The Green Papers: Off Year Election 2001

Copyright South Carolina
Special Primary House CD 2: Tuesday, October 30, 2001
Special Election House CD 2: Tuesday, December 18, 2001
Governor:1(Term Limit: 2 consecutive 4-year terms)
Senators:2(Electoral Classes 2 and 3)
2000 Representatives:6(1.38% of 435)
2002 Representatives:6(1.38% of 435)
1990 Census: 3,486,310(1.40% of 248,765,170)
2000 Census: 4,025,061(1.43% of 281,998,273)
Registered Voters (Nov 98): 2,021,763
Estimated Voting age population (Jan 98): 2,886,000 
Tuesday, November 6, 2001 Polls Close: 7 PM EST (0000 UTC)
Candidates seeking office
Last modified
States Alphabetically    States Chronologically    South Carolina Links
  Governors    Senate    House  

Governor  Term limit: 2 consecutive 4-year terms, Current Governors  

 Democrat  Governor Jim Hodges
First elected: 1998
Chair up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002. (The current Governor is NOT affected by this state's term limit).

Senate  6-year term, Current Senate  Senate Electoral Classes

Class 2Republican  Senator J. Strom Thurmond
First elected as an Independent candidate to this seat: 1954 (the only United States Senator ever elected solely by write-in vote: the write-in campaign was caused by Thurmond's failure to win endorsement by the state Democratic Party [Senator Burnet R. Maybank (Democrat) had died: 1 September 1954 but had been previously renominated for re-election to the seat in the 13 July 1954 primary; Thurmond's campaign was a protest against the Party hierarchy, and not the Party rank-and-file, replacing Maybank as the Democrat nominee]); resigned 4 April 1956 in order to contest for the Democrat nomination for the Senate in a Special Primary that Summer; elected as a Democrat to finish out the term in a Special Election held to fill vacancy caused by his own resignation: 1956; re-elected as a Democrat: 1960; changed Party affiliation to Republican: 16 September 1964; re-elected as a Republican: 1966, 1972, 1978, 1984, 1990, 1996
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002. February 2001: Congressman Thurmond, 98, has announced that he will not run for reelection in 2002.
 CandidateDemocrat  (pending)
Possible Candidates: Former College of Charleston President Alex Sanders (announced 6 September 2001).
 CandidateRepublican  (Congressman Lindsey Graham - pending)
21 February 2001: Congressman Lindsey Graham (South Carolina Congressional District 3) announced his intentions to run for Senator Thurmond's Senate seat.

Class 3Democrat  Senator Ernest F. "Fritz" Hollings
First elected to finish out the term in a Special Election: 1966 [held to fill vacancy caused by the death of Senator Olin D. Johnston (Democrat): 18 April 1965- which Donald S. Russell (Democrat) had been appointed by Governor Robert E. McNair (Democrat) to fill, 22 April 1965 (Russell had resigned as Governor on 22 April 1965 allowing Lieutenant Governor McNair to succeed to the office of Governor, after which McNair appointed Russell to the Senate)]; elected to full term: 1968; re-elected: 1974, 1980, 1986, 1992, 1998
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 2, 2004.

House of Representatives  2 year term, Current House  
Partisan Composition: 2 Democrats, 4 Republicans

CD 1Republican  Congressman Henry E. Brown
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002.

CD 2Republican  Congressman Joe Wilson
First Elected 18 December 2001 in a special election to fill the seat vacated by the death of Floyd Spence.
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002.
 CandidateLibertarian  Warren Eilertson
 CandidateConstitution  Steve Lefemine
 CandidateDemocrat  Brent Weaver
Special Primary, 30 October 2001: Brent Weaver, unopposed.
 WinnerRepublican  Joe Wilson
Special Primary, 30 October 2001 - Joe Wilson (75% WINNER), Joe Grimaud (15%), Stew Butler (4%), Richard Chalk (3%), Clyde T. Cobb (2%). Since Wilson received more than 50% of the vote there will be no runoff election on 13 November.
Tuesday 18 December 2001 - Special Election results: WINNER - REPUBLICAN: Joe Wilson (39,915 votes - 73.01%), DEMOCRAT: Brent Weaver (13,936 - votes 25.49%), LIBERTARIAN: Warren Eilertson (416 votes - 0.76%), CONSTITUTION: Steve Lefemine (406 votes - 0.74%)

The Primary to fill the House seat left vacant by the death of Floyd Spence was held Tuesday 30 October 2001. There will not be a 13 November 2001 runoff election as one candidate received a majority of the vote.

Thursday, August 16, 2001: We extend our condolences to the family and friends of Representative Floyd Spence (Republican, South Carolina) who passed away today. Congressman Spence, 73, had remained in critical condition since undergoing surgery on Thursday, August 8. The Congressman served South Carolina's 2nd Congressional District since 1971.

CD 3Republican  Congressman Lindsey Graham
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002. 21 February 2001: Congressman Graham has announced that he plans to run for Senator Thurmond's Senate seat in 2002.

CD 4Republican  Congressman Jim DeMint
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002.

CD 5Democrat  Congressman John Spratt
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002.

CD 6Democrat  Congressman James E. Clyburn
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002.

Congressional District

South Carolina has 6 Congressional Districts and 46 counties, 33 of the counties are within one CD and 13 counties are split between more than one CD.

UNDIVIDED COUNTIES: (Counties wholly within one Congressional District):

  • CD # 1: Georgetown, Horry. (2)
  • CD # 2: Allendale, Barnwell, Hampton, Jasper, Lexington. (5)
  • CD # 3: Abbeville, Anderson, Edgefield, Greenwood, McCormick, Oconee, Pickens, Saluda. (8)
  • CD # 4: Greenville, Spartanburg, Union. (3)
  • CD # 5: Cherokee, Chester, Chesterfield, Dillon, Fairfield, Kershaw, Lancaster, Marlboro, Newberry, York.(10)
  • CD # 6: Bamberg, Clarendon, Florence, Marion, Williamsburg. (5)

DIVIDED COUNTIES (Counties with portions in more than one Congressional District):

  • Aiken:CD2 and CD3
  • Beaufort: CD2 and CD6
  • Berkeley: CD1 and CD6
  • Calhoun: CD2 and CD6
  • Charleston: CD1 and CD6 (the City of Charleston is in CD 1)
  • Colleton: CD2 and CD6
  • Darlington: CD5 and CD6
  • Dorchester: CD1 and CD6
  • Laurens: CD3 and CD4
  • Lee: CD5 and CD6
  • Orangeburg: CD2 and CD6
  • Richland: CD2 and CD6 (Columbia, the state capital, is right on the boundary between these two Congressional Districts)
  • Sumter: CD5 and CD6