The Green Papers: Off Year Election 2001

Copyright Alaska
Governor:1(Term Limit: 2 consecutive 4-year terms)
Senators:2(Electoral Classes 2 and 3)
2000 Representatives:1(0.23% of 435)
2002 Representatives:1(0.23% of 435)
1990 Census:550,043(0.22% of 248,765,170)
2000 Census:628,933(0.22% of 281,998,273)
Registered Voters (Nov 98):456,914
Estimated Voting age population (Jan 98):437,000 
Tuesday, November 6, 2001 Polls Close: 8 PM Alaska (0500 UTC)
Candidates seeking office
Last modified
States Alphabetically    States Chronologically    Alaska Links
  Governors    Senate    House  

Governor  Term limit: 2 consecutive 4-year terms, Current Governors  

 Democrat  Governor Tony Knowles
First elected: 1994; re-elected: 1998
Chair up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002. (The current Governor is affected by a term limit and CANNOT run in the next election for Governor).
 CandidateRepublican  (pending)
Possible candidates: Senator Frank Murkowski (announced 22 October 2001).

Senate  6-year term, Current Senate  Senate Electoral Classes

Class 2Republican  Senator Ted Stevens
Appointed by Governor Walter J. Hickel (Republican) on 24 December 1968, to fill vacancy caused by the death of Senator E. L. Bartlett (Democrat): 11 December 1968; elected to finish out the term in a Special Election: 1970; elected to first full term: 1972; re-elected: 1978, 1984, 1990, 1996
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002.

Class 3Republican  Senator Frank H. Murkowski
First elected: 1980; re-elected: 1986, 1992, 1998
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 2, 2004.

22 October 2001: Senator Murkowski announced that he would run for governor of Alaska in 2002.

House of Representatives  2 year term, Current House  
Partisan Composition: 1 Republican

At-LargeRepublican  Congressman Don E. Young
First elected: 6 March 1973- in a Special Election re: the presumed death of Congressman Nick Begich in a plane crash, 16 October 1972 (Congressman Begich was re-elected to the House of the 93rd Congress, 7 November 1972, before he was declared legally dead and his seat thereby declared vacant)
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002.

Nomination Notes

The U.S. Supreme Court recently ruled that political parties have a Constitutional right to restrict who can vote in their primary elections. The Republican Party of Alaska has decided to limit who can vote in its primary. Therefore, there will be two different candidate ballots for the 2000 Primary Election in Alaska, and voters in that State will be asked to choose one.

The "Open" Ballot will have all candidates listed except Republicans. Anyone can select the Open Ballot.

The "Republican" Ballot will have only Republican candidates listed. If an Alaska voter is registered as either a Republican, Undeclared or Non-Partisan, he or she can select the Republican Ballot. The voter may- if necessary- change his or her party affiliation at the polling place.

Congressional District

Alaska has been allocated only 1 Representative in Congress at large; therefore, the entire state consists of, in effect, only one statewide Congressional District.