The Green Papers: Election 2000 
Democratic PartyMaryland Democrat
Primary: Tuesday, March 7, 2000
Popular VoteDelegate Votes
Floor VoteHard Total
Gore, Al  341,630  67%   95.  100%   49.   52%
Bradley, Bill  144,387  28%         19.   20%
Uncommitted  16,935   3%         27.   28%
LaRouche, Lyndon  4,510   1%            
Total  507,462 100%   95.  100%   95.  100%
Voter Eligibility: Closed Primary, Polls Close at 8 PM EST (0100 UTC)
Delegate Selection: Proportional Primary

95 total delegate votes - 44 district / 15 at-large; 9 Pledged PLEOs; 25 Unpledged PLEOs; 2 Unpledged add-ons

Last modified Sunday, December 24, 2000
States Chronologically    States Alphabetically    Democrat Convention    Maryland Republican    Maryland Links

18 March 2000: Unpledged delegate preference update: Gore 25, Bradley 0. Unpledged delegates appear in the "Soft Unpledged" field.

Bill Bradley, having withdrawn from the campaign, is no longer entitled to receive At-Large and unpledged PLEO delegates (rule 9.C). The 4 At-Large and 3 unpledged PLEO delegates originally assigned to Bradley have been reassigned to Gore in our "Soft Pledged". The "Hard Total" however, shows the delegates as originally assigned.

The Popular Vote above is based on official returns from the 7 March Primary. This Presidential Primary coincides with a state/local primary. These coinciding primaries tend to have an impact upon voter turnout.

Here's how we compute the delegate count:
  1. A candidate must receive 15% or more of the total popular vote to qualify for delegates. Discard those votes cast for candidates who do not qualify.
  2. Allocate Congressional District delegates from the qualified vote in each district. Allocate Pledged PLEO and At-Large delegates using the statewide qualified vote.
  3. In each jurisdiction:
    1. Total qualified vote = total votes cast for the qualifying candidates in the jurisdiction.
    2. Allocation = (delegates for the jurisdiction) × (candidate's popular vote) ÷ (total qualified vote).
    3. Assign each candidate the WHOLE NUMBER of delegates.
    4. If delegates remain, allocate each of the remaining delegates to those candidates with the LARGEST REMAINDERS.
Delegates 68  49  19

Tuesday 7 March 2000: 68 of 95 delegates to the Democratic National Convention are allocated to presidential contenders based on the results of the voting in today's Maryland Presidential Primary.

  • "44 district delegates are to be allocated proportionally to presidential contenders based on the primary results in each of the State's 8 congressional districts. In addition, 15 at-large National Convention delegates plus 9 Pledged PLEOs are to be allocated to presidential contenders based on the primary vote statewide. A mandatory 15 percent threshold is required in order for a presidential contender to be allocated National Convention delegates at either the congressional district or statewide level."

The remaining 27 National Convention delegates consist of 25 Unpledged PLEOs and 2 Unpledged "add-on"s; these 27 delegates will go to the Democratic National Convention officially "Unpledged".

"The breakdown of Unpledged Party Leader and Elected Official delegates to the Democratic National Convention below is somewhat different from that provided by the Democratic Party: the reason for this is that the one or more of its Members of Congress are also members of the Democratic National Committee and are considered to be DNC members (i.e. "Party Leaders") rather than Democratic office holders (i.e. "Elected Officials") by the Party. However, it is the opinion of "The Green Papers" that the average voter/citizen or other interested party who accesses this website would more readily identify Party Leaders who are also Elected Officials by their political office rather than their status as members of the DNC and we, therefore, count them as Elected Officials rather than as Party Leaders in the following breakdown:"

  • 18 Democratic National Committee members
  • 6 Members of Congress (2 Senators, 4 Representatives)
  • 1 Governor
  • 2 add-ons

Maryland Counties

Maryland has 23 Counties plus the independent City of Baltimore (not part of any County) and 8 Congressional Districts: 18 counties are wholly within one congressional district; 5 counties- along with the independent City of Baltimore- are divided among more than one congressional district.

UNDIVIDED COUNTIES (those wholly within one Congressional District):

  • CD # 1: Caroline, Cecil, Dorchester, Kent, Queen Anne's, Somerset, Talbot, Wicomico and Worcester
  • CD # 2: Harford
  • CD # 5: Calvert, Charles and St. Mary's
  • CD # 6: Allegany, Carroll, Frederick, Garrett and Washington

DIVIDED COUNTIES (those split among more than one Congressional District)

  • Anne Arundel: CDs 1, 2, 3 and 5
  • Baltimore County [NOTE: this is NOT the City of Baltimore nor does it include the City of Baltimore]: CDs 2, 3 and 7
  • Howard: CDs 3 and 6
  • Montgomery: CDs 4 and 8 [CD # 8 is wholly within Montgomery County]
  • Prince George's: CDs 4 and 5

The independent City of Baltimore is divided among CDs 1, 3 and 7.

© Copyright 2000
Richard E. Berg-Andersson, Research and Commentary, E-Mail:
Tony Roza, Webmaster, E-Mail: