The Green Papers: Off Year Election 2001

Copyright Nebraska
Governor:1(Term Limit: 2 consecutive 4-year terms)
Senators:2(Electoral Classes 1 and 2)
2000 Representatives:3(0.69% of 435)
2002 Representatives:3(0.69% of 435)
1990 Census: 1,578,417(0.63% of 248,765,170)
2000 Census: 1,715,369(0.61% of 281,998,273)
Registered Voters (Nov 98):981,160
Estimated Voting age population (Jan 98): 1,231,000 
Tuesday, November 6, 2001 Polls Close: 8 pm EST / 7 PM CST (0100 UTC). The polls close at the same GMT/UTC time, that is, polls close at a particular local time in the advanced time zone and close one hour earlier local time in the lagging time zone.
Candidates seeking office
Last modified
States Alphabetically    States Chronologically    Nebraska Links
  Governors    Senate    House  

Governor  Term limit: 2 consecutive 4-year terms, Current Governors  

 Republican  Governor Mike Johanns
First elected: 1998
Chair up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002. (The current Governor is NOT affected by this state's term limit).

Senate  6-year term, Current Senate  Senate Electoral Classes

Class 1Democrat  Senator Ben Nelson
First elected: 2000
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 7, 2006.

Class 2Republican  Senator Chuck Hagel
First elected: 1996
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002.

House of Representatives  2 year term, Current House  
Partisan Composition: 3 Republicans

CD 1Republican  Congressman Doug Bereuter
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002.

CD 2Republican  Congressman Lee Terry
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002.

CD 3Republican  Congressman Tom Osborne
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002.

Congressional District

Nebraska has 93 counties and 3 congressional districts: 92 counties are wholly within a given congressional district; 1 county is divided among more than one congressional district.

UNDIVIDED COUNTIES (wholly within one Congressional District):

  • CD 1: Burt, Butler, Cedar, Colfax, Cuming, Dakota, Dixon, Dodge, Gage, Johnson, Lancaster, Madison, Nemaha, Otoe, Pawnee, Richardson, Saline, Saunders, Seward, Stanton, Thurston, Washington, Wayne and York.
  • CD 2: Douglas and Sarpy.
  • CD 3: Adams, Antelope, Arthur, Banner, Blaine, Boone, Box Butte, Boyd, Brown, Buffalo, Chase, Cherry, Cheyenne, Clay, Custer, Dawes, Dawson, Deuel, Dundy, Fillmore, Franklin, Frontier, Furnas, Garden, Garfield, Gosper, Grant, Greeley, Hall, Hamilton, Harlan, Haynes, Hitchcock, Holt, Hooker, Howard, Jefferson, Kearney, Keith, Keya Paha, Kimball, Knox, Lincoln, Logan, Loup, McPherson, Merrick, Morrill, Nance, Nuckolls, Perkins, Phelps, Pierce, Platte, Polk, Red Willow, Rock, Scotts Bluff, Sheridan, Sherman, Sioux, Thayer, Thomas, Valley, Webster and Wheeler.

DIVIDED COUNTIES (split between more than one Congressional District):

  • Cass: CDs 1 and 2.