The Green Papers: Election 2000 
Democratic PartyKentucky Democrat
Primary: Tuesday, May 23, 2000
Popular VoteDelegate Votes
Floor VoteHard Total
Gore, Al  156,966  71%   56.   97%   46.   79%
Bradley, Bill  32,340  15%          3.    5%
Uncommitted  26,046  12%          9.   16%
LaRouche, Lyndon  4,927   2%            
abstentions           2.    3%      
Total  220,279 100%   58.  100%   58.  100%
Voter Eligibility: Closed Primary, Polls Close at 6 PM EDT (2200 UTC)
Delegate Selection: Proportional Primary

58 total delegate votes - 32 district / 11 at-large; 6 Pledged PLEOs; 8 Unpledged PLEOs; 1 Unpledged add-on

Last modified Sunday, December 24, 2000
States Chronologically    States Alphabetically    Democrat Convention    Kentucky Republican    Kentucky Links

23 May 2000: Unpledged delegate preference update: Gore 8. Unpledged delegates appear in the "Soft Unpledged" column.

The Popular Vote above is based on official returns from the 23 May Primary. This Presidential Primary coincides with a state/local primary. These coinciding primaries tend to have an impact upon voter turnout.

Here's how we compute the delegate count:

  1. A candidate must receive 15% or more of the total popular vote to qualify for delegates. Discard those votes cast for candidates who do not qualify.
  2. Allocate Congressional District delegates from the qualified vote in each district. Allocate Pledged PLEO and At-Large delegates using the statewide qualified vote. Bill Bradley, having withdrawn from the campaign, is not entitled to receive At-Large and PLEO delegates.
  3. In each jurisdiction:
    1. Total qualified vote = total votes cast for the qualifying candidates in the jurisdiction.
    2. Allocation = (delegates for the jurisdiction) × (candidate's popular vote) ÷ (total qualified vote).
    3. Assign each candidate the WHOLE NUMBER of delegates.
    4. If delegates remain, allocate each of the remaining delegates to those candidates with the LARGEST REMAINDERS.

Delegates 49  46  3

Tuesday 23 May 2000: 49 of 58 delegates to the Democratic National Convention are allocated to presidential contenders based on the results of the voting in today's Kentucky Presidential Primary.

  • "32 district delegates are to be allocated proportionally to presidential contenders based on the primary results in each of the Commonwealth's 6 congressional districts. In addition, 11 at-large National Convention delegates plus 6 Pledged PLEOs are to be allocated to presidential contenders based on the primary vote statewide. A mandatory 15 percent threshold is required in order for a presidential contender to be allocated National Convention delegates at either the congressional district or statewide level."

The remaining 9 National Convention delegates consist of 8 Unpledged PLEOs and 1 Unpledged "add-on"; these 9 delegates will go to the Democratic National Convention officially "Unpledged".

"The breakdown of Unpledged Party Leader and Elected Official delegates to the Democratic National Convention below is somewhat different from that provided by the Democratic Party: the reason for this is that the state's Governor is also a member of the Democratic National Committee and is considered to be a DNC member (i.e. "Party Leader") rather than a Democratic office holder (i.e. "Elected Official") by the Party. However, it is the opinion of "The Green Papers" that the average voter/citizen or other interested party who accesses this website would more readily identify Party Leaders who are also Elected Officials by their political office rather than their status as members of the DNC and we, therefore, count them as Elected Officials rather than as Party Leaders in the following breakdown:"

  • 6 Democratic National Committee members
  • 1 Member of Congress (Representative)
  • 1 Governor
  • 1 add-on

The number of district delegates per congressional district in the Commonwealth of Kentucky are:

  • CD # 1: 5 delegates
  • CD # 2: 5 delegates
  • CD # 3: 8 delegates
  • CD # 4: 4 delegates
  • CD # 5: 5 delegates
  • CD # 6: 5 delegates

total: 32 district delegates among 6 congressional districts.

Kentucky has 120 counties and 6 congressional districts: 115 counties are wholly within a given congressional district; 5 counties are divided among more than one congressional district.

UNDIVIDED COUNTIES (wholly within one Congressional District):

  • CD 1: Allen, Ballard, Butler, Caldwell, Calloway, Carlisle, Christian, Clinton, Crittenden, Cumberland, Fulton, Graves, Henderson, Hickman, Hopkins, Livingston, Logan, Lyon, McCracken, McLean, Marshall, Monroe, Muhlenberg, Ohio, Russell, Simpson, Todd, Trigg, Union and Webster.
  • CD 2: Barren, Breckinridge, Bullitt, Casey, Daviess, Edmonson, Grayson, Green, Hancock, Hardin, Hart, Larue, Marion, Meade, Metcalfe, Nelson, Spencer, Taylor, Warren and Washington.
  • CD 4: Boone, Boyd, Bracken, Campbell, Carroll, Carter, Elliott, Fleming, Gallatin, Grant, Greenup, Henry, Kenton, Lewis, Mason, Oldham, Owen, Pendleton, Robertson, Rowan, Shelby and Trimble.
  • CD 5: Bell, Breathitt, Clay, Floyd, Harlan, Jackson, Johnson, Knott, Knox, Laurel, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, McCreary, Magoffin, Martin, Menifee, Morgan, Owsley, Perry, Pike, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Wayne, Whitley and Wolfe.
  • CD 6: Anderson, Bath, Bourbon, Boyle, Clark, Estill, Fayette, Franklin, Garrard, Harrison, Jessamine, Madison, Mercer, Montgomery, Powell, Scott and Woodford.

DIVIDED COUNTIES (split between more than one Congressional District):

  • Adair: CDs 1 and 2
  • Jefferson: CDs 2 and 3
  • Lawrence: CDs 4 and 5
  • Lincoln: CDs 2 and 6
  • Nicholas: CDs 4 and 6

CD 3 is wholly within Jefferson County

© Copyright 2000
Richard E. Berg-Andersson, Research and Commentary, E-Mail:
Tony Roza, Webmaster, E-Mail: