The Green Papers: Election 2000 
Democratic PartyMontana Democrat
Primary: Tuesday, June 6, 2000
Popular VoteDelegate Votes
Floor VoteHard Total
Gore, Al  68,420  78%   24.  100%   15.   63%
Uncommitted  19,447  22%          9.   38%
Total  87,867 100%   24.  100%   24.  100%
Voter Eligibility: Open Primary, Polls Close at 8 PM MDT (0200 UTC)
Delegate Selection: Proportional Primary

24 total delegate votes - 11 district / 4 at-large; 2 Pledged PLEOs; 6 Unpledged PLEOs; 1 Unpledged add-on

Last modified Sunday, December 24, 2000
States Chronologically    States Alphabetically    Democrat Convention    Montana Republican    Montana Links

15 June 2000: Reports indicate that the 2 uncommitted delegates elected during the primary will vote for Gore. These two delegates are now counted as "Soft Unpledged" for Gore but will remain "Uncommitted" in the "Hard Total".

The Popular Vote above is based on official returns from the 6 June Primary. This Presidential Primary coincides with a state/local primary. These coinciding primaries tend to have an impact upon voter turnout.

Al Gore is running unopposed. Votes cast for "No Preference" are shown as "Uncommitted" in the table above.

6 June 2000: Unpledged delegate preference update: Gore 3. Unpledged delegates appear in the "Soft Unpledged" column.

Here's how we compute the delegate count:

  1. A candidate must receive 15% or more of the total popular vote to qualify for delegates. Discard those votes cast for candidates who do not qualify.
  2. Allocate Congressional District delegates from the qualified vote statewide. Allocate Pledged PLEO and At-Large delegates using the statewide qualified vote. Bill Bradley, having withdrawn from the campaign, is not entitled to receive At-Large and PLEO delegates.
  3. In each jurisdiction:
    1. Total qualified vote = total votes cast for the qualifying candidates in the jurisdiction.
    2. Allocation = (delegates for the jurisdiction) × (candidate's popular vote) ÷ (total qualified vote).
    3. Assign each candidate the WHOLE NUMBER of delegates.
    4. If delegates remain, allocate each of the remaining delegates to those candidates with the LARGEST REMAINDERS.

Delegates 17  15  2

Tuesday 6 June 2000: 17 of 24 delegates to the Democratic National Convention are allocated to presidential contenders based on the results of the voting in today's Montana Presidential Primary.

  • "11 district delegates are to be allocated proportionally to presidential contenders based on the primary results statewide as Montana has only a single at-large congressional seat. In addition, 4 at-large National Convention delegates plus 2 Pledged PLEOs are also to be allocated to presidential contenders based on the primary vote statewide. A mandatory 15 percent threshold is required in order for a presidential contender to be allocated National Convention delegates at the statewide level."

The remaining 7 National Convention delegates consist of 6 Unpledged PLEOs and 1 Unpledged "add-on"; these 7 delegates will go to the Democratic National Convention officially "Unpledged".

The breakdown of unpledged delegates is:

  • 4 Democratic National Committee members
  • 1 Member of Congress (Senator)
  • 1 Distinguished Party Leader
  • 1 add-on

© Copyright 2000
Richard E. Berg-Andersson, Research and Commentary, E-Mail:
Tony Roza, Webmaster, E-Mail: