The Green Papers: Election 2000 
Democratic PartyKansas Democrat
Congressional District Conventions: Saturday, May 6, 2000
State Convention: Saturday, June 17, 2000
Popular VoteDelegate Votes
Floor VoteHard Total
Gore, Al  541  96%   42.  100%   36.   86%
Uncommitted  7   1%          6.   14%
LaRouche, Lyndon  18   3%            
Total  566 100%   42.  100%   42.  100%
Voter Eligibility: Modified Open Primary, Polls Close at 8 PM CDT (0100 UTC)
Delegate Selection: Proportional Primary

42 total delegate votes - 23 district / 8 at-large; 5 Pledged PLEOs; 5 Unpledged PLEOs; 1 Unpledged add-on

Last modified Wednesday, August 16, 2000
States Chronologically    States Alphabetically    Democrat Convention    Kansas Republican    Kansas Links

6 May 2000: Unpledged delegate preference update: Gore 5, Bradley 0. Unpledged delegates appear in the "Soft Unpledged" field.

The Popular Vote above is based on unofficial returns from the 6 May caucuses (100% of the caucuses reporting).

Here's how we compute the delegate count:

  1. A candidate must receive 15% or more of the total caucus vote to qualify for delegates. Discard those votes cast for candidates who do not qualify.
  2. Allocate Congressional District delegates from the qualified vote in each district. Allocate Pledged PLEO and At-Large delegates using the statewide qualified vote. Bill Bradley, having withdrawn from the campaign, is not entitled to receive At-Large and PLEO delegates.
  3. In each jurisdiction:
    1. Total qualified vote = total votes cast for the qualifying candidates in the jurisdiction.
    2. Allocation = (delegates for the jurisdiction) × (candidate's caucus vote) ÷ (total qualified vote).
    3. Assign each candidate the WHOLE NUMBER of delegates.
    4. If delegates remain, allocate each of the remaining delegates to those candidates with the LARGEST REMAINDERS.

Delegates 36  36  0

On 3 April 2000 the Kansas State Committee approved the delegate selection process below. Earlier plans first included a 4 April state-run primary and then a tentative 29 April party-run primary.

Saturday 6 May 2000: 23 of 42 delegates to the Democratic National Convention are allocated to presidential contenders based on the results of today's Congressional District Conventions.

  • "23 district delegates are to be allocated proportionally to presidential contenders based on the results from the Congressional District Conventions in each of the State's 4 congressional districts. A mandatory 15 percent threshold is required in order for a presidential contender to be allocated National Convention delegates at either the congressional district or statewide level."

Here is the breakdown of district delegates per CD:

  • CD # 1 has 5 delegates;
  • CD # 2, 3 and 4 each have 6 delegates:
  • TOTAL- 23 district delegates in 4 congressional districts.

Saturday 17 June 2000: Kansas State Convention. The State Committee meeting is held in coordination with the Kansas State Democratic Convention. It does NOT appear that the Convention as a whole will have anything to do with Democratic National Convention delegate selection.

  • "The Kansas State Committee chooses the 8 at-large National Convention delegates plus 5 Pledged PLEO delegates to the Democratic National Convention reflecting the support for the presidential contenders in the District Conventions as a whole. Such Pledged National Convention delegates are to be allocated to presidential contenders in proportion to the percentage of the support each candidate received- a mandatory 15 percent threshold being required for such allocation."

The remaining 6 National Convention delegates consist of 5 Unpledged PLEOs and 1 Unpledged "add-on"s; these 6 delegates will go to the Democratic National Convention officially "Unpledged".

The breakdown of unpledged delegates is:

  • 4 Democratic National Committee members
  • 1 Member of Congress (Representative)
  • 1 add-on

Kansas has 4 congressional districts and 105 counties: 103 counties are wholly within a given congressional district while 2 counties are divided between more than one congressional district:

UNDIVIDED COUNTIES (wholly within a Congressional District):

  • CD 1: Barber, Barton, Chase, Cheyenne, Clark, Clay, Cloud, Comanche, Decatur, Dickinson, Edwards, Ellis, Ellsworth, Finney, Ford, Gove, Graham, Grant, Gray, Greeley, Hamilton, Haskell, Hodgeman, Jewell, Kearny, Kiowa, Lane, Lincoln, Logan, Lyon, McPherson, Marshall, Meade, Mitchell, Morris, Morton, Ness, Norton, Osborne, Ottawa, Pawnee, Phillips, Pratt, Rawlins, Reno, Republic, Rice, Rooks, Rush, Russell, Saline, Scott, Seward, Sheridan, Sherman, Smith, Stafford, Stanton, Stevens, Thomas, Trego, Waubansee, Wallace, Washington and Wichita.
  • CD 2: Allen, Anderson, Atchison, Bourbon, Brown, Cherokee, Coffey, Crawford, Doniphan, Franklin, Geary, Jackson, Jefferson, Labette, Leavenworth, Linn, Nemaha, Neosho, Osage, Pottawatomie, Riley, Shawnee, Wilson and Woodson.
  • CD 3: Johnson, Miami and Wyandotte.
  • CD 4: Butler, Chautauqua, Cowley, Elk, Greenwood, Harper, Harvey, Kingman, Montgomery, Sedgwick and Sumner.

DIVIDED COUNTIES: (split between more than one Congressional District)

  • Douglas: CDs 2 and 3
  • Marion: CDs 1 and 4

© Copyright 2000
Richard E. Berg-Andersson, Research and Commentary, E-Mail:
Tony Roza, Webmaster, E-Mail: