The Green Papers: Election 2000 
Democratic PartyArkansas Democrat
Primary: Tuesday, May 23, 2000
Popular VoteDelegate Votes
Floor VoteHard Total
Gore, Al  193,750  78%   47.  100%   37.   79%
Uncommitted                10.   21%
LaRouche, Lyndon  53,150  22%            
Total  246,900 100%   47.  100%   47.  100%
Voter Eligibility: Open Primary, Polls Close at 7:30 PM CDT (0030 UTC)
Delegate Selection: Proportional Primary

47 total delegate votes - 24 district / 8 at-large; 5 Pledged PLEOs; 9 Unpledged PLEOs / 1 Unpledged add-on

Last modified Saturday, December 23, 2000
States Chronologically    States Alphabetically    Democrat Convention    Arkansas Republican    Arkansas Links

May 31, 2000: The Arkansas Democratic party will not include votes cast for LaRouche in their delegate computations. Hence, Gore is the only candidate to receive the 15% of the vote needed to qualify for delegates. (The exclusion of LaRouche is in compliance with a decision issued last January by DNC National Chair Joe Andrew. Note: Reports state that LaRouche is a convicted felon who has lost his voting privilege in his home state of Virginia, that is, LaRouche is not a registered Democrat.)

23 May 2000: Unpledged delegate preference update: Gore 8. Unpledged delegates appear in the "Soft Unpledged" column.

The Popular Vote above is based on official returns from the 23 May Primary. This Presidential Primary coincides with a state/local primary. These coinciding primaries tend to have an impact upon voter turnout.

Here's how we compute the delegate count:

  1. A candidate must receive 15% or more of the total popular vote to qualify for delegates. Discard those votes cast for candidates who do not qualify.
  2. Allocate Congressional District delegates from the qualified vote in each district. Allocate Pledged PLEO and At-Large delegates using the statewide qualified vote. Bill Bradley, having withdrawn from the campaign, is not entitled to receive At-Large and PLEO delegates.
  3. In each jurisdiction:
    1. Total qualified vote = total votes cast for the qualifying candidates in the jurisdiction.
    2. Allocation = (delegates for the jurisdiction) × (candidate's popular vote) ÷ (total qualified vote).
    3. Assign each candidate the WHOLE NUMBER of delegates.
    4. If delegates remain, allocate each of the remaining delegates to those candidates with the LARGEST REMAINDERS.

Delegates 37

Tuesday 23 May 2000: 37 of 47 delegates to the Democratic National Convention are allocated to presidential contenders based on the results of the voting in today's Arkansas Presidential Primary.

  • "24 district delegates are to be allocated proportionally to presidential contenders based on the primary results in each of the State's 4 congressional districts. In addition, 8 at-large National Convention delegates plus 5 Pledged PLEOs are to be allocated to presidential contenders based on the primary vote statewide. A mandatory 15 percent threshold is required in order for a presidential contender to be allocated National Convention delegates at either the congressional district or statewide level."

The remaining 10 National Convention delegates consist of 9 Unpledged PLEOs and 1 Unpledged "add-on"; these 10 delegates will go to the Democratic National Convention officially "Unpledged".

The breakdown of unpledged delegates is:

  • 5 Democratic National Committee members
  • 3 Members of Congress (1 Senator, 2 Representatives)
  • 1 Distinguished Party Leader (President Bill Clinton)
  • 1 add-on

Arkansas allocates 6 district delegates from each of Arkansas' 4 congressional districts for a total of 24 district delegates from the state.

Arkansas has 75 counties and 4 congressional districts: all 75 counties are wholly within a given congressional district; no county is divided among more than one congressional district.

  • CD 1: Arkansas, Clay, Cleburne, Craighead, Crittenden, Cross, Fulton, Greene, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Lawrence, Lee, Lonoke, Mississippi, Monroe, Phillips, Poinsett, Prairie, Randolph, St. Francis, Searcy, Sharp, Stone and Woodruff.
  • CD 2: Conway, Faulkner, Perry, Pulaski, Saline, Van Buren, White and Yell.
  • CD 3: Baxter, Benton, Boone, Carroll, Crawford, Franklin, Johnson, Logan, Madison, Marion, Newton, Polk, Pope, Scott, Sebastian and Washington.
  • CD 4: Ashby, Bradley, Calhoun, Chicot, Clark, Cleveland, Columbia, Dallas, Desha, Drew, Garland, Grant, Hempstead, Hot Spring, Howard, Jefferson, Lafayette, Lincoln, Little River, Miller, Montgomery, Nevada, Ouchita, Pike, Sevier and Union.

© Copyright 2000
Richard E. Berg-Andersson, Research and Commentary, E-Mail:
Tony Roza, Webmaster, E-Mail: