The Green Papers: 2013 General Election

Copyright All-up chart of Governors by election 'cycle'

Governors, in all states except New Hampshire and Vermont, serve 4 year terms.
The Governors of New Hampshire and Vermont serve 2 year terms.

Regular Gubernatorial elections are held the first Tuesday following the first Monday in November in all states except Louisiana. Louisiana will hold a non-partisan primary on Saturday 24 October 2015 and, if no candidate receives 50% of the vote, a Saturday 21 November 2015 runoff.

Off Year Election
[next regular election:
Tuesday 5 November 2013]
[next regular election:
Tuesday 4 November 2014]
Off Year Election
[next regular election:
Tuesday 3 November 2015]
[most recent election:
Tuesday 8 November 2016]
New Jersey: Christie (R)Alabama: Bentley (R)Kentucky: Beshear (D)Delaware: Markell (D)
Virginia: McDonnell (R)Alaska: Parnell (R)Louisiana: Jindal (R) (next election Saturday 24 October 2015)Indiana: Pence (R)
 Arizona: Brewer (R)Mississippi: Bryant (R)Missouri: Nixon (D)
 Arkansas: Beebe (D) Montana: Bullock (D)
 California: Brown (D) North Carolina: McCrory (R)
 Colorado: Hickenlooper (D) North Dakota: Dalrymple (R)
 Connecticut: Malloy (D) Utah: Herbert (R)
 Florida: Scott (R) Washington: Inslee (D)
 Georgia: Deal (R) West Virginia: Tomblin (D)
 Hawaii: Abercrombie (D)  
 Idaho: Otter (R)  
 Illinois: Quinn (D)  
 Iowa: Branstad (R)  
 Kansas: Brownback (R)  
 Maine: LePage (R)  
 Maryland: O'Malley (D)  
 Massachusetts: Patrick (D)  
 Michigan: Snyder (R)  
 Minnesota: Dayton (D)  
 Nebraska: Heineman (R)  
 Nevada: Sandoval (R)  
 New Hampshire: Hassan (D)  
 New Mexico: Martinez (R)  
 New York: Cuomo (D)  
 Ohio: Kasich (R)  
 Oklahoma: Fallin (R)  
 Oregon: Kitzhaber (D)  
 Pennsylvania: Corbett (R)  
 Rhode Island: Chafee (D)  
 South Carolina: Haley (R)  
 South Dakota: Daugaard (R)  
 Tennessee: Haslam (R)  
 Texas: Perry (R)  
 Vermont: Shumlin (D)  
 Wisconsin: Walker (R)  
 Wyoming: Mead (R)  
5 November 2013
2 Republican (R)
4 November 2014
14 Democratic (D)
22 Republican (R)
3 November 2015
1 Democratic (D)
2 Republican (R)
8 November 2016
5 Democratic (D)
4 Republican (R)
Grand Total
20 Democratic (D)
30 Republican (R)

  2013 General Election Home  
  Gubernatorial Popular Vote by Party  
  Close Contests Summary - Decision by 2% or less  
  Contests Where No Candidate Received a Majority  
2013 Primaries and Runoffs for Statewide offices/Congress
  Alphabetically   --   Chronologically   --   Poll Closing Times  
General Election Poll Closing Times
  Alphabetically   --   Chronologically  
  Polling Hours  
  Governors     Senate     House  
  Senators by 'Class'  
  Governors by election 'cycle'  
  Gubernatorial Primaries at a Glance   --   Senatorial Primaries at a Glance  
  Open Governor's Chairs, Senate and House Seats (the incumbent is not running for re-election)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with no incumbent running for them  
  Uncontested Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats (one candidate running for office)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with multiple incumbents running for them  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with only one major party candidate running for office  
  2013 Partisan Composition by State  
  Political Parties  
  Senate Electoral Classes  

2012 CONGRESSIONAL Political Party Breakdown by SECTION and Region
  Political Party Floor Leaders in the Congress of the United States  
  Dates of DIRECT PRIMARY Elections re: Major Party Nominations for Statewide and/or Federal Office  
  Length of Terms of Office of STATE Governors throughout American History