, Crisp, Decatur, Dougherty, Early, Grady, Lee, Lowndes, Macon, Marion, Miller, Mitchell, Quitman, Randolph, Schley, Seminole, Stewart, Sumter, Taylor, Terrell, Thomas, Tift, Turner, Webster and Worth.

CD # 3 includes the Counties of:

  • Coweta, Fayette, Harris, Henry, Meriwether, Muscogee, Pike, Spalding and Talbot.

Clayton County is split between CDs 3 and 5.
DeKalb County is split between CDs 4 and 5.
Fulton County is split between CDs 5 and 6.
Cobb County is split between CDs 6 and 7.
Cherokee County is split between CDs 6 and 9.
Gwinett County is split between CDs 6 and 11.

CD # 7 includes the Counties of:

  • Bartow, Carroll, Chattooga, Douglas, Floyd, Haralson, Heard, Paulding, Polk and Troup.

CD # 8 includes the Counties of:

  • Appling, Atkinson, Bacon, Ben Hill, Berrien, Bibb, Bleckley, Charlton, Clinch, Coffee, Crawford, Dodge, Dooly, Echols, Houston, Irwin, Jeff Davis, Lamar, Lanier, Monroe, Montgomery, Peach, Pulaski, Telfair, Treutlen, Twiggs, Upson, Ware, Wheeler and Wilcox.

CD # 9 includes the Counties of:

  • Catoosa, Dade, Dawson, Fannin, Forsyth, Gilmer, Gordon, Habersham, Hall, Lumpkin, Murray, Pickens, Rabun, Stephens, Towns, Union, Walker, White and Whitfield.

CD # 10 includes the Counties of:

  • Baldwin, Burke, Butts, Columbia, Elbert, Emanuel, Glascock, Greene, Hancock, Jasper, Jefferson, Johnson, Jones, Laurens, Lincoln, McDuffie, Oglethorpe, Putnam, Richmond, Taliaferro, Warren, Washington, Wilkes and Wilkinson.

CD # 11 includes the Counties of:

  • Banks, Barrow, Clarke, Franklin, Hart, Jackson, Madison, Morgan, Newton, Oconee, Rockdale and Walton.

© Copyright 2000
Richard E. Berg-Andersson, Research and Commentary, E-Mail:
Tony Roza, Webmaster, E-Mail: