The Green Papers
2004 Presidential Primaries, Caucuses, and Conventions
Copyright Vermont Democrat
Presidential Nominating Process
Primary: Tuesday 2 March 20041
National Convention Delegate Meeting: Saturday 5 June 2004
Delegate Votes
Hard TotalFloor Vote
Dean, Howard44,393   53.6%9.   40.9% 
Kerry, John F.26,171   31.6%6.   27.3%22.  100.0%
Edwards, John5,113    6.2%  
Kucinich, Dennis J.3,396    4.1%  
Clark, Wesley K.2,749    3.3%  
(write-in/others)673    0.8%  
LaRouche, Lyndon H., Jr.386    0.5%  
Uncommitted 7.   31.8% 
Total82,881  100.0%22.  100.0%22.  100.0%

States Chronologically   States Alphabetically     Democratic Convention     Vermont Republican    
Vermont Primaries for Statewide offices and Congress


The primary results on this page are from the official canvans of Vermont Secretary of State. Last update 10 March 2004.

Results from the Vermont Secretary of State:

Here's how we compute the delegate count:

  1. A candidate must receive 15% or more of the total popular vote to qualify for delegates. Discard votes cast for those candidates who do not meet the threshold.
  2. Allocate Congressional District delegates from the qualified vote in each district. Allocate Pledged PLEO and At-Large delegates using the state-wide qualified vote.
  3. In each jurisdiction (CD and statewide):
    1. Total qualified vote = total votes cast for the qualifying candidates in the jurisdiction.
    2. Allocation = (delegates for the jurisdiction) (candidate's popular vote) (total qualified vote).
    3. Assign each candidate the WHOLE NUMBER of delegates.
    4. If delegates remain, allocate each of the remaining delegates to those candidates with the LARGEST REMAINDERS.




Tuesday 2 March 2004: 15 of 22 delegates to the Democratic National Convention are allocated to presidential contenders based on the results of the voting in today's Vermont Presidential Primary. A mandatory 15 percent threshold is required in order for a presidential contender to be allocated National Convention delegates at either the congressional district or statewide level.

  • 10 district delegates are to be allocated proportionally to presidential contenders based on the statewide primary results as Vermont has only one Congressional District.
  • In addition, 5 delegates are to be allocated to presidential contenders based on the primary vote statewide.
    • 3 at-large National Convention delegates
    • 2 Pledged PLEOs

The State Convention caucuses will select the district delegates on 22 May 2004.


Saturday 5 June 2004 - National Convention Delegate Meeting

The remaining 7 National Convention delegates consist of

  • 6 Unpledged PLEO delegates:
    • 5 Democratic National Committee members
    • 1 Members of Congress (1 Senator and 0 Representatives)
    • 0 Governors
    • 0 Distinguished Party Leaders
  • 1 Unpledged "add-on" (selected by a quorum of elected district level delegates).

These 7 delegates and will go to the Democratic National Convention officially "Unpledged".

Delegation to the National Convention

Vermont Delegation (as posted by, 4 July 2004)

Pledged District6410
Pledged PLEO011
Pledged At-Large112
Total Pledged7613
Alternate Pledged District213
Alternate Pledged PLEO000
Alternate Pledged At-Large101
Total Alternates314
Unpledged  7
Pages  0
Pledged DistrictKerryHon. William AswadBurlington, VT
Pledged DistrictDeanJacob CrumbineNorwich, VT
Pledged DistrictKerryKathleen FitzgeraldStowe, VT
Pledged DistrictDeanDonna FournierNew Haven, VT
Pledged DistrictKerryMary HowardRutland, VT
Pledged DistrictKerryGeorge JaegerMiddlebury, VT
Pledged DistrictDeanHon. Karen LafayetteBurlington, VT
Pledged DistrictDeanPeter ShumlinPutney, VT
Pledged DistrictDeanHon. Mary SullivanBurlington, VT
Pledged DistrictDeanHon. John TracyBurlington, VT
Pledged PLEOKerryHon. Rosemary McLaughlinSouth Royalton, VT
Pledged At-LargeKerrySusan BennettNew Haven, VT
Pledged At-LargeDeanCharles JohnsonThetford, VT
Alternate Pledged DistrictDeanJohn BauerHyde Park, VT
Alternate Pledged DistrictKerryHeidi BuchananBoston, MA
Alternate Pledged DistrictDeanHon. Sara Branon KittellFairfield, VT
Alternate Pledged At-LargeDeanKen DeanMontpelier, VT
Unpledged Add-on Billi GoshBrooksfield, VT
Unpledged DNC Member Hon. Linda AlmyUnderhill Center, VT
Unpledged DNC Member Hon. Deb MarkowitzMontpelier, VT
Unpledged DNC Member
Delegation Chair
 Hon. Scudder ParkerMontpelier, VT
Unpledged DNC Member Hon. Chuck RossHinesburg, VT
Unpledged DNC Member Allison SultanMontpelier, VT
Unpledged Senator Hon. Patrick LeahyWashington, DC

1 Democratic Party's "First Determining Step" of the delegate selection process.


  Election 2004 - Primary, Caucus, and Convention Home  
  States Alphabetically  
  Events Chronologically  
  Major Events Chronologically  
  Poll Closing Times  
  Democratic "First Determining Step" Chronologically  
  Chronological Cumulative Allocation of Delegates  
Delegate Counts
  State by State Summary  
  Democratic Pledged and Unpledged Summary   --   Republican Pledged and Unpledged Summary  
  Democratic Hard and Floor Summary   --   Republican Hard and Floor Summary  
Delegate Allocation
  Democratic Quick Reference   --   Republican Quick Reference  
  Democratic Detailed Delegate Allocation   --   Republican Detailed Delegate Allocation  
  Democratic Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility   --   Republican Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility  
  Primaries at a Glance  
Ballot Access
  Democratic Candidates   --   Republican Candidates  
  Historical Analysis of the Presidential Nominating Process  
  Historical Analysis of the apportionment of delegate votes at the National Conventions of the two major parties  
  Primary/Caucus/Convention Glossary  
  Third Parties (Green, Libertarian, Reform)