The Green Papers: Off Year Election 2001

Copyright Nevada
Governor:1(Term Limit: 2 consecutive 4-year terms)
Senators:2(Electoral Classes 1 and 3)
2000 Representatives:2(0.46% of 435)
2002 Representatives:3(0.69% of 435)
1990 Census: 1,201,675(0.48% of 248,765,170)
2000 Census: 2,002,032(0.71% of 281,998,273)
Registered Voters (Nov 98):904,050
Estimated Voting age population (Jan 98): 1,314,000 
Tuesday, November 6, 2001 Polls Close: 7 PM PST (0300 UTC)
Candidates seeking office
Last modified
States Alphabetically    States Chronologically    Nevada Links
  Governors    Senate    House  

Governor  Term limit: 2 consecutive 4-year terms, Current Governors  

 Republican  Governor Kenny Guinn
First elected: 1998
Chair up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002. (The current Governor is NOT affected by this state's term limit).

Senate  6-year term, Current Senate  Senate Electoral Classes

Class 1Republican  Senator John Ensign
First elected: 2000
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 7, 2006.

Class 3Democrat  Senator Harry Reid
First elected: 1986; re-elected: 1992, 1998
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 2, 2004.

House of Representatives  2 year term, Current House  
Partisan Composition: 1 Democrat, 1 Republican

CD 1Democrat  Congressman Shelley Berkley
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002.

CD 2Republican  Congressman Jim Gibbons
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002.

Congressional District

Nevada has 2 congressional districts:

CD 1 is wholly within Clark County and generally includes the City of Las Vegas and its immediate vicinity.

CD 2 consists of the remainder of Clark County plus all the remaining Counties in the state.