The Green Papers: Election 2000 
Democratic PartyDistrict of Columbia Democrat
Primary: Tuesday, May 2, 2000
Popular VoteDelegate Votes
Floor VoteHard Total
Gore, Al  18,621  96%   33.  100%   17.   52%
Uncommitted                16.   48%
LaRouche, Lyndon  796   4%            
Total  19,417 100%   33.  100%   33.  100%
Voter Eligibility: Closed Primary, Polls Close at 8 PM EDT (0000 UTC)
Delegate Selection: Proportional Primary

33 total delegate votes - 11 district / 4 at-large; 2 Pledged PLEOs; 15 Unpledged PLEOs / 1 Unpledged add-on

Last modified Saturday, December 23, 2000
States Chronologically    States Alphabetically    Democrat Convention    District of Columbia Republican    District of Columbia Links

2 May 2000: Unpledged delegate preference update: Gore 15. Unpledged delegates appear in the "Soft Unpledged" field.

The Popular Vote above is based on official returns from the 2 May Primary.

Here's how we compute the delegate count:

  1. A candidate must receive 15% or more of the total popular vote to qualify for delegates. Discard those votes cast for candidates who do not qualify.
  2. Allocate Municipal District delegates from the qualified vote in each district. Allocate Pledged PLEO and At-Large delegates using the district-wide qualified vote. Bill Bradley, having withdrawn from the campaign, is not entitled to receive At-Large and PLEO delegates.
  3. In each jurisdiction:
    1. Total qualified vote = total votes cast for the qualifying candidates in the jurisdiction.
    2. Allocation = (delegates for the jurisdiction) × (candidate's popular vote) ÷ (total qualified vote).
    3. Assign each candidate the WHOLE NUMBER of delegates.
    4. If delegates remain, allocate each of the remaining delegates to those candidates with the LARGEST REMAINDERS.

Delegates 17

The vote by municipal district is not yet available. However, Gore is the only candidate to attain 15% of the vote and will receive 17 delegates.

Tuesday 2 May 2000: 17 of 33 delegates to the Democratic National Convention are allocated to presidential contenders based on the results of the voting in today's District of Columbia Presidential Primary.

  • "11 district delegates are to be allocated proportionally to presidential contenders based on the primary results in each of the District's 2 municipal districts (each consisting of 4 of the city's 8 wards). In addition, 4 at-large National Convention delegates plus 2 Pledged PLEOs are to be allocated to presidential contenders based on the primary vote citywide. A mandatory 15 percent threshold is required in order for a presidential contender to be allocated National Convention delegates at either the municipal district or citywide level."

The remaining 16 National Convention delegates consist of 15 Unpledged PLEOs and 1 Unpledged "add-on"; these 16 delegates will go to the Democratic National Convention officially "Unpledged".

The breakdown of unpledged delegates is:

  • 10 Democratic National Committee members
  • 3 Members of Congress (nonvoting Delegate to the House of Representatives plus 2 so-called "shadow Senators" [the Democratic Party traditionally supports Statehood for the District of Columbia; in addition this number reflects the Electoral Vote of D.C. which has always gone to the Democrats in Presidential Elections])
  • 1 "Governor" (=Mayor)
  • 1 Distinguished Party Leader
  • 1 add-on

The number of district delegates per municipal district in the District of Columbia are:

  • MD # 1: 5 delegates
  • MD # 2: 6 delegates

MD="municipal district"

© Copyright 2000
Richard E. Berg-Andersson, Research and Commentary, E-Mail:
Tony Roza, Webmaster, E-Mail: