The Green Papers: State and Local Government
Copyright Iowa
Governor:1(Term Limit: None; 4-year term)
Senators:2(Electoral Classes 2 and 3)
2000 Census:2,931,923 (1.04% of 281,998,273)
2004, 2008 Electors:7(1.30% of 538)
2002-2010 Representatives:5(1.15% of 435)
2010 Census:3,053,787 (0.99% of 309,785,186)
2012, 2016, 2020 Electors:6(1.12% of 538)
2012-2020 Representatives:4(0.92% of 435)
Capital:Des Moines

  Alabama    Alaska    American Samoa    Arizona    Arkansas    California    Colorado    Connecticut    Delaware    District of Columbia    Florida    Georgia    Guam    Hawaii    Idaho    Illinois    Indiana    Iowa    Kansas    Kentucky    Louisiana    Maine    Maryland    Massachusetts    Michigan    Minnesota    Mississippi    Missouri    Montana    Nebraska    Nevada    New Hampshire    New Jersey    New Mexico    New York    North Carolina    North Dakota    Northern Marianas    Ohio    Oklahoma    Oregon    Pennsylvania    Puerto Rico    Rhode Island    South Carolina    South Dakota    Tennessee    Texas    Utah    Vermont    Virgin Islands    Virginia    Washington    West Virginia    Wisconsin    Wyoming 

States Alphabetically    Current Iowa Statewide Office Holders

Official Name/Status   All States
 The STATE of Iowa
 Status: STATE of the Union
 Organized as a Territory: 12 June 1838. 5 Stat. 235: effective, 3 July 1838; previously, part of Wisconsin Territory
 Admitted to the Union as a State: 28 December 1846 by an Act of Congress (9 Stat. 117)
  The 29th state.

Traditional Sections and Regions   All States
 Section: MIDWEST
 Region: Great Plains
 Survey: Public Domain

Constitutions   All States     Links to State Constitutions
 Enabling Act (of the Congress of the United States): 3 March 1845 [5 Stat. 742: authorizing formation of a State government alone]
1st (1846-1857) [Adopted: 18 May 1846 Convention convened, 4 May 1846, Ratified: 3 August 1846 ratified by vote of 9,492 to 9,036; effective upon Admission, 28 December 1846]
2nd (1857-) [Adopted: 5 March 1857 Convention convened, 19 January 1857, Ratified: 3 August 1857 ratified by vote of 40,311 to 38,681]

Executive Branch   All States
Chief Executive
Successor to a Vacancy
  Lieutenant Governor [elected separately from GOVERNOR]
Major Executive Officers Elected Statewide   All States   2021 Office holders
  Governor: 4 year term, Election Cycle: 2018, 2022. Term Limit: None
  Lieutenant Governor: 4 year term, Election Cycle: 2018, 2022. Elected on a ticket with Governor.
  Secretary of State: 4 year term, Election Cycle: 2018, 2022
  Attorney General: 4 year term, Election Cycle: 2018, 2022
  Treasurer: 4 year term, Election Cycle: 2018, 2022
  Auditor: 4 year term, Election Cycle: 2018, 2022
  Secretary of Agriculture and Land Stewardship: 4 year term, Election Cycle: 2018, 2022

Legislative Branch   All States
Upper House
Lower House
  House of Representatives

Judicial Branch   All States
Court of Last Resort
  Supreme Court
Intermediate Appellate Court
  Court of Appeals

Local Government
  County [Type: Strong, Executive and Legislative: BOARD OF SUPERVISORS]
   township [Type: Vestigial, Executive and Legislative: Board of Trustees]
Incorporated Municipalities  All States
    Iowa Civil Divisions and Municipalities

Key Statewide / Federal Officials  All States
  Iowa Officials

Statutory Election Information   All States
General Election   All States
  39.1 General election. The general election shall be held throughout the state on the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November of each even-numbered year. [Merged Iowa Code & Supplement]
Presidential Primary   All States
  (for Political party precinct caucuses -Ed) Delegates to county conventions of political parties and party committee members shall be elected at precinct caucuses held not later than the fourth Monday in February of each even-numbered year. The date shall be at least eight days earlier than the scheduled date for any meeting, caucus or primary which constitutes the first determining stage of the presidential nominating process in any other state, territory or any other group which has the authority to select delegates in the presidential nomination. [Merged Iowa Code & Supplement 43.4]
State Primary   All States
  The primary election by all political parties shall be held ... on the first Tuesday after the first Monday in June in each even-numbered year. [Merged Iowa Code & Supplement 43.7]
Polling times   All States
  (--2021) 49.73 Time of opening and closing polls.
1. At all elections, except as otherwise permitted by this section, the polls shall be opened at seven o'clock a.m., or as soon thereafter as vacancies on the precinct election board have been filled. On the basis of voter turnout for recent similar elections and factors considered likely to so affect voter turnout for the forthcoming election as to justify shortened voting hours for that election, the commissioner may direct that the polls be opened at twelve o'clock noon for ....
49.53. The polling places shall be closed at nine o'clock p.m. for state primary and general elections and other partisan elections, and for any other election held concurrently therewith, and at eight o'clock p.m. for all other elections.
[Merged Iowa Code & Supplement]
  (2021--) 49.73 Time of opening and closing polls. 1. ...the polls shall be opened at seven o'clock a.m. .... 2. The polling places shall be closed at at 8:00 p.m. for all elections.

Links  Links to other web sites
Constitution    All States
  Constitution of the State of Iowa
Election Authority
  Iowa Secretary of State
  Iowa Democratic Party
  Iowa House Democrats
  Iowa Senate Democrats
  Iowa House Republican Caucus
  Iowa Senate Republican Caucus
  Republican Party of Iowa
Third Party
  Constitution Party of Iowa
  Iowa Green Party
  Iowa Green Party
  Iowa Right to Life Committee
  Libertarian Party of Iowa
  The Unity Party of Iowa
Media & others
  Blog for Iowa
  Dubuque Telegraph Herald
  Fort Madison Daily Democrat
  Globe Gazette - Mason City
  Iowa City Press-Citizen
  Iowa Farmer Today
  Iowa Public Television - Johnston
  Iowa Starting Line
  Kalona News
  KCAU TV - ABC - Sioux City
  KCRG TV - ABC - Cedar Rapids - Iowa City - Dubuque
  KDSM TV - FOX - Des Moines
  KLJB TV - Fox - Davenport - Iowa
  Quad-Cities - Dispatch/Argus/Leader - Moline - Rock Island - Davenport
  Quad-City Times
  Radio Iowa
  Sioux City Journal
  The Bloomfield Democrat
  The Daily Nonpareil - Council Bluffs
  The Des Moines Register
  The Gazette - Cedar Rapids
  The Gazette - Cedar Rapids
  The Iowa Republican
  The Iowa Republican - Brooklyn
  The Waterloo Cedar-Falls Courier
  WHO TV - NBC - Des Moines

  State and Local Government Home  
  Historical Data in the STATE AND LOCAL GOVERNMENT section  
  Traditional Sections and Regions   --   Explanation  
  Constitutions   --   Explanation   --   Links to State Constitutions  
  Official Name and Status History   --   Explanation  
  Executive Branch  
  Major Executive Officers Elected Statewide  
  Legislative Branch   --   Links to State Legislatures  
  Length of Terms of LEGISLATORS in the Several States of the American Union  
  Combined Executive and Legislative Branches  
  Judicial Branch - State Court Systems   --   Judiciary Links  
Local Government
  Primary and Minor Civil Divisions     Incorporated Municipalities     Combined Civil Divisions and Incorporated Municipalities  
  Statutory Election Information: General Election, Presidential and State Primary, Polling Times  
  Compilation of Statutes     United States STATUTES AT LARGE: Arrangement  
  United States Code: Arrangement     CODE OF FEDERAL REGULATIONS: Arrangement