The Green Papers: Election 2000 
Democratic PartySouth Dakota Democrat
Primary: Tuesday, June 6, 2000
Popular VoteDelegate Votes
Floor VoteHard Total
Gore, Al          22.  100%   15.   68%
Uncommitted                 7.   32%
Total          22.  100%   22.  100%
Voter Eligibility: Closed Primary, Polls Close at 8 PM CDT (0100 UTC)
Delegate Selection: Proportional Primary

22 total delegate votes - 10 district / 3 at-large; 2 Pledged PLEOs; 6 Unpledged PLEOs; 1 Unpledged add-on

Last modified Tuesday, December 26, 2000
States Chronologically    States Alphabetically    Democrat Convention    South Dakota Republican    South Dakota Links

2000 June 6: The Gore delegates were the only slate certified with the Secretary of State's Office for the Democratic Presidential Primary. Hence, they did not appear on the ballot and were automatically elected. The 6 June Presidential Primary coincides with a state/local primary. These coinciding primaries tend to have an impact upon voter turnout.

6 June 2000: Unpledged delegate preference update: Gore 6. Unpledged delegates appear in the "Soft Unpledged" column.

Tuesday 6 June 2000: 15 of 22 delegates to the Democratic National Convention are allocated to presidential contenders based on the results of the voting in today's South Dakota Presidential Primary.

  • "10 district delegates are to be allocated proportionally to presidential contenders based on the primary results statewide as South Dakota has only a single at-large congressional seat. In addition, 3 at-large National Convention delegates plus 2 Pledged PLEOs are also to be allocated to presidential contenders based on the primary vote statewide. A mandatory 15 percent threshold is required in order for a presidential contender to be allocated National Convention delegates at the statewide level."

The remaining 7 National Convention delegates consist of 6 Unpledged PLEOs and 1 Unpledged "add-on"; these 7 delegates will go to the Democratic National Convention officially "Unpledged".

"The breakdown of Unpledged Party Leader and Elected Official delegates to the Democratic National Convention below is somewhat different from that provided by the Democratic Party: the reason for this is that the one or more of its Members of Congress are also members of the Democratic National Committee and are considered to be DNC members (i.e. "Party Leaders") rather than Democratic office holders (i.e. "Elected Officials") by the Party. However, it is the opinion of "The Green Papers" that the average voter/citizen or other interested party who accesses this website would more readily identify Party Leaders who are also Elected Officials by their political office rather than their status as members of the DNC and we, therefore, count them as Elected Officials rather than as Party Leaders in the following breakdown:"

  • 4 Democratic National Committee members
  • 2 Members of Congress (Senators)
  • 1 add-on

© Copyright 2000
Richard E. Berg-Andersson, Research and Commentary, E-Mail:
Tony Roza, Webmaster, E-Mail: