Footnotes for the Sessions of the
76th Congress, 1939-1941

session type convened adjourned President pro Tempore
of the Senate
Speaker of the House
of Representatives
1stodd3 January 19395 August 1939PittmanBankhead
2ndExtra21 September 19393 November 1939PittmanBankhead

This "extra" Session of the 76th Congress was called by President Franklin Delano Roosevelt via executive Proclamation issued on 13 September 1939.

3rdeven(ld)3 January 19402 January 1941Pittman;
King, William H.
(Dem.- Utah)
Rayburn, Sam
(Dem.- Texas)

Senate President pro Tempore Key Pittman died on 10 November 1940; Senator King was elected to succeed him on 19 November 1940.

House Speaker William B. Bankhead died on 15 September 1940; Congressman Rayburn was elected to succeed him the following day (16 September).



"Regular" Sessions of Congress
"Regular" Sessions prior to the adoption of the 20th Amendment (1933)
"Regular" Sessions after the adoption of the 20th Amendment (1933)
"Extra" Sessions
"Special SENATE" Sessions

Related information:
Political Party Floor Leaders in the Congress of the United States
A Brief History of Congressional Leadership