The Green Papers: Election 2000 
Democratic PartyOregon Democrat
Primary: Tuesday, May 16, 2000
Popular VoteDelegate Votes
Floor VoteHard Total
Gore, Al  300,922  85%   58.  100%   47.   81%
Bradley, Bill                   
Uncommitted                11.   19%
LaRouche, Lyndon  38,521  11%            
Miscellaneous  15,151   4%            
Total  354,594 100%   58.  100%   58.  100%
Voter Eligibility: Closed Primary, Polls Close at 8 PM PDT (0300 UTC)
Delegate Selection: Proportional Primary

58 total delegate votes - 31 district / 10 at-large; 6 Pledged PLEOs; 10 Unpledged PLEOs; 1 Unpledged add-on

Last modified Tuesday, December 26, 2000
States Chronologically    States Alphabetically    Democrat Convention    Oregon Republican    Oregon Links

The Popular Vote above is based on official returns from the 16 May Primary. This election claims to be the nation's first regular primary election conducted entirely by mail. Bill Bradley is not on the Oregon ballot however reports indicate he has the support of 1 unpledged delegate.

16 May 2000: Unpledged delegate preference update: Gore 9, Bradley 1. Unpledged delegates appear in the "Soft Unpledged" field.

This Presidential Primary coincides with a state/local primary. These coinciding primaries tend to have an impact upon voter turnout.

Here's how we compute the delegate count:

  1. A candidate must receive 15% or more of the total popular vote to qualify for delegates. Discard those votes cast for candidates who do not qualify.
  2. Allocate Congressional District delegates from the qualified vote in each district. Allocate Pledged PLEO and At-Large delegates using the statewide qualified vote. Bill Bradley, having withdrawn from the campaign, is not entitled to receive At-Large and PLEO delegates.
  3. In each jurisdiction:
    1. Total qualified vote = total votes cast for the qualifying candidates in the jurisdiction.
    2. Allocation = (delegates for the jurisdiction) × (candidate's popular vote) ÷ (total qualified vote).
    3. Assign each candidate the WHOLE NUMBER of delegates.
    4. If delegates remain, allocate each of the remaining delegates to those candidates with the LARGEST REMAINDERS.

Delegates 47

Delegate Estimate: While the Congressional District vote is not yet available, Al Gore is sole candidate to receive 15% of the vote. Gore will probably receive the the 31 district, 10 at-large, and 6 pledged PLEO delegates.

Tuesday 16 May 2000: 47 of 58 delegates to the Democratic National Convention are allocated to presidential contenders based on the results of the voting in today's Oregon Presidential Primary.

  • "31 district delegates are to be allocated proportionally to presidential contenders based on the primary results in each of the State's 5 congressional districts. In addition, 10 at-large National Convention delegates plus 6 Pledged PLEOs are to be allocated to presidential contenders based on the primary vote statewide. A mandatory 15 percent threshold is required in order for a presidential contender to be allocated National Convention delegates at either the congressional district or statewide level."

The remaining 11 National Convention delegates consist of 10 Unpledged PLEOs and 1 Unpledged "add-on"; these 11 delegates will go to the Democratic National Convention officially "Unpledged".

The breakdown of unpledged delegates is:

  • 4 Democratic National Committee members
  • 5 Members of Congress (1 Senator, 4 Representatives)
  • 1 Governor
  • 1 add-on

The number of district delegates per congressional district in Oregon are:

  • CD # 1: 6 delegates
  • CD # 2: 6 delegates
  • CD # 3: 7 delegates
  • CD # 4: 6 delegates
  • CD # 5: 6 delegates

total: 31 district delegates among 5 congressional districts

Oregon has 36 counties and 5 congressional districts: 32 counties are wholly within a given congressional district; 4 counties are divided among more than one congressional district.

UNDIVIDED COUNTIES (wholly within one Congressional District):

  • CD 1: Clatsop, Columbia, Washington and Yamhill.
  • CD 2: Baker, Crook, Deschutes, Gilliam, Grant, Harney, Hood River, Jackson, Jefferson, Klamath, Lake, Malheur, Morrow, Sherman, Umatilla, Union, Wallowa, Wasco and Wheeler.
  • CD 4: Coos, Curry, Douglas, Lane and Linn.
  • CD 5: Lincoln, Marion, Polk and Tillamook.

DIVIDED COUNTIES (split between more than one Congressional District):

  • Benton: CDs 4 and 5
  • Clackamas: CDs 1, 3 and 5
  • Josephine: CDs 2 and 4
  • Multnomah: CDs 1 and 3

© Copyright 2000
Richard E. Berg-Andersson, Research and Commentary, E-Mail:
Tony Roza, Webmaster, E-Mail: