The Green Papers
The Green Papers
State and Local Government

Vermont Localities
Civil Divisions and Municipalities

List of States


(with shire towns in italics)
Addison- Middlebury
Bennington- Bennington
Caledonia- St. Johnsbury
Chittenden- Burlington
Essex- Guildhall
Franklin- St. Albans
Grand Isle- North Hero
Lamoille- Hyde Park
Orange- Chelsea
Orleans- Newport
Rutland- Rutland
Washington- Montpelier
Windham- Newfane
Windsor- Woodstock
[Note: though the "Towns" are the primary Minor Civil Divisions in VERMONT, the "Cities"- although incorporated Municipalities- replace the functions of the Town, are separate from any Town and, thus, are considered to be MCDs of the State equivalent to any Town therein. "Villages" in VERMONT, however, remain part of the Town[s] in which they have been erected and, therefore, are not listed herein]
Addison County
Addison (town)
Bridport (town)
Bristol (town)
Cornwall (town)
Ferrisburg (town)
Goshen (town)
Granville (town)
Hancock (town)
Leicester (town)
Lincoln (town)
MIDDLEBURY (town)- county courthouse
Monkton (town)
New Haven (town)
Orwell (town)
Panton (town)
Ripton (town)
Salisbury (town)
Shoreham (town)
Starksboro (town)
Vergennes (city)
Waltham (town)
Weybridge (town)
Whiting (town)
Bennington County
Arlington (town)
BENNINGTON (town)- county courthouse
Dorset (town)
Glastenbury (town)
Landgrove (town)
[MANCHESTER] (town)- auxiliary courthouse
Peru (town)
Pownal (town)
Readsboro (town)
Rupert (town)
Sandgate (town)
Searsburg (town)
Shaftsbury (town)
Stamford (town)
Sunderland (town)
Winhall (town)
Woodford (town)
Caledonia County
Barnet (town)
Burke (town)
Danville (town)
Groton (town)
Hardwick (town)
Kirby (town)
Lyndon (town)
Newark (town)
Peacham (town)
Ryegate (town)
ST. JOHNSBURY (town)- county courthouse
Sheffield (town)
Stannard (town)
Sutton (town)
Walden (town)
Waterford (town)
Wheelock (town)
Chittenden County
Bolton (town)
BURLINGTON (city)- county courthouse
Charlotte (town)
Colchester (town)
Essex (town)
Hinesburg (town)
Huntington (town)
Jericho (town)
Milton (town)
Richmond (town)
St. George (town)
Shelburne (town)
South Burlington (city)
Underhill (town)
Westford (town)
Williston (town)
Winooski (city)
Essex County
Averill (town)
Bloomfield (town)
Brighton (town)
Brunswick (town)
Canaan (town)
Concord (town)
East Haven (town)
Ferdinand (town)
Granby (town)
GUILDHALL (town)- county courthouse
Lemington (town)
Lunenburg (town)
Maidstone (town)
Norton (town)
Victory (town)
Franklin County
Bakersfield (town)
Berkshire (town)
Enosburg (town)
Fairfax (town)
Fairfield (town)
Fletcher (town)
Franklin (town)
Georgia (town)
Highgate (town)
Montgomery (town)
Richford (town)
ST. ALBANS (city)- county courthouse
St. Albans (town)
Sheldon (town)
Swanton (town)
Grand Isle County
Alburg (town)
Grand Isle (town)
Isle La Motte (town)
NORTH HERO (town)- county courthouse
South Hero (town)
Lamoille County
Belvidere (town)
Cambridge (town)
Eden (town)
Elmore (town)
HYDE PARK (town)- county courthouse
Johnson (town)
Morristown (town)
Stowe (town)
Waterville (town)
Wolcott (town)
Orange County
Bradford (town)
Braintree (town)
Brookfield (town)
CHELSEA (town)- county courthouse
Corinth (town)
Fairlee (town)
Newbury (town)
Orange (town)
Randolph (town)
Strafford (town)
Thetford (town)
Topsham (town)
Tunbridge (town)
Vershire (town)
Washington (town)
West Fairlee (town)
Williamstown (town)
Orleans County
Albany (town)
Barton (town)
Brownington (town)
Charleston (town)
Coventry (town)
Craftsbury (town)
Derby (town)
Glover (town)
Greensboro (town)
Holland (town)
Irasburg (town)
Jay (town)
Lowell (town)
Morgan (town)
NEWPORT (city)- county courthouse
Newport (town)
Troy (town)
Westfield (town)
Westmore (town)
Rutland County
Benson (town)
Brandon (town)
Castleton (town)
Chittenden (town)
Clarendon (town)
Danby (town)
Fair Haven (town)
Hubbardton (town)
Ira (town)
Mendon (town)
Middletown Springs (town)
Mount Holly (town)
Mount Tabor (town)
Pawlet (town)
Pittsfield (town)
Pittsford (town)
Poultney (town)
Proctor (town)
RUTLAND (city)- county courthouse
Rutland (town)
Sherburne (town)
Shrewsbury (town)
Sudbury (town)
Tinmouth (town)
Wallingford (town)
Wells (town)
West Haven (town)
West Rutland (town)
Washington County
Barre (city)
Barre (town)
Berlin (town)
Cabot (town)
Calais (town)
Duxbury (town)
East Montpelier (town)
Fayston (town)
Marshfield (town)
Middlesex (town)
MONTPELIER (city)- state capital/county courthouse
Moretown (town)
Northfield (town)
Plainfield (town)
Roxbury (town)
Waitsfield (town)
Warren (town)
Waterbury (town)
Woodbury (town)
Worcester (town)
Windham County
Athens (town)
Brattleboro (town)
Brookline (town)
Dover (town)
Dummerston (town)
Grafton (town)
Guilford (town)
Halifax (town)
Jamaica (town)
Londonderry (town)
Marlboro (town)
NEWFANE (town)- county courthouse
Putney (town)
Rockingham (town)
Somerset (town)
Stratton (town)
Townshend (town)
Vernon (town)
Wardsboro (town)
Westminster (town)
Whitingham (town)
Wilmington (town)
Windham (town)
Windsor County
Andover (town)
Baltimore (town)
Barnard (town)
Bethel (town)
Bridgewater (town)
Cavendish (town)
Chester (town)
Hartford (town)
Hartland (town)
Ludlow (town)
Norwich (town)
Plymouth (town)
Pomfret (town)
Reading (town)
Rochester (town)
Royalton (town)
Sharon (town)
Springfield (town)
Stockbridge (town)
Weathersfield (town)
Weston (town)
West Windsor (town)
Windsor (town)
WOODSTOCK (town)- county courthouse


State and Local Government Outline

Created Mon 3 Sep 2001. Modified .