The Green Papers: Off Year Election 2001

Copyright New Hampshire
Governor:1(Term Limit: None; 2-year term)
Senators:2(Electoral Classes 2 and 3)
2000 Representatives:2(0.46% of 435)
2002 Representatives:2(0.46% of 435)
1990 Census: 1,109,252(0.45% of 248,765,170)
2000 Census: 1,238,415(0.44% of 281,998,273)
Registered Voters (Nov 98):763,845
Estimated Voting age population (Jan 98):890,000 
Tuesday, November 6, 2001 Polls Close: 7 PM EST (0000 UTC) or 8 PM EST (0100 UTC) - NEW HAMPSHIRE permits its 13 cities to keep their polls open until 8 pm EST by local option- however, as there ARE only 13 cities among New Hampshire's 234 County subdivisions [the 221 "non-cities", of course, being the proverbial New England Town(ship)], the fact is that the vast majority of NH's polls have closed by 7 pm EST and the networks have no problem considering this hour as the earliest hour of potential projection.
Candidates seeking office
Last modified
States Alphabetically    States Chronologically    New Hampshire Links
  Governors    Senate    House  

Governor  Term limit: None; 2-year term, Current Governors  

 Democrat  Governor Jeanne Shaheen
First elected: 1996; re-elected: 1998, 2000
Chair up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002.

Senate  6-year term, Current Senate  Senate Electoral Classes

Class 2Republican  Senator Robert C. "Bob" Smith
First elected: 1990; re-elected: 1996
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002.
 CandidateDemocrat  (pending)
2001 August 22: Governor Jeanne Shaheen filed papers to form an exploratory committee for this office.
 CandidateRepublican  (pending)
Possible candidates: Representative John Sununu (announced October 2001).

Class 3Republican  Senator Judd Gregg
First elected: 1992; re-elected: 1998
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 2, 2004.

House of Representatives  2 year term, Current House  
Partisan Composition: 2 Republicans

CD 1Republican  Congressman John E. Sununu
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002.

CD 2Republican  Congressman Charles Bass
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002.

Congressional District

Congressional District 1 includes Belknap (except Sanbornton and Tilton), Carroll, Rockingham (except Atkinson, Salem, and Windham), and Strafford Counties.

Congressional District 2 includes Cheshire, Coos, Grafton, Hillsborough (except Bedford, Goffstown, Manchester, Merrimack), Merrimack (except Epsom, Hooksett, Pittsfield), and Sullivan Counties.