The Green Papers: Off Year Election 2001

Copyright New Mexico
Governor:1(Term Limit: 2 consecutive 4-year terms)
Senators:2(Electoral Classes 1 and 2)
2000 Representatives:3(0.69% of 435)
2002 Representatives:3(0.69% of 435)
1990 Census: 1,515,069(0.61% of 248,765,170)
2000 Census: 1,823,821(0.65% of 281,998,273)
Registered Voters (Nov 98):821,006
Estimated Voting age population (Jan 98): 1,250,000 
Tuesday, November 6, 2001 Polls Close: 7 PM MST (0200 UTC)
Candidates seeking office
Last modified
States Alphabetically    States Chronologically    New Mexico Links
  Governors    Senate    House  

Governor  Term limit: 2 consecutive 4-year terms, Current Governors  

 Republican  Governor Gary E. Johnson
First elected: 1994; re-elected: 1998
Chair up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002. (The current Governor is affected by a term limit and CANNOT run in the next election for Governor).
 CandidateDemocrat  (pending)
26 May 2001: Bill Richardson (Energy Secretary during the the Clinton Adminstration) is considering a run for Governor in 2002.
 CandidateLibertarian  (Russell Means - pending)
10 June 2001: Nominated by Convention. Means served a year in a South Dakota prison circa 1975 for his leadership role in the confrontation at Wounded Knee. New Mexico prohibits ex-Felons from holding public office.

Senate  6-year term, Current Senate  Senate Electoral Classes

Class 1Democrat  Senator Jeff Bingaman
First elected: 1982; re-elected: 1988, 1994, 2000
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 7, 2006.

Class 2Republican  Senator Pete V. Domenici
First elected: 1972; re-elected: 1978, 1984, 1990, 1996
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002.

House of Representatives  2 year term, Current House  
Partisan Composition: 1 Democrat, 2 Republicans

CD 1Republican  Congressman Heather Wilson
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002.

CD 2Republican  Congressman Joe Skeen
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002.

CD 3Democrat  Congressman Tom Udall
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002.

Congressional District

New Mexico has 33 counties and 3 congressional districts: 28 counties are wholly within a given congressional district; 5 counties are divided among more than one congressional district.

UNDIVIDED COUNTIES (wholly within one Congressional District):

  • CD 1: Torrance.
  • CD 2: Catron, Chaves, DeBaca, Dona Ana, Eddy, Grant, Guadelupe, Hidalgo, Lee, Lincoln, Luna, Otero, Sierra and Socorro.
  • CD 3: Colfax, Curry, Harding, Los Alamos, McKinley, Mora, Quay, Rio Arriba, Roosevelt, San Juan, San Miguel, Taos and Union.

DIVIDED COUNTIES (split between more than one Congressional District):

  • Bernalillo: CDs 1, 2 and 3
  • Cibola: CDs 2 and 3
  • Sandoval: CDs 1 and 3
  • Santa Fe: CDs 1 and 3
  • Valencia: CDs 1 and 2