2020 Presidential Primaries,
Caucuses, and Conventions
Chronologically

Disclaimer:
These pages contain a combination of official, unofficial, and estimated data. The information posted here is subject to change.

Donkey and Elephant Democratic
Convention

Wednesday 26 June - Thursday 27 June 2019: 1st Democratic Primary Debate in Miami (NBC News, MSNBC, Telemundo)
Tuesday 30 July - Wednesday 31 July 2019: 2nd Democratic Primary Debate in Detroit (CNN)
Thursday 12 September 2019: 3rd Democratic Primary Debate in Houston (ABC News, Univision)
Tuesday 15 October 2019: 4th Democratic Primary Debate in Ohio (CNN, The New York Times)
Wednesday 20 November 2019: 5th Democratic Primary Debate
Thursday 19 December 2019: 6th Democratic Debate
Tuesday 14 January 2020: 7th Democratic Debate
Friday 7 February 2020: 8th Democratic Debate
Wednesday 19 February 2020: 9th Democratic Debate in Las Vegas
Tuesday 25 February 2020: 10th Democratic Debate in South Carolina
Friday 6 March 2020: Confirmation of Automatic delegates
Sunday 15 March 2020: 11th Democratic Primary Debate in Pheonix (CNN, Univision, Congressional Hispanic Caucus))
April 2020 (presumably): 12th Democratic Primary Debate
*Monday 17 August - Thursday 20 August 2020: 48th Democratic National Convention
Republican
Convention

*Monday 24 August - Tuesday 25 August 2020: 42nd Republican National Convention
Friday 6 September 2019 *Kansas National Convention Delegate Selection Plan
Wednesday 11 December 2019 *Hawaii Party announcement
Wednesday 1 January - Sunday 1 March 2020 North Dakota District Caucuses
Tuesday 7 January 2020Ohio District Delegates Slated 
Thursday 23 January - Monday 13 April 2020 Virginia Local Mass Meetings, Party Canvasses, Conventions (presumably)
Saturday 25 January 2020New Hampshire District Level Pre-primary Caucuses 
Friday 31 January - Saturday 1 February 2020 Kansas State Convention
February - March 2020 Wyoming Precinct Caucuses (presumably)
February 2020 North Carolina Precinct Conventions (presumably)
Saturday 1 February - Wednesday 18 March 2020 Hawaii Precinct Elections
Saturday 1 February 2020 Nevada Precinct Caucuses (presumably)
Monday 3 February 2020*Iowa Precinct Caucuses1*Iowa Precinct Caucuses
Saturday 8 February - Saturday 29 February 2020 Alaska Legislative District Conventions (presumably)
Saturday 8 February - Saturday 11 April 2020 Arizona County and Legislative District Meetings (presumably)
Tuesday 11 February 2020*New Hampshire Primary1*New Hampshire Primary
Thursday 13 February - Saturday 22 February 2020 Georgia Precinct Mass Meetings [in counties with populations over 80,000]
Saturday 15 February 2020Mississippi Precinct Meetings
North Carolina Precinct Meetings
 
Saturday 15 February - Saturday 28 March 2020 Nevada County Conventions
Saturday 22 February 2020*Nevada Precinct Viability Caucuses1*Nevada Alternative Presidential Preference Poll
Saturday 22 February - Saturday 21 March 2020 Oklahoma Precinct Meetings
Tuesday 25 February 2020Minnesota Precinct Caucuses 
Saturday 29 February 2020*South Carolina Primary1Washington Precinct Caucuses
March 2020 Hawaii Precinct Caucuses
Hawaii County Conventions
North Carolina County Conventions
Sunday 1 March - Saturday 4 April 2020 *Wyoming County Conventions (presumably)
Sunday 1 March - Friday 10 April 2020 Nebraska County Conventions
Tuesday 3 March 2020*Alabama Primary1
*Arkansas Primary1
*American Samoa Territorial Caucus1
*California Primary1
*Colorado Primary1
*Massachusetts Primary1
*Maine Primary1
*Minnesota Primary1
*North Carolina Primary1
*Oklahoma Primary1
*Tennessee Primary1
*Texas Primary1
*Utah Primary1
*Virginia Primary1
*Vermont Primary1
*Alabama Primary
*Arkansas Primary
*California Primary
*Colorado Primary
*Massachusetts Primary
*Maine Primary
*Minnesota Primary
*North Carolina Primary
*Oklahoma Primary
*Tennessee Primary
*Texas Primary
*Utah Primary
*Vermont Primary
Tuesday 3 March - Tuesday 10 March 2020*Democrats Abroad Global Party Run Primary1 
Wednesday 4 March 2020Hawaii Precinct Mettings 
Wednesday 4 March - Saturday 30 May 2020 Virginia District Conventions (presumably)
Saturday 7 March 2020Colorado Precinct Caucus
Tennessee County Conventions
Colorado Precinct Caucuses
Saturday 7 March - Saturday 28 March 2020 Minnesota BPOU Conventions
Saturday 7 March - Wednesday 1 April 2020Colorado County Assemblies/Conventions 
Saturday 7 March - Sunday 19 April 2020Minnesota Organizing Unit Conventions 
Sunday 8 March 2020Maine Municipal Caucuses 
Sunday 8 March - Wednesday 1 April 2020 Colorado County Assemblies
Monday 9 March - Friday 10 April 2020 Arkansas Special Meeting of the County Conventions
Tuesday 10 March 2020*Idaho Primary1
*Michigan Primary1
*Missouri Primary1
*Mississippi Primary1
*North Dakota Firehouse Caucuses1
*Washington Primary1
*Idaho Primary
*Michigan Primary
*Missouri Primary
*Mississippi Primary
*Washington Primary
Wednesday 11 March - Saturday 14 March 2020North Dakota Legislative District Conventions 
Thursday 12 March - Saturday 21 March 2020 Georgia County Conventions
Georgia Precinct Mass Meetings
Saturday 14 March 2020*Northern Marianas Convention1
Mississippi County Conventions
South Carolina Precinct Reorganization Meeting
South Dakota Regional / Legislative District Caucuses
*Guam Territorial Caucus
Iowa County Conventions
Saturday 14 March - Tuesday 31 March 2020South Carolina County Democratic Conventions 
Saturday 14 March - Friday 17 April 2020 Washington County Conventions / Legislative District Caucus
Sunday 15 March 2020 *Northern Marianas Commonwealth Convention (presumably)
Monday 16 March - Saturday 28 March 2020 Kentucky County Meetings
Tuesday 17 March 2020*Arizona Primary1
*Florida Primary1
*Illinois Primary1
*Florida Primary
*Illinois Primary
Wednesday 18 March 2020 *American Samoa Territorial Caucus
Thursday 19 March - Saturday 21 March 2020North Dakota State Convention 
Friday 20 March - Saturday 4 April 2020Utah County Conventions 
Saturday 21 March 2020Iowa County Conventions
South Dakota Congressional District Caucuses
Tennessee District Conventions
Texas Precinct/County/Senatorial District Conventions
Texas County and Senatorial District Conventions
Saturday 21 March - Saturday 4 April 2020 Oklahoma District Conventions
Tuesday 24 March 2020Utah Neighborhood Caucuses 
Tuesday 24 March - Saturday 13 June 2020 Florida Congressional District Caucuses and Executive Board Meeting
Thursday 26 March 2020 Michigan County Conventions
Friday 27 March - Sunday 29 March 2020 *North Dakota State Convention (cancelled -- issues addressed by mail ballots)
Friday 27 March 2020 Oklahoma County Conventions (presumably)
Saturday 28 March 2020North Carolina County Conventions 
Saturday 28 March - Saturday 4 April 2020 Kansas Congressional District Conventions
Sunday 29 March - Saturday 2 May 2020 Minnesota District Conventions
April 2020 North Carolina District Conventions (presumably)
South Carolina District Conventions (presumably)
Thursday 2 April - Saturday 4 April 2020 *Alaska State Convention
Thursday 2 April - Friday 17 April 2020Colorado District Assemblies/Conventions 
Saturday 4 April 2020Idaho County Caucus
North Dakota Select Committee on Delegates
Oklahoma State Convention
*Wyoming Presidential Preference County Caucuses (no in-person voting)1
Missouri Local Caucuses
Tennessee State Executive Committee
Saturday 4 April - Friday 17 April 2020 Colorado Congressional District Conventions
Saturday 4 April - Saturday 25 April 2020Mississippi Congressional District ConventionsKentucky District Conventions
Monday 6 April - Friday 17 April 2020 Vermont Town Caucuses
Tuesday 7 April 2020*Wisconsin Primary1*Wisconsin Primary
Thursday 9 April 2020Missouri Ward, Township, Legislative District, and County Mass Meetings 
Saturday 11 April 2020*Alaska Party-Run Primary1 
Saturday 11 April - Sunday 26 April 2020 Wisconsin District Caucuses
Tuesday 14 April - Saturday 16 May 2020Democrats Abroad Regional Conventions 
Thursday 16 April 2020Ohio Post Primary Caucus 
Saturday 18 April 2020Alaska Precinct / House District Caucuses
Arizona Congressional District Caucuses
Colorado State Assembly/Convention
Nevada County Conventions
Tennessee State Executive Committee
Colorado State Convention
Georgia District Conventions
Saturday 18 April - Monday 20 April 2020Virginia County and City Caucuses 
Monday 20 April - Sunday 26 April 2020 New Mexico Precinct Meetings
Tuesday 21 April 2020Vermont Town Caucuses 
Friday 24 April - Saturday 25 April 2020Utah State ConventionDelaware State Convention
Michigan Congressional District Caucuses / State Convention
Saturday 25 April 2020Iowa District Conventions
Massachusetts Congressional District Caucuses
North Carolina Congressional District Conventions
New Hampshire Caucus / National Convention Delegation Meeting
Iowa District Statutory Caucus
Mississippi Precinct Caucuses / County Presidential Conventions
Utah State Convention
Saturday 25 April - Thursday 21 May 2020District of Columbia Pre-primary Caucus 
Sunday 26 April 2020Washington Legislative District Caucuses
Wisconsin County Caucuses
 
Monday 27 April 2020Illinois National Convention delegation meeting 
Tuesday 28 April 2020*Ohio Primary1*Ohio Primary
Thursday 30 April 2020Missouri Congressional District Conventions 
Thursday 30 April - Saturday 2 May 2020 Maine District Caucuses / State Convention
Friday 1 May - Saturday 2 May 2020 Oklahoma State Convention
*Virginia State Convention
Saturday 2 May 2020Florida Congressional District Caucuses
*Kansas Party-Run Primary1
Arkansas Special District Convention
*South Carolina State Convention
Saturday 2 May - Sunday 10 May 2020 New Mexico County Conventions
Saturday 2 May - Saturday 16 May 2020Virginia Congressional District Conventions 
Saturday 2 May - Friday 29 May 2020Minnesota Congressional District Conventions 
Sunday 3 May 2020Washington County Conventions 
Thursday 7 May - Saturday 9 May 2020 *Wyoming State Convention
Saturday 9 May 2020Kansas Senate District Conventions
Missouri State Committee
Ohio State Executive Committee
*Arizona State Convention and Congressional District Caucus
Indiana Congressional District Caucuses
Kansas State Convention (presumably)
Monday 11 May 2020Rhode Island State Committee Convention 
Tuesday 12 May 2020*Nebraska Primary1*Nebraska Presidential Primary
Thursday 14 May - Saturday 16 May 2020 Washington State Convention
Thursday 14 May - Sunday 17 May 2020 North Carolina State Convention
Friday 15 May - Saturday 16 May 2020 Maryland Spring Convention
Minnesota State Convention
Friday 15 May - Sunday 17 May 2020 Nevada State Convention
Wisconsin State Convention
Saturday 16 May 2020Alaska State Party Convention
Arizona State Convention
Kansas District Conventions
Massachusetts State Committee and National Convention Delegate Meeting
Michigan District Conventions
Mississippi State Convention
Vermont State Convention
Saturday 16 May - Sunday 17 May 2020Democrats Abroad Global Convention 
Sunday 17 May 2020Wisconsin Congressional District Caucuses 
Sunday 17 May - Sunday 31 May 2020Nebraska County Conventions 
Monday 18 May 2020Louisiana Post Primary Congressional Caucus 
Tuesday 19 May 2020*Oregon Primary1Idaho Precinct Conventions
*Oregon Primary
Wednesday 20 May 2020 Indiana State Committee Meeting
Friday 22 May - Saturday 30 May 2020 Idaho County and Re-organization Conventions
Saturday 23 May 2020Georgia Congressional District Caucuses
*Hawaii Party-run Presidential Preference Poll (firehouse primary)1
 
Saturday 23 May - Sunday 24 May 2020Hawaii State Convention 
Tuesday 26 May 2020 Connecticut State Committee Meeting
Wednesday 27 May - Thursday 28 May 2020 New York State Committee (presumably)
Wednesday 27 May - Friday 12 June 2020Oregon Congressional District Conventions (vote by mail)
Oregon State Convention (vpte by mail)
 
Friday 29 May - Saturday 30 May 2020 Georgia State Convention
Pennsylvania Summer Meeting
Saturday 30 May 2020Arkansas Congressional District Caucus and State Conventions
Florida State Convention
Kentucky County/Legislative Conventions
Maryland State Party Committee Meeting
Maine State Convention.
Mississippi State Convention
Nevada State Convention
South Carolina State Convention
Vermont State Convention
Washington Congressional District Caucuses
Arkansas State Committee Meeting
Missouri Congressional District Conventions
*Virgin Islands Territorial Caucus
Sunday 31 May 2020Minnesota State Convention 
Tuesday 2 June 2020*District of Columbia Primary1
*Indiana Primary1
*Maryland Primary1
*Montana Primary1
*New Mexico Primary1
*Pennsylvania Primary1
*Rhode Island Primary1
*South Dakota Primary1
*District of Columbia Primary
*Indiana Primary
*Maryland Primary
*Montana Primary
*New Mexico Primary
*Pennsylvania Primary
*Rhode Island Primary
*South Dakota Primary
Thursday 4 June 2020District of Columbia State Party Committee selects Pledged PLEO Delegates
Montana County Caucuses
 
Thursday 4 June - Saturday 6 June 2020Texas State Convention 
Friday 5 June 2020 *Puerto Rico Caucus
Friday 5 June - Saturday 6 June 2020 Nebraska State Convention
Saturday 6 June 2020Alabama State Democratic Executive Committee Meeting
*Guam Caucus1
Idaho State Convention
Kansas State Convention
Kentucky State Executive Meeting
Montana State Convention
North Carolina State Convention
*Virgin Islands District Caucuses1
Wyoming State Convention
Kentucky State Convention
Louisiana Congressional Caucuses
Sunday 7 June 2020California Post-primary Caucus 
Tuesday 9 June 2020District of Columbia State Party Committee selects Distrtict Delegates
*Georgia Primary1
*West Virginia Primary1
*Georgia Primary
*West Virginia Primary
Thursday 11 June 2020District of Columbia State Party Committee selects At-Large Delegates 
Thursday 11 June - Saturday 13 June 2020 Illinois Convention
Montana State Convention
Friday 12 June 2020Wisconsin Administrative Committee Meeting and State Convention 
Saturday 13 June 2020Iowa State Convention
Michigan State Central Committee
New Jersey Democratic State Committee / State Convention
New Mexico District Conventions
Vermont National Convention Delegate Meeting
West Virginia State Convention & Executive Committee
Iowa State Convention
Louisiana State Convention
New Mexico State Republican Convention
Saturday 13 June - Sunday 14 June 2020Nebraska State Convention
Washington State Convention
 
Saturday 13 June - Wednesday 17 June 2020Indiana State Convention 
Monday 15 June 2020Rhode Island National Convention delegation meeting 
Thursday 18 June - Saturday 20 June 2020 South Dakota State Convention
Friday 19 June - Saturday 20 June 2020New Mexico State Post-Primary Convention 
Saturday 20 June 2020Georgia State Committee Meeting
Georgia Quorum of District Delegates Elect PLEO Delegates
Missouri State Convention
South Dakota State Convention / State Party Central Committee
Virginia State Convention
Missouri State Convention
Oregon District and State Conventions
Tuesday 23 June 2020*Kentucky Primary (results delayed until 30 June)1
*New York Primary1
*Kentucky Primary (results delayed until 30 June)
*New York Primary (cancelled - only 1 candidate)
Thursday 25 June - Saturday 27 June 2020 Idaho State Convention
Saturday 27 June 2020 Wyoming Wyoming Republican Party State Convention
Sunday 28 June 2020California Delegation Meeting/State Convention 
Tuesday 30 June 2020Connecticut Pre-primary Virtual Congressional District Caucuses 
July 2020Unassigned To be determined (presumably) 
Tuesday 7 July 2020*Delaware Primary1
*New Jersey Primary1
*Delaware Primary
*New Jersey Primary
Wednesday 8 July 2020Connecticut The State Party Committee 
Thursday 9 July - Thursday 16 July 2020Delaware Delegate Selection Caucus (presumably) 
Saturday 11 July 2020*Louisiana Primary1*Louisiana Primary
Sunday 12 July 2020*Puerto Rico Primary1 
Monday 13 July - Saturday 18 July 2020 Texas State Convention
Saturday 18 July 2020New Jersey Special post-Primary State Convention
Pennsylvania State Convention (presumably)
 
Saturday 25 July 2020Louisiana State Central Committee (presumably)Hawaii State Convention
Sunday 26 July 2020Puerto Rico State Convention 
Tuesday 4 August 2020New York State Committee 
Tuesday 11 August 2020*Connecticut Primary1*Connecticut Primary
 

* Major event or National Convention delegates allocated.
1 Democratic Party's "First Determining Step" of the delegate selection process.

 


  Election 2020 - Presidential Primary, Caucus, and Convention Home  
 
  Presidential Candidates  
 
  States Alphabetically  
  Events Chronologically  
  Major Events Chronologically  
  Poll Closing Times Chronologically   --   Poll Closing Times Alphabetically  
  Democratic "First Determining Step" Chronologically  
 
  Chronological Cumulative Allocation of Delegates  
  Weekly Delegate Distribution and Availability  
 
Delegate Counts
  Democratic Pledged and Unpledged Summary   --   Republican Pledged and Unpledged Summary  
  Democratic Hard and Soft Summary   --   Republican Hard and Soft Summary  
  Democratic Hard and Floor Summary   --   Republican Hard and Floor Summary  
 
Delegate Allocation
  Democratic Quick Reference   --   Republican Quick Reference  
  The Math Behind the Democratic Delegate Allocation   --   The Math Behind the Republican Delegate Allocation  
  Democratic Timing Penalties and Bonuses  
 
  Democratic Delegate Pledging and Voter Eligibility   --   Republican Delegate Binding and Voter Eligibility  
 
  Primaries at a Glance  
 
  Results Status and Date Retreived  
....
  Estimating the Delegate Count  
....

 
Documentation
  Historical Analysis of the Presidential Nominating Process  
  Historical Analysis of the apportionment of delegate votes at the National Conventions of the two major parties  
  Primary/Caucus/Convention Glossary  
  Statutory Election Information of the Several states / Presidential Primary  
  Dates of PRESIDENTIAL PRIMARIES re: selection and/or allocation/distribution of Delegates to Major Party National Conventions  
 
  Major Third Party Presidential Nomination Process  
 
  Straw Polls  
 
  (download)