The Green Papers: Election 2000 
Democratic PartyConnecticut Democrat
Primary: Tuesday, March 7, 2000
Popular VoteDelegate Votes
Floor VoteHard Total
Gore, Al  98,312  55%   67.  100%   30.   45%
Bradley, Bill  73,589  42%         24.   36%
Uncommitted  5,400   3%         13.   19%
Total  177,301 100%   67.  100%   67.  100%
Voter Eligibility: Closed Primary, Polls Close at 8 PM EST (0100 UTC)
Delegate Selection: Proportional Primary

67 total delegate votes - 35 district / 12 at-large; 7 Pledged PLEOs; 12 Unpledged PLEOs / 1 Unpledged add-on

Last modified Saturday, December 23, 2000
States Chronologically    States Alphabetically    Democrat Convention    Connecticut Republican    Connecticut Links

18 March 2000: Unpledged delegate preference update: Gore 11, Bradley 0. Unpledged delegates appear in the "Soft Unpledged" field.

Bill Bradley, having withdrawn from the campaign, is no longer entitled to receive At-Large and unpledged PLEO delegates (rule 9.C). The 3 At-Large and 5 unpledged PLEO delegates originally assigned to Bradley have been reassigned to Gore in our "Soft Pledged". The "Hard Total" however, shows the delegates as originally assigned.

The Popular Vote above is based on official returns from the 7 March Primary.

Here's how we compute the delegate count:
  1. A candidate must receive 15% or more of the total popular vote to qualify for delegates. Discard those votes cast for candidates who do not qualify.
  2. Allocate Congressional District delegates from the qualified vote in each district. Allocate Pledged PLEO and At-Large delegates using the statewide qualified vote.
  3. In each jurisdiction:
    1. Total qualified vote = total votes cast for the qualifying candidates in the jurisdiction.
    2. Allocation = (delegates for the jurisdiction) × (candidate's popular vote) ÷ (total qualified vote).
    3. Assign each candidate the WHOLE NUMBER of delegates.
    4. If delegates remain, allocate each of the remaining delegates to those candidates with the LARGEST REMAINDERS.
Delegates 54  30  24

Tuesday 7 March 2000: 54 of 67 delegates to the Democratic National Convention are allocated to presidential contenders based on the results of today's voting in today's Connecticut Presidential Primary.

  • "35 district delegates are to be allocated proportionally to presidential contenders based on the primary results in each of the State's 6 congressional districts (each congressional district being assigned 5 to 7 National Convention delegates). In addition, 12 at-large National Convention delegates plus 7 Pledged PLEOs are to be allocated to presidential contenders based on the primary vote statewide. A mandatory 15 percent threshold is required in order for a presidential contender to be allocated National Convention delegates at either the congressional district or statewide level."

The remaining 13 National Convention delegates consist of 12 Unpledged PLEOs and 1 Unpledged "add-on"; these 13 delegates will go to the Democratic National Convention officially "Unpledged".

"The breakdown of Unpledged Party Leader and Elected Official delegates to the Democratic National Convention below is somewhat different from that provided by the Democratic Party: the reason for this is that the one or more of its Members of Congress are also members of the Democratic National Committee and are considered to be DNC members (i.e. "Party Leaders") rather than Democratic office holders (i.e. "Elected Officials") by the Party. However, it is the opinion of "The Green Papers" that the average voter/citizen or other interested party who accesses this website would more readily identify Party Leaders who are also Elected Officials by their political office rather than their status as members of the DNC and we, therefore, count them as Elected Officials rather than as Party Leaders in the following breakdown:"

  • 5 Democratic National Committee members
  • 6 Members of Congress (2 Senators, 4 Representatives)
  • 1 Distinguished Party Leader
  • 1 add-on

Connecticut will elect 35 district delegates from 6 Congressional Districts.

  • CD # 1= 7 delegates
  • CD # 2= 6 delegates
  • CD # 3= 6 delegates
  • CD # 4= 5 delegates
  • CD # 5= 5 delegates
  • CD # 6= 6 delegates

Connecticut has 8 Counties and 6 Congressional Districts: 3 counties are wholly within a congressional district; 5 counties are divided among more than one congressional district.

In the State of Connecticut, unlike its 5 sister New England states, a Municipality (whether a City or a Borough) which is coterminous with a Town does not mean the eradication of that Municipality's status as a Town. Every part of Connecticut, therefore, is legally under some form of Town government, even where a Municipality has long been incorporated; accordingly, any such coterminous Cities (along with the one Borough where this term also applies- that being Naugatuck in New Haven County) are referred to only as Towns in the listing below:

CD # 1 includes:

  • in Hartford County: the Towns of Berlin, Bloomfield, East Hartford, East Windsor, Glastonbury, Hartford, Manchester, Marlborough, Newington, Rocky Hill, South Windsor, West Hartford, Wethersfield and Windsor;
  • in Middlesex County: the Towns of Cromwell, East Hampton and Portland;
  • in Tolland County: the Towns of Andover and Hebron.

most of the Town of Bolton (Tolland County) is in CD 1 but a small portion lies in CD 2.

CD # 2 includes:

  • in Middlesex County: the Towns of Chester, Deep River, East Haddam, Essex, Haddam, Middletown, Old Saybrook and Westbrook;
  • the entirety of New London County;
  • in Tolland County: the Towns of Columbia, Coventry, Ellington, Mansfield, Stafford, Tolland, Union, Vernon and Willington;
  • the entirety of Windham County.

CD # 3 includes:

  • in Fairfield County: the Town of Stratford;
  • in Middlesex County: the Towns of Clinton, Durham, Killingworth and Middlefield;
  • in New Haven County: the Towns of Branford, East Haven, Guilford, Hamden, Madison, Milford, New Haven, North Branford, North Haven, Orange, Wallingford and West Haven.

most of the Town of Woodbridge (New Haven County) is in CD 3 but a small portion lies in CD 5.

CD # 4 is wholly within Fairfield County and includes the Towns of

  • Bridgeport, Darien, Fairfield, Greenwich, New Canaan, Norwalk, Stamford, Trumbull and Westport.

the Town of Monroe (Fairfield County) is split between CDs 4 and 5.

CD # 5 includes:

  • in Fairfield County: the Towns of Bethel, Brookfield, Danbury, Easton, New Fairfield, Newtown, Redding, Ridgefield, Weston, Wilton;
  • in New Haven County: the Towns of Ansonia, Beacon Falls, Bethany, Cheshire, Derby, Meriden, Middlebury, Naugatuck, Oxford, Prospect, Seymour, Waterbury and Wolcott.

the Town of Southbury (New Haven County) is split between CDs 5 and 6.

CD # 6 includes:

  • in Fairfield County: the Town of Sherman;
  • in Hartford County: the Towns of Avon, Bristol, Burlington, Canton, East Granby, Enfield, Farmington, Granby, Hartland, New Britain, Plainville, Simsbury, Southington, Suffield and Windsor Locks;
  • the entirety of Litchfield County.

© Copyright 2000
Richard E. Berg-Andersson, Research and Commentary, E-Mail:
Tony Roza, Webmaster, E-Mail: