2020 Presidential Primaries,
Caucuses, and Conventions
Chronologically

Disclaimer:
These pages contain a combination of official, unofficial, and estimated data. The information posted here is subject to change.

The delegate selection processes herein, along with any and all dates and delegate counts associated therewith, are unofficial and based on either (1) information obtained from either Major Party, (2) Presidential Primary dates established by currently-effective State statute, or- where the foregoing information could not be obtained- (3) the state's 2016 delegate selection process and associated dates adjusted to the corresponding dates in 2020.

Democrats

  • Democratic Bonus Delegates and penalties are preliminary.

Republicans

  • Republican delegate counts are based on the number of Republicans elected to the State Legislatures, Governors chairs, U.S. House seats, and U.S. Senators seats through 31 December 2019. Republican unpledged delegate counts are determined by state (or equivalent) party rules. We have assumed that the policies of 2016 will apply in 2020.
  • The Republican district delegate count is based on the number of U.S. House members each state will elect in 2020.
  • Republican penalties for violating the timing window are not included in these delegate tallies.

Donkey and Elephant Democratic
Convention

Wednesday 26 June - Thursday 27 June 2019: 1st Democratic Primary Debate in Miami (NBC News, MSNBC, Telemundo)
Tuesday 30 July - Wednesday 31 July 2019: 2nd Democratic Primary Debate in Detroit (CNN)
Thursday 12 September 2019: 3rd Democratic Primary Debate in Houston (ABC News, Univision)
Tuesday 15 October 2019: 4th Democratic Primary Debate in Ohio (CNN, The New York Times)
Wednesday 20 November 2019: 5th Democratic Primary Debate
Friday 6 March 2020: Confirmation of Automatic delegates
*Monday 13 July - Thursday 16 July 2020: 48th Democratic National Convention
Republican
Convention

*Monday 24 August - Thursday 27 August 2020: 42nd Republican National Convention
Wednesday 1 January - Sunday 1 March 2020 North Dakota District Caucuses
Tuesday 7 January 2020Ohio District Delegates Slated 
Saturday 25 January 2020New Hampshire District Level Pre-primary Caucuses 
February 2020 North Carolina Precinct Conventions (presumably)
*Nevada Alternative Presidential Preference Poll (presumably)
Saturday 1 February - Monday 13 April 2020 Virginia Local Mass Meetings, Party Canvasses, Conventions (presumably)
Monday 3 February 2020*Iowa Satellite and Precinct Caucuses1*Iowa Precinct Caucuses
Tuesday 11 February 2020*New Hampshire Primary1*New Hampshire Primary (presumably)
Oklahoma Precinct Meetings (presumably)
Thursday 13 February - Saturday 22 February 2020 Georgia Precinct Mass Meetings [in counties with populations over 80,000] (presumably)
Saturday 15 February 2020Mississippi Precinct Meetings
North Carolina Precinct Meetings
South Carolina Primary (cancelled 7 September 2019) (cancelled) (presumably)
Tuesday 18 February - Tuesday 3 March 2020 Wyoming Precinct Caucuses (presumably)
Saturday 22 February 2020*Nevada Precinct Viability Caucuses1 
Tuesday 25 February 2020Minnesota Precinct CaucusesMinnesota Precinct Caucuses (presumably)
Nevada Precinct Caucuses (presumably)
Saturday 29 February 2020*South Carolina Primary1Washington Precinct Caucuses
March 2020 North Carolina County Conventions (presumably)
South Carolina County Conventions (presumably)
Tuesday 3 March 2020*Alabama Primary1
*Arkansas Primary1
*American Samoa Territorial Caucus1
*California Primary1
*Colorado Primary1
*Massachusetts Primary1
*Maine Primary1
*Minnesota Primary1
*North Carolina Primary1
*Oklahoma Primary1
*Tennessee Primary1
*Texas Primary1
*Utah Primary1
*Virginia Primary1
*Vermont Primary1
*Alabama Primary
*Arkansas Primary
*California Primary
*Colorado Primary
*Massachusetts Primary
*Minnesota Primary
*Oklahoma Primary
*Tennessee Primary
Virginia Primary (cancelled)
*Alaska District Conventions (presumably)
Louisiana District Caucuses (presumably)
*Maine Primary (presumably)
*North Carolina Primary (presumably)
*Texas Primary (presumably)
*Utah Primary (presumably)
*Vermont Primary (presumably)
Tuesday 3 March - Tuesday 10 March 2020*Democrats Abroad Global Party Run Primary1 
Tuesday 3 March - Thursday 12 March 2020 South Dakota County/Regional/State National Delegate Selection Meetings (presumably)
Tuesday 3 March - Tuesday 31 March 2020 Alaska Legislative District Conventions (presumably)
Wednesday 4 March 2020Hawaii Precinct Mettings 
Wednesday 4 March - Saturday 16 May 2020 Virginia District Conventions (presumably)
Friday 6 March - Tuesday 31 March 2020 Kentucky County Meetings (presumably)
Saturday 7 March 2020Colorado Precinct Caucus
Tennessee County Conventions
Colorado Precinct Caucuses
Saturday 7 March - Wednesday 1 April 2020Colorado County Assemblies/Conventions 
Saturday 7 March - Sunday 19 April 2020Minnesota Organizing Unit Conventions 
Sunday 8 March 2020Maine Municipal Caucuses*Puerto Rico Primary (presumably)
Sunday 8 March - Wednesday 1 April 2020 Colorado County Assemblies
Monday 9 March - Friday 10 April 2020 Arkansas Special Meeting of the County Conventions
Tuesday 10 March 2020*Idaho Primary1
*Michigan Primary1
*Missouri Primary1
*Mississippi Primary1
*North Dakota Firehouse Caucuses (party run primary)1
*Washington Primary1
*Michigan Primary
*Missouri Primary
*Mississippi Primary
*Washington Primary
*Hawaii Precinct Caucuses (presumably)
*Idaho Primary (presumably)
Wednesday 11 March - Saturday 14 March 2020North Dakota Legislative District Conventions 
Thursday 12 March - Saturday 21 March 2020 Georgia Precinct Mass Meetings (presumably)
Thursday 12 March 2020 *Virgin Islands Territorial Caucus (presumably)
Saturday 14 March 2020*Northern Marianas Convention1
Mississippi County Conventions
South Carolina Precinct Reorganization Meeting
South Dakota Regional / Legislative District Caucuses
Iowa County Conventions
*Guam Territorial Caucus (presumably)
Louisiana State Convention (presumably)
Oklahoma County Conventions (presumably)
*Wyoming County Conventions (presumably)
Saturday 14 March - Saturday 4 April 2020 Nevada County Conventions (presumably)
Saturday 14 March - Monday 13 April 2020 Minnesota BPOU Conventions (presumably)
Saturday 14 March - Saturday 18 April 2020 Washington County Conventions / Legislative District Caucus
Tuesday 17 March 2020*Arizona Primary1
*Florida Primary1
*Illinois Primary1
*Ohio Primary1
*Arizona Primary
*Florida Primary
*Ohio Primary
*Illinois Primary (presumably)
*Northern Marianas Commonwealth Convention (presumably)
Thursday 19 March - Saturday 21 March 2020North Dakota State Convention 
Friday 20 March - Saturday 4 April 2020Utah County Conventions 
Friday 20 March - Monday 27 April 2020Utah Neighborhood Caucuses 
Saturday 21 March 2020Iowa County Conventions
South Dakota Congressional District Caucuses
Tennessee District Conventions
Texas Precinct/County/Senatorial District Conventions
Georgia County Conventions (presumably)
*Kentucky Presidential Caucuses (presumably)
South Dakota State National Delegate Selection meeting (presumably)
Texas County and Senatorial District Conventions (presumably)
Tuesday 24 March 2020*Georgia Primary1*Georgia Primary
*American Samoa Territorial Caucus (presumably)
Tuesday 24 March - Saturday 11 April 2020 *Kansas Congressional District Conventions (presumably)
Tuesday 24 March - Friday 5 June 2020 Florida Congressional District Caucuses and Executive Board Meeting (presumably)
Wednesday 25 March - Tuesday 7 April 2020South Carolina County Democratic Conventions 
Thursday 26 March 2020 Michigan County Conventions
Friday 27 March - Sunday 29 March 2020 *North Dakota State Convention
Saturday 28 March 2020North Carolina County Conventions 
Saturday 28 March - Saturday 11 April 2020 Arizona County and Legislative District Meetings (presumably)
Sunday 29 March 2020*Puerto Rico Primary1 
April 2020 North Carolina District Conventions (presumably)
New Mexico Precinct Meetings (presumably)
South Carolina District Conventions (presumably)
Vermont Town Caucuses (presumably)
Thursday 2 April - Friday 17 April 2020Colorado District Assemblies/Conventions 
Friday 3 April - Sunday 12 April 2020 Nebraska County Conventions (presumably)
Friday 3 April - Tuesday 19 May 2020 Kentucky District Conventions (presumably)
Saturday 4 April 2020*Alaska Party-Run Primary1
Alabama State Democratic Executive Committee Meeting
*Hawaii Party-run Presidential Preference Poll (firehouse primary)1
Idaho County Caucus
*Louisiana Primary1
North Dakota Select Committee on Delegates
Oklahoma State Convention
*Wyoming County Caucuses/Conventions1
Missouri Local Caucuses
*Louisiana Primary (presumably)
Tennessee State Executive Committee (presumably)
Saturday 4 April - Friday 17 April 2020 Colorado Congressional District Conventions
Saturday 4 April - Saturday 25 April 2020Mississippi Congressional District Conventions 
Tuesday 7 April 2020Vermont Town Caucuses
*Wisconsin Primary1
*Wisconsin Primary
Wednesday 8 April - Sunday 19 April 2020 Wisconsin District Caucuses (presumably)
Wednesday 8 April 2020 Indiana State Committee Meeting (presumably)
Thursday 9 April 2020Missouri Ward, Township, Legislative District, and County Mass Meetings 
Saturday 11 April 2020Georgia Congressional District CaucusesIndiana Congressional District Caucuses (presumably)
Saturday 11 April - Saturday 25 April 2020 New Mexico County Conventions (presumably)
Tuesday 14 April - Saturday 16 May 2020Democrats Abroad Regional Conventions 
Thursday 16 April 2020Ohio Post Primary Caucus 
Friday 17 April - Saturday 18 April 2020Utah State Convention 
Saturday 18 April 2020Alaska Precinct / House District Caucuses
Arizona Congressional District Caucuses
Colorado State Assembly/Convention
Nevada County Conventions
Tennessee State Executive Committee
Colorado State Convention
Georgia District Conventions (presumably)
Oklahoma District Conventions (presumably)
Saturday 18 April - Monday 20 April 2020Virginia County and City Caucuses 
Sunday 19 April 2020California Post-primary Caucus 
Thursday 23 April - Saturday 25 April 2020 Alaska State Convention (presumably)
Friday 24 April - Saturday 25 April 2020 Michigan Congressional District Caucuses / State Convention
Delaware State Convention (presumably)
Friday 24 April - Saturday 9 May 2020 Minnesota District Conventions (presumably)
Saturday 25 April 2020Georgia Quorum of District Delegates Elect PLEO Delegates
Iowa District Conventions
Massachusetts Congressional District Caucuses
North Carolina Congressional District Conventions
New Hampshire Caucus / National Convention Delegation Meeting
Iowa District Statutory Caucus
Arizona State Convention and Congressional District Caucus (presumably)
Mississippi Precinct Caucuses / County Presidential Conventions (presumably)
Utah State Convention (presumably)
*Virginia State Convention (presumably)
Sunday 26 April 2020Washington Legislative District Caucuses
Wisconsin County Caucuses
 
Monday 27 April 2020Illinois National Convention delegation meeting 
Tuesday 28 April 2020*Connecticut Primary1
*Delaware Primary1
*Maryland Primary1
*New York Primary1
*Pennsylvania Primary1
*Rhode Island Primary1
*Connecticut Primary
*Maryland Primary
*New York Primary
*Delaware Primary (presumably)
*Pennsylvania Primary (presumably)
*Rhode Island Primary (presumably)
Thursday 30 April 2020Louisiana Post Primary Congressional Caucus
Missouri Congressional District Conventions
 
Thursday 30 April - Saturday 2 May 2020 Maine District Caucuses / State Convention
May 2020New York State Committee (presumably) 
Saturday 2 May 2020Florida Congressional District Caucuses
*Guam Caucus1
*Kansas Party-Run Primary1
Arkansas Special District Convention
South Carolina State Convention (presumably)
Saturday 2 May - Saturday 16 May 2020Virginia Congressional District Conventions 
Saturday 2 May - Friday 29 May 2020Minnesota Congressional District Conventions 
Sunday 3 May 2020Washington County Conventions 
Tuesday 5 May 2020*Indiana Primary1*Indiana Primary (presumably)
Thursday 7 May - Saturday 9 May 2020 *Wyoming State Convention
Thursday 7 May - Sunday 10 May 2020 North Carolina State Convention (presumably)
Friday 8 May - Saturday 9 May 2020 Mississippi State Convention (presumably)
Oklahoma State Convention (presumably)
Friday 8 May - Sunday 10 May 2020 Nevada State Convention (presumably)
Saturday 9 May 2020California Supplemental District-level Selection Caucuses
District of Columbia Pre-primary Caucus
Delaware Delegate Selection Caucus
Kansas Senate District Conventions
Louisiana State Central Committee
Missouri State Committee
Ohio State Executive Committee
Kansas State Convention (presumably)
Maryland Spring Convention (presumably)
Montana State Convention (presumably)
Wisconsin State Convention (presumably)
Tuesday 12 May 2020*Nebraska Primary1
*West Virginia Primary1
*West Virginia Primary
*Nebraska Presidential Primary (presumably)
Thursday 14 May - Saturday 16 May 2020 Washington State Convention
Texas State Convention (presumably)
Friday 15 May - Saturday 16 May 2020 Minnesota State Convention
Friday 15 May - Sunday 17 May 2020 *Illinois Convention (presumably)
Friday 15 May 2020 Connecticut State Committee Meeting (presumably)
Saturday 16 May 2020*Alaska State Party Convention
Arizona State Convention
Georgia State Committee Meeting
Kansas District Conventions
Massachusetts State Committee and National Convention Delegate Meeting
Michigan District Conventions
Nebraska State Convention (presumably)
New Mexico State Republican Convention (presumably)
*Pennsylvania Summer Meeting (presumably)
Vermont State Convention (presumably)
Saturday 16 May - Sunday 17 May 2020Democrats Abroad Global Convention 
Sunday 17 May 2020California Delegation Meeting/State Convention
Rhode Island State Democratic Committee
Wisconsin Congressional District Caucuses
 
Tuesday 19 May 2020*Kentucky Primary1
*Oregon Primary1
*Oregon Primary
Idaho Precinct Conventions (presumably)
Wednesday 20 May 2020 Kentucky State Convention (presumably)
Thursday 21 May - Sunday 31 May 2020Nebraska County Conventions 
Friday 22 May - Saturday 30 May 2020 Idaho County Conventions (presumably)
Saturday 23 May 2020Kentucky County/Legislative Conventions
Maryland State Party Committee Meeting
Mississippi State Convention
 
Saturday 23 May - Sunday 24 May 2020Hawaii State Convention 
Wednesday 27 May 2020Connecticut Post Primary Congressional District Caucuses 
Wednesday 27 May - Thursday 28 May 2020 New York State Committee (presumably)
Saturday 30 May 2020Arkansas Congressional District Caucus and State Conventions
Florida State Convention
*Maine State Convention.
Nevada State Convention
South Carolina State Convention
Vermont State Convention
Washington Congressional District Caucuses
Arkansas State Committee Meeting
Missouri Congressional District Conventions
Sunday 31 May 2020Minnesota State Convention
Puerto Rico State Convention
 
Tuesday 2 June 2020*District of Columbia Primary1
*Montana Primary1
*New Jersey Primary1
*New Mexico Primary1
*South Dakota Primary1
*District of Columbia Primary
*Montana Primary (presumably)
*New Jersey Primary (presumably)
*New Mexico Primary (presumably)
*South Dakota Primary (presumably)
Thursday 4 June 2020Montana County Caucuses 
Friday 5 June - Saturday 6 June 2020 Georgia State Convention (presumably)
Saturday 6 June 2020Idaho State Convention
Kansas State Convention
Kentucky District and State Conventions
Montana State Convention
North Carolina State Convention
Rhode Island National Convention delegation meeting
*Virgin Islands District Caucuses1
Wyoming State Convention
Oregon District and State Conventions (presumably)
Saturday 6 June - Sunday 7 June 2020Oregon Congressional District Conventions 
Tuesday 9 June 2020District of Columbia State Party Committee 
Wednesday 10 June 2020Connecticut The State Party Committee
New Jersey Special post-Primary State Convention
 
Friday 12 June 2020Wisconsin Administrative Committee Meeting and State Convention 
Friday 12 June - Saturday 13 June 2020West Virginia State Convention & Executive Committee 
Friday 12 June - Sunday 14 June 2020Nebraska State Convention 
Saturday 13 June 2020Iowa State Convention
Indiana State Convention
Michigan State Central Committee
New Jersey Democratic State Committee / State Convention
New Mexico District Conventions
Pennsylvania State Convention
Virginia State Convention
Vermont National Convention Delegate Meeting
Iowa State Convention
Sunday 14 June 2020Washington State Convention 
Thursday 18 June - Saturday 20 June 2020Texas State Convention (presumably)Idaho State Convention (presumably)
Saturday 20 June 2020Missouri State Convention
New Mexico State Post-Primary Convention
Oregon State Convention
South Dakota State Convention / State Party Central Committee
Missouri State Convention
Friday 26 June - Saturday 27 June 2020 South Dakota State Convention (presumably)
July 2020Unassigned To be determined (presumably) 
 

* Major event or National Convention delegates allocated.
1 Democratic Party's "First Determining Step" of the delegate selection process.

 


  Election 2020 - Presidential Primary, Caucus, and Convention Home  
 
  Presidential Candidates  
 
  States Alphabetically  
  Events Chronologically  
  Major Events Chronologically  
  Poll Closing Times Chronologically   --   Poll Closing Times Alphabetically  
  Democratic "First Determining Step" Chronologically  
 
  Chronological Cumulative Allocation of Delegates  
  Weekly Delegate Distribution and Availability  
 
Delegate Counts
  Democratic Hard and Soft Summary   --   Republican Hard and Soft Summary  
 
Delegate Allocation
  Democratic Quick Reference   --   Republican Quick Reference  
  The Math Behind the Democratic Delegate Allocation   --   The Math Behind the Republican Delegate Allocation  
  Democratic Timing Penalties and Bonuses  
 
  Democratic Delegate Pledging and Voter Eligibility   --   Republican Delegate Binding and Voter Eligibility  
 
  Primaries at a Glance  
 
  Results Status and Date Retreived  
 
Documentation
  Historical Analysis of the Presidential Nominating Process  
  Historical Analysis of the apportionment of delegate votes at the National Conventions of the two major parties  
  Primary/Caucus/Convention Glossary  
  Statutory Election Information of the Several states / Presidential Primary  
  Dates of PRESIDENTIAL PRIMARIES re: selection and/or allocation/distribution of Delegates to Major Party National Conventions  
 
  Straw Polls  
 
  (download)