The Green Papers: Election 2000 
Republican PartyIndiana Republican
Primary: Tuesday, May 2, 2000
State Convention: Tuesday, June 6, 2000
Popular VoteDelegate Votes
Floor VoteHard Total
Bush, George W.  330,095  81%   55.  100%   30.   55%
McCain, John  76,569  19%            
Uncommitted                25.   45%
Total  406,664 100%   55.  100%   55.  100%
Voter Eligibility: Open Primary, Polls Close at 6 PM CDT/EST (2300 UTC)
Delegate Selection: Winner-Take-All Primary (by district and statewide)

55 total delegates - 6 base at-large / 30 re: 10 congressional districts / 19 bonus

Last modified Saturday, December 23, 2000
States Chronologically    States Alphabetically    Republican Convention    Indiana Democrat    Indiana Links

13 June 2000: Reports indicate that the 25 delegates selected during the 6 June State convention support Bush. These delegates are not officially bound to any candidate. They are reported under "Soft Unpledged" for Bush and are "Hard" counted as "Uncommitted".

The Popular Vote above is based on official returns from the 2 May Primary. This Presidential Primary coincides with a state/local primary. These coinciding primaries tend to have an impact upon voter turnout.

Here's how we estimate the delegate count:

  • The candidate with the greatest popular vote in each of the 10 congressional districts receives that district's 3 delegates.
Delegates 30

The Congressional District vote is not yet available. Bush has won every county so he is virtually assured to win all 30 congressional district delegates.

Tuesday 2 May 2000: 30 of Indiana's 55 delegates to the Republican National Convention are allocated to presidential contenders in today's Indiana Presidential Primary.

  • "30 district delegates are to be allocated to presidential contenders based on the primary results in each of the 10 congressional districts: each congressional district is assigned 3 National Convention delegates and the presidential contender receiving the greatest number of votes in that district, notwithstanding that candidate's percentage of the total primary vote in the district, will receive all 3 of that district's National Convention delegates."

Tuesday, 6 June 2000: The remaining 25 delegates (6 base at-large delegates plus 19 bonus delegates) are chosen by the Indiana State Republican Convention. These 25 delegates are not required to reflect, in any way, the results of the primary voting; it has been determined that these delegates will go to the Republican National Convention officially 'Unpledged'"

Indiana has 92 counties and 10 congressional districts: 79 counties are wholly within a given congressional district; 13 counties are divided among more than one congressional district.

UNDIVIDED COUNTIES (wholly within one Congressional District)

  • CD 2: Decatur, Delaware, Madison, Randolph, Rush, Shelby and Wayne.
  • CD 3: Elkhart, LaPorte and St. Joseph.
  • CD 4: Adams, Allen, DeKalb, Huntington, Lagrange, Noble, Steuben, Wells and Whitley.
  • CD 5: Benton, Blackford, Carroll, Cass, Fulton, Grant, Howard, Jasper, Marshall, Miami, Newton, Pulaski. Wabash, Warren and White.
  • CD 6: Clinton, Hamilton, Hancock and Tipton.
  • CD 7: Clay, Fountain, Hendricks, Montgomery, Owen, Parke, Putnam, Tippecanoe and Vigo.
  • CD 8: Daviess, Gibson, Greene, Knox, Lawrence, Martin, Orange, Pike, Posey, Sullivan, Vanderburgh and Warrick.
  • CD 9: Brown, Clark, Crawford, Dearborn, Dubois, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Harrison, Jackson, Jefferson, Jennings, Ohio, Perry, Ripley, Scott, Spencer, Switzerland, Union and Washington.

DIVIDED COUNTIES (split between more than one Congressional District):

  • Bartholemew: CDs 2 and 9
  • Boone: CDs 6 and 7
  • Henry: CDs 2 and 6
  • Jay: CDs 2 and 4
  • Johnson: CDs 2 and 6
  • Kosciusko: CDs 3 and 5
  • Lake: CDs 1 and 5
  • Marion: CDs 6 and 10
  • Monroe: CDs 7 and 8
  • Morgan: CDs 6 and 7
  • Porter: CDs 1 and 5
  • Starke: CDs 3 and 5
  • Vermilion: CDs 5 and 7

CD 10 is wholly within Marion County.

© Copyright 2000
Richard E. Berg-Andersson, Research and Commentary, E-Mail:
Tony Roza, Webmaster, E-Mail: