The Green Papers: Election 2000 
Republican PartyOklahoma Republican
Primary: Tuesday, March 14, 2000
Popular VoteDelegate Votes
Floor VoteHard Total
Bush, George W.  98,781  79%   38.  100%   38.  100%
McCain, John  12,973  10%            
Keyes, Alan  11,595   9%            
Forbes, Steve  1,066   1%            
Bauer, Gary  394   0%            
Total  124,809 100%   38.  100%   38.  100%
Voter Eligibility: Closed Primary, Polls Close at 7 PM CST (0100 UTC)
Delegate Selection: Winner-Take-All Primary (by district and statewide)

38 total delegates - 6 base at-large / 18 re: 6 congressional districts / 14 bonus

Last modified Tuesday, December 26, 2000
States Chronologically    States Alphabetically    Republican Convention    Oklahoma Democrat    Oklahoma Links

The Popular Vote above is based on official returns from the 14 March Primary.

Here's how we estimate the delegate count:

  1. The candidate with the greatest popular vote in each of the 6 districts receives that district's 3 delegates.
  2. The candidate with the greatest statewide popular vote receives 20 delegates.

Delegates 38  38  0

Tuesday 14 March 2000: All 38 of Oklahoma's delegates to the Republican National Convention are allocated to presidential contenders in today's Oklahoma Presidential Primary.

  • "18 district delegates are to be allocated to presidential contenders based on the primary results in each of the 6 congressional districts: each congressional district is assigned 3 National Convention delegates and the presidential contender receiving the greatest number of votes in that district, notwithstanding that candidate's percentage of the total primary vote in the district, will receive all 3 of that district's National Convention delegates. In addition, 20 at-large delegates (6 base at-large delegates plus 14 bonus delegates) are to be allocated to the presidential contender receiving the greatest number of votes in the primary statewide, notwithstanding that candidate's percentage of the total primary vote statewide. This winning candidate will be said to have received the 'final net primary vote': note, however, that it will be possible- by winning delegates at the 'winner-take-all' congressional district level- for a presidential contender other than the one so receiving the final net primary vote statewide to be allocated National Convention delegates in the Oklahoma Presidential Primary."

Oklahoma has 77 counties and 6 congressional districts: 72 counties are wholly within a given congressional district; 5 are divided among more than one congressional district.

UNDIVIDED COUNTIES (wholly within one Congressional District):

  • CD # 1: Tulsa
  • CD # 2: Adair, Cherokee, Craig, Creek, Delaware, Haskell, McIntosh, Mayes, Muskogee, Nowata, Okfuskee, Okmulgee, Ottawa, Rogers and Sequoyah
  • CD # 3: Atoka, Bryan, Carter, Choctaw, Coal, Hughes, Johnston, Latimer, LeFlore, Lincoln, Love, McCurtain, Marshall, Murray, Payne, Pittsburg, Pontotoc, Pottawatomie, Pushmataha and Seminole
  • CD # 4: Cleveland, Comanche, Cotton, Garvin, Grady, Jackson, Jefferson, McClain, Stephens and Tillman
  • CD # 5: Key, Logan, Noble and Washington
  • CD # 6: Alfalfa, Beaver, Beckham, Blaine, Caddo, Cimarron, Custer, Dewey, Ellis, Garfield, Grant, Greer, Harmon, Harper, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Major, Roger Mills, Texas, Washita, Woods and Woodward

DIVIDED COUNTIES (split between more than one Congressional District):

  • Canadian: CDs 5 & 6
  • Oklahoma: CDs 4, 5 & 6
  • Osage: CDs 2 & 5
  • Pawnee: CDs 2 & 3
  • Wagoner: CDs 1 & 2

© Copyright 2000
Richard E. Berg-Andersson, Research and Commentary, E-Mail:
Tony Roza, Webmaster, E-Mail: