2020 Presidential Primaries,
Caucuses, and Conventions
Major Events
Chronologically

Disclaimer:
These pages contain a combination of official, unofficial, and estimated data. The information posted here is subject to change.

Donkey and Elephant Democratic
Convention

*Monday 17 August - Thursday 20 August 2020: 48th Democratic National Convention
Republican
Convention

*Monday 24 August - Thursday 27 August 2020: 42nd Republican National Convention
Friday 6 September 2019 *Kansas National Convention Delegate Selection Plan
Wednesday 11 December 2019 *Hawaii Party announcement
Monday 3 February 2020*Iowa Precinct Caucuses1*Iowa Precinct Caucuses
Tuesday 11 February 2020*New Hampshire Primary1*New Hampshire Primary
Saturday 22 February 2020*Nevada Precinct Viability Caucuses1*Nevada Alternative Presidential Preference Poll
Saturday 29 February 2020*South Carolina Primary1 
Sunday 1 March - Saturday 4 April 2020 *Wyoming County Conventions (presumably)
Tuesday 3 March 2020*Alabama Primary1
*Arkansas Primary1
*American Samoa Territorial Caucus1
*California Primary1
*Colorado Primary1
*Massachusetts Primary1
*Maine Primary1
*Minnesota Primary1
*North Carolina Primary1
*Oklahoma Primary1
*Tennessee Primary1
*Texas Primary1
*Utah Primary1
*Virginia Primary1
*Vermont Primary1
*Alabama Primary
*Arkansas Primary
*California Primary
*Colorado Primary
*Massachusetts Primary
*Maine Primary
*Minnesota Primary
*North Carolina Primary
*Oklahoma Primary
*Tennessee Primary
*Texas Primary
*Utah Primary
*Vermont Primary
Tuesday 3 March - Tuesday 10 March 2020*Democrats Abroad Global Party Run Primary1 
Tuesday 10 March 2020*Idaho Primary1
*Michigan Primary1
*Missouri Primary1
*Mississippi Primary1
*North Dakota Firehouse Caucuses1
*Washington Primary1
*Idaho Primary
*Michigan Primary
*Missouri Primary
*Mississippi Primary
*Washington Primary
Thursday 12 March 2020 *Virgin Islands Territorial Caucus (presumably)
Saturday 14 March 2020*Northern Marianas Convention1*Guam Territorial Caucus (presumably)
Sunday 15 March 2020 *Northern Marianas Commonwealth Convention (presumably)
Tuesday 17 March 2020*Arizona Primary1
*Florida Primary1
*Illinois Primary1
*Florida Primary
*Illinois Primary
Wednesday 18 March 2020 *American Samoa Territorial Caucus
Friday 27 March - Sunday 29 March 2020 *North Dakota State Convention (cancelled -- issues addressed by mail ballots)
Thursday 2 April - Saturday 4 April 2020 *Alaska State Convention
Saturday 4 April 2020*Wyoming Presidential Preference County Caucuses (no in-person voting)1 
Tuesday 7 April 2020*Wisconsin Primary (results 13 April)1*Wisconsin Primary (results 13 April)
Saturday 11 April 2020*Alaska Party-Run Primary (results announced)1 
Tuesday 28 April 2020*Ohio Primary1*Ohio Primary
May - June 2020*Puerto Rico Primary (presumably)1 
Friday 1 May - Saturday 2 May 2020 *Virginia State Convention
Saturday 2 May 2020*Guam Caucus1
*Kansas Party-Run Primary1
*South Carolina State Convention
Thursday 7 May - Saturday 9 May 2020 *Wyoming State Convention
Saturday 9 May 2020 *Arizona State Convention and Congressional District Caucus
Tuesday 12 May 2020*Nebraska Primary1*Nebraska Presidential Primary
Saturday 16 May 2020*Alaska State Party Convention 
Tuesday 19 May 2020*Georgia Primary1
*Oregon Primary1
*Georgia Primary
*Kentucky Primary
*Oregon Primary
Saturday 23 May 2020*Hawaii Party-run Presidential Preference Poll (firehouse primary)1 
Tuesday 2 June 2020*Connecticut Primary1
*District of Columbia Primary1
*Delaware Primary1
*Indiana Primary1
*Maryland Primary1
*Montana Primary1
*New Mexico Primary1
*Pennsylvania Primary1
*Rhode Island Primary1
*South Dakota Primary1
*Connecticut Primary
*District of Columbia Primary
*Delaware Primary
*Indiana Primary
*Maryland Primary
*Montana Primary
*New Mexico Primary
*Pennsylvania Primary
*Rhode Island Primary
*South Dakota Primary
Saturday 6 June 2020*Virgin Islands District Caucuses1 
Sunday 7 June 2020 *Puerto Rico Primary (presumably)
Tuesday 9 June 2020*West Virginia Primary1*West Virginia Primary
Thursday 11 June - Saturday 13 June 2020 *Illinois Convention
Saturday 20 June 2020*Louisiana Primary1*Louisiana Primary
Tuesday 23 June 2020*Kentucky Primary1
*New York Primary1
*New York Primary (cancelled - only 1 candidate)
Tuesday 7 July 2020*New Jersey Primary1*New Jersey Primary
 

* Major event or National Convention delegates allocated.
1 Democratic Party's "First Determining Step" of the delegate selection process.

 


  Election 2020 - Presidential Primary, Caucus, and Convention Home  
 
  Presidential Candidates  
 
  States Alphabetically  
  Events Chronologically  
  Major Events Chronologically  
  Poll Closing Times Chronologically   --   Poll Closing Times Alphabetically  
  Democratic "First Determining Step" Chronologically  
 
  Chronological Cumulative Allocation of Delegates  
  Weekly Delegate Distribution and Availability  
 
Delegate Counts
  Democratic Pledged and Unpledged Summary   --   Republican Pledged and Unpledged Summary  
  Democratic Hard and Soft Summary   --   Republican Hard and Soft Summary  
 
Delegate Allocation
  Democratic Quick Reference   --   Republican Quick Reference  
  The Math Behind the Democratic Delegate Allocation   --   The Math Behind the Republican Delegate Allocation  
  Democratic Timing Penalties and Bonuses  
 
  Democratic Delegate Pledging and Voter Eligibility   --   Republican Delegate Binding and Voter Eligibility  
 
  Primaries at a Glance  
 
  Results Status and Date Retreived  
....
  Estimating the Delegate Count  
....

 
Documentation
  Historical Analysis of the Presidential Nominating Process  
  Historical Analysis of the apportionment of delegate votes at the National Conventions of the two major parties  
  Primary/Caucus/Convention Glossary  
  Statutory Election Information of the Several states / Presidential Primary  
  Dates of PRESIDENTIAL PRIMARIES re: selection and/or allocation/distribution of Delegates to Major Party National Conventions  
 
  Major Third Party Presidential Nomination Process  
 
  Straw Polls  
 
  (download)