The Green Papers
2004 Presidential Primaries, Caucuses, and Conventions
Copyright South Dakota Democrat
Presidential Nominating Process
Primary: Tuesday 1 June 20041
State Party Central Committee: Friday 18 June 2004
Delegate Votes
Hard TotalFloor Vote
Kerry, John F.69,473   82.3%14.   63.6%22.  100.0%
Uncommitted5,105    6.0%8.   36.4% 
Dean, Howard4,838    5.7%  
LaRouche, Lyndon H., Jr.2,943    3.5%  
Kucinich, Dennis J.2,046    2.4%  
Total84,405  100.0%22.  100.0%22.  100.0%

States Chronologically   States Alphabetically     Democratic Convention     South Dakota Republican    
South Dakota Primaries for Statewide offices and Congress


The Popular Vote above is based on official returns from the 1 June Primary. This Presidential Primary coincides with a state/local primary. These coinciding primaries tend to have an impact upon voter turnout.

SOUTH DAKOTA Primary and Special Election Returns from an official source

Here's how we compute the delegate count:

  1. A candidate must receive 15% or more of the total popular vote to qualify for delegates. Discard votes cast for those candidates who do not meet the threshold.
  2. Allocate Congressional District delegates from the qualified vote in each district. Allocate Pledged PLEO and At-Large delegates using the state-wide qualified vote.
  3. In each jurisdiction (CD and statewide):
    1. Total qualified vote = total votes cast for the qualifying candidates in the jurisdiction.
    2. Allocation = (delegates for the jurisdiction) (candidate's popular vote) (total qualified vote).
    3. Assign each candidate the WHOLE NUMBER of delegates.
    4. If delegates remain, allocate each of the remaining delegates to those candidates with the LARGEST REMAINDERS.




Tuesday 1 June 2004: 14 of 22 delegates to the Democratic National Convention are allocated to presidential contenders based on the primary results statewide as South Dakota has only a single at-large congressional seat. A mandatory 15 percent threshold is required in order for a presidential contender to be allocated National Convention delegates at either the congressional district or statewide level.

  • 9 district delegates are to be allocated proportionally to presidential contenders based on the primary results in the State's single at-large congressional district.
  • In addition, 5 delegates are to be allocated to presidential contenders based on the primary vote statewide.
    • 3 at-large National Convention delegates
    • 2 Pledged PLEOs

Friday 18 June 2004 - State Party Central Committee

The remaining 8 National Convention delegates consist of

  • 7 Unpledged PLEO delegates:
    • 4 Democratic National Committee members
    • 3 Members of Congress (2 Senators and 1 Representative)
    • 0 Governors
    • 0 Distinguished Party Leaders
  • 1 Unpledged "add-on" (selected by the State Party Central Committee on 18 June during the 18-19 June 2004 State Convention).

These 8 delegates and will go to the Democratic National Convention officially "Unpledged".

Delegation to the National Convention

South Dakota Delegation (as posted by, 4 July 2004)

Pledged District099
Pledged PLEO112
Pledged At-Large123
Total Pledged21214
Alternate Pledged District033
Alternate Pledged PLEO000
Alternate Pledged At-Large101
Total Alternates134
Unpledged  8
Pages  0
Pledged District 1KerrySteven EmeryWhite River, SD
Pledged District 1KerryHon. Deb KnechtHoughton, SD
Pledged District 1KerryJames KraftAberdeen, SD
Pledged District 1KerryHon. John McIntyreSioux Falls, SD
Pledged District 1KerryBonnie MehlbrechSioux Falls, SD
Pledged District 1KerryHon. Daniel SuttonFlandreau, SD
Pledged District 1KerryGail SwensonSioux Falls, SD
Pledged District 1KerryBill WalshDeadwood, SD
Pledged District 1KerryKristin WisnowskiMitchell, SD
Pledged PLEOKerryHon. Jim BurgPierre, SD
Pledged PLEO(unknown)Hon. Donn LarsonSD
Pledged At-LargeKerryMary FosterSpearfish, SD
Pledged At-Large(unknown)Hon. Donita Loudner 
Pledged At-Large
Delegation Chair
KerrySandra WaltmanFt. Pierre, SD
Alternate Pledged DistrictKerryJillian HusmanSioux Falls, SD
Alternate Pledged DistrictKerryPaul JensenRapid City, SD
Alternate Pledged DistrictKerryEdith RennerSpearfish, SD
Alternate Pledged At-Large(unknown)Paul MillerCuster, SD
Unpledged Add-on Linda Himmel-RobertsSioux Falls, SD
Unpledged Congressman Hon. Stephanie HersethBrookings, SD
Unpledged DNC Member Hon. Thomas DaschleWashington, DC
Unpledged DNC Member Judy Olson DuhamelRapid City, SD
Unpledged DNC Member Dennis LangleyRapid City, SD
Unpledged DNC Member Hon. Nick NemecHolabird, SD
Unpledged DNC Member Sharon StroscheinMansfield, SD
Unpledged Senator Hon. Tim JohnsonWashington, DC

1 Democratic Party's "First Determining Step" of the delegate selection process.


  Election 2004 - Primary, Caucus, and Convention Home  
  States Alphabetically  
  Events Chronologically  
  Major Events Chronologically  
  Poll Closing Times  
  Democratic "First Determining Step" Chronologically  
  Chronological Cumulative Allocation of Delegates  
Delegate Counts
  State by State Summary  
  Democratic Pledged and Unpledged Summary   --   Republican Pledged and Unpledged Summary  
  Democratic Hard and Floor Summary   --   Republican Hard and Floor Summary  
Delegate Allocation
  Democratic Quick Reference   --   Republican Quick Reference  
  Democratic Detailed Delegate Allocation   --   Republican Detailed Delegate Allocation  
  Democratic Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility   --   Republican Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility  
  Primaries at a Glance  
Ballot Access
  Democratic Candidates   --   Republican Candidates  
  Historical Analysis of the Presidential Nominating Process  
  Historical Analysis of the apportionment of delegate votes at the National Conventions of the two major parties  
  Primary/Caucus/Convention Glossary  
  Third Parties (Green, Libertarian, Reform)