The Green Papers: Election 2000 
Democratic PartySouth Carolina Democrat
Caucus/Party-run Primary: Thursday, March 9, 2000
Popular VoteDelegate Votes
Floor VoteHard Total
Gore, Al  8,864  92%   53.  100%   43.   81%
Uncommitted  514   5%         10.   19%
Bradley, Bill  172   2%            
Kreml, Bill  107   1%            
Total  9,657 100%   53.  100%   53.  100%
Voter Eligibility: Closed Primary, Polls Close at 7:30 PM EST (0030 UTC)
Delegate Selection: Proportional Primary

53 total delegate votes - 28 district / 9 at-large; 6 Pledged PLEOs; 9 Unpledged PLEOs; 1 Unpledged add-on

Last modified Wednesday, August 16, 2000
States Chronologically    States Alphabetically    Democrat Convention    South Carolina Republican    South Carolina Links

18 March 2000: Unpledged delegate preference update: Gore 8, Bradley 0. Unpledged delegates appear in the "Soft Unpledged" field.

The Popular Vote above is based on unofficial returns from the 9 March caucuses, each vote is that of a precinct delegate (92.3% of the caucuses reporting).

Preliminary results show Gore as the sole candidate meeting the 15% threshold. He receives all 43 delegates

Kreml, Bill1071.108%

Thursday 9 March 2000: 43 of 52 delegates to the Democratic National Convention are allocated to presidential contenders based on the results of the voting in today's South Carolina Presidential Primary.

  • "The presidential primary in South Carolina is known as a "firehouse primary", as it is being held in conjunction with the party's precinct meetings at which local party officers are elected and delegates are chosen for the party's county conventions (an organizational body having nothing directly to do with the allocation of National Convention delegates to presidential contenders). 28 district delegates are to be allocated proportionally to presidential contenders based on the results from this "firehouse primary" in each of the State's 6 congressional districts. In addition, 9 at-large National Convention delegates plus 6 Pledged PLEOs are to be allocated to presidential contenders based on the results from the "firehouse primary" statewide. A mandatory 15 percent threshold is required in order for a presidential contender to be allocated National Convention delegates at either the congressional district or statewide level."

The remaining 9 National Convention delegates consist of 8 Unpledged PLEOs and 1 Unpledged "add-on"; these 9 delegates will go to the Democratic National Convention officially "Unpledged".

The breakdown of unpledged delegates is:

  • 4 Democratic National Committee members
  • 3 Members of Congress (1 Senator, 2 Representatives)
  • 1 Governor
  • 1 add-on


On September 28, 1999 the Executive Committee of the South Carolina Democratic Party voted to hold a presidential primary on Thursday, March 9th, 2000. The decision comes only days after the Rules and Bylaws Committee of the DNC denied the Party's request for a waiver to hold a primary on February 19, 2000 -- the same date of the South Carolina Republican Party's presidential primary.

The Executive committee decided to combine the presidential primary with the precinct meetings. This party-run process is often referred to as a "firehouse primary." Precinct meetings will immediately follow voting. The primary vote totals for each presidential candidate (or for uncommitted status) will be used at the state convention for the selection of delegates and alternates to the national convention.

Here's how we compute the delegate count:

  1. A candidate must receive 15% or more of the total popular vote to qualify for delegates. Discard those votes cast for candidates who do not qualify.
  2. Allocate Congressional District delegates from the qualified vote in each district. Allocate Pledged PLEO and At-Large delegates using the statewide qualified vote. Bill Bradley, having withdrawn from the campaign, is not entitled to receive At-Large and PLEO delegates.
  3. In each jurisdiction:
    1. Total qualified vote = total votes cast for the qualifying candidates in the jurisdiction.
    2. Allocation = (delegates for the jurisdiction) × (candidate's popular vote) ÷ (total qualified vote).
    3. Assign each candidate the WHOLE NUMBER of delegates.
    4. If delegates remain, allocate each of the remaining delegates to those candidates with the LARGEST REMAINDERS.

South Carolina has 6 Congressional Districts and 46 counties, 33 of the counties are within one CD and 13 counties are split between more than one CD.

UNDIVIDED COUNTIES: (Counties wholly within one Congressional District):

  • CD # 1: Georgetown, Horry. (2)
  • CD # 2: Allendale, Barnwell, Hampton, Jasper, Lexington. (5)
  • CD # 3: Abbeville, Anderson, Edgefield, Greenwood, McCormick, Oconee, Pickens, Saluda. (8)
  • CD # 4: Greenville, Spartanburg, Union. (3)
  • CD # 5: Cherokee, Chester, Chesterfield, Dillon, Fairfield, Kershaw, Lancaster, Marlboro, Newberry, York.(10)
  • CD # 6: Bamberg, Clarendon, Florence, Marion, Williamsburg. (5)

DIVIDED COUNTIES (Counties with portions in more than one Congressional District):

  • Aiken:CD2 and CD3
  • Beaufort: CD2 and CD6
  • Berkeley: CD1 and CD6
  • Calhoun: CD2 and CD6
  • Charleston: CD1 and CD6 (the City of Charleston is in CD 1)
  • Colleton: CD2 and CD6
  • Darlington: CD5 and CD6
  • Dorchester: CD1 and CD6
  • Laurens: CD3 and CD4
  • Lee: CD5 and CD6
  • Orangeburg: CD2 and CD6
  • Richland: CD2 and CD6 (Columbia, the state capital, is right on the boundary between these two Congressional Districts)
  • Sumter: CD5 and CD6

© Copyright 2000
Richard E. Berg-Andersson, Research and Commentary, E-Mail:
Tony Roza, Webmaster, E-Mail: