The Green Papers: Off Year Election 2001

Copyright Louisiana
Governor:1(Term Limit: 2 consecutive 4-year terms)
Senators:2(Electoral Classes 2 and 3)
2000 Representatives:7(1.61% of 435)
2002 Representatives:7(1.61% of 435)
1990 Census: 4,221,826(1.70% of 248,765,170)
2000 Census: 4,480,271(1.59% of 281,998,273)
Registered Voters (Nov 98): 2,511,141
Estimated Voting age population (Jan 98): 3,149,000 
Tuesday, November 6, 2001 Polls Close: 8 PM CST (0200 UTC)
Candidates seeking office
Last modified
States Alphabetically    States Chronologically    Louisiana Links
  Governors    Senate    House  

Governor  Term limit: 2 consecutive 4-year terms, Current Governors  

 Republican  Governor M.J. "Mike" Foster
First elected: 1995; re-elected: 1999
Chair up for election: Saturday, October 18, 2003. (The current Governor is affected by a term limit and CANNOT run in the next election for Governor).

Senate  6-year term, Current Senate  Senate Electoral Classes

Class 2Democrat  Senator Mary L. Landrieu
First elected: 1996
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002.

Class 3Democrat  Senator John B. Breaux
First elected: 1986; re-elected: 1992, 1998
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 2, 2004.

House of Representatives  2 year term, Current House  
Partisan Composition: 2 Democrats, 5 Republicans

CD 1Republican  Congressman David Vitter
Republican David Vitter was elected to fill this seat on 29 May 1999 (special election), sworn 8 June 1999. (Republican Congressman Bob Livingston resigned 1 March 1999.)
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002.

CD 2Democrat  Congressman William J. Jefferson
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002.

CD 3Republican  Congressman W.J. "Billy" Tauzin
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002.

CD 4Republican  Congressman "Jim" McCrery
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002.

CD 5Republican  Congressman John C. Cooksey
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002.

CD 6Republican  Congressman Richard H. Baker
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002.

CD 7Democrat  Congressman Chris John
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002.

Nomination Notes

Louisiana has a so-called "Open Primary" [this is the term used in the Louisiana Election Law- it is not to be confused with an "open" as opposed to a "closed" primary re: voter eligibility] in which all candidates for a given office- regardless of political party- run together on a single ballot and on a non-partisan basis [though they are permitted to indicate their political party affiliation on the ballot, if they so desire]: where a candidate wins a majority of the votes in this "Open Primary", he or she is "declared elected"; if not, the top two vote-getters among all the candidates "run off" in a subsequent election... until recently, this "Open Primary" was held in late September or early October and the "runoff"- if necessary- was held on the same day as the General Election [the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November]; the Federal courts, however, have voided- at least insofar as the election of Federal officials is concerned [this ruling has no effect on the use of the "Open Primary" or its scheduling for Louisiana's State and Local Elections]- the earlier dates formerly used for this "Open Primary" as being in violation of Federal Law, which requires that all Federal officers- including the U.S. Senators and U.S. Congressmen from Louisiana- be elected, across the USA, on the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November [the declaring of candidates "elected" on an earlier date- in those cases where no runoff would be required- was held to be out of compliance with this Federal statute]. As a result, Louisiana now holds its "Open Primary" for Federal officers from the State on the same day as the General Election across the USA and any runoffs resulting therefrom are held at a date subsequent to that of the November General Election.

Congressional District

Louisiana has 64 parishes (a Parish being Louisiana's equivalent to a County in most other states) and 7 congressional districts: 58 parishes are wholly within a given congressional district; 6 parishes are divided among more than one congressional district.

UNDIVIDED PARISHES (those wholly within one Congressional District):

  • CD # 1: St. Tammany, Tangipahoa and Washington
  • CD # 3: Assumption, Iberia, Lafourche, Plaquemines, St. Bernard, St. Charles, St. James, St. John the Baptist, St. Mary and Terrebonne
  • CD # 4: Beauregard, Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, Claiborne, DeSoto, Natchitoches, Red River, Sabine, Vernon and Webster
  • CD # 5: Avoyelles, Caldwell, Catahoula, Concordia, East Carroll, Franklin, Grant, Jackson, LaSalle, Lincoln, Madison, Morehouse, Ouachita, Rapides, Richland, Tensas, Union, West Carroll and Winn
  • CD # 6: East Baton Rouge, East Feliciana, Iberville, Livingston, Pointe Coupee, St. Helena, West Baton Rouge and West Feliciana
  • CD # 7: Acadia, Calcasieu, Cameron, Jefferson Davis, Lafayette, St. Landry and Vermilion

DIVIDED PARISHES (those split between more than one Congressional District):

  • Allen: CDs 4 & 7
  • Ascension: CDs 3 & 6
  • Evangeline: CDs 5 & 7
  • Jefferson: CDs 1, 2 & 3
  • Orleans (coterminous with the City of New Orleans): CDs 1 & 2
  • St. Martin: CDs 3 & 7