The Green Papers
2012 Presidential Primaries, Caucuses, and Conventions
Copyright Nebraska Republican
Presidential Nominating Process
Non-binding Primary: Tuesday 15 May 2012
County Conventions: Friday 1 June - Sunday 10 June 2012
State Convention: Saturday 14 July 2012
Delegate Votes
Hard TotalFloor Vote
Romney, Willard "Mitt"129,545  70.87%30  85.71%33  94.29%
Santorum, Richard J. "Rick"25,534  13.97%  
Paul, Ronald E. "Ron"18,194   9.95%2   5.71% 
Gingrich, Newton Leroy "Newt"9,519   5.21%  
Uncommitted 3   8.57% 
Not Announced  2   5.71%
Total182,792 100.00%35 100.00%35 100.00%

States Chronologically   States Alphabetically     Republican Convention     Nebraska Democrat    
Nebraska Primaries for Statewide offices and Congress
Nebraska State and Local Government


The delegate selection processes herein were last updated 15 May 2012.

THE REPUBLICAN PARTY OF NEBRASKA - As adopted on 7/31/2010 in Fremont, Nebraska

15 May 2012 Primary results from an official source.


Tuesday 15 May 2012: Nebraska's National Convention delegates are not bound by the results of today's Presidential Preference Primary.

Tuesday 15 May 2012 Primary

Friday 1 June - Sunday 10 June 2012: County Conventions elect delegates to the State Convention.

  • There is no formal system applied at the County Conventions to relate the presidential preference of the County delegates to the election of delegates to the State Convention. The delegates in attendance at each Convention alone determine if presidential preference is to be a factor and, if so, how it is to be applied.


  • 1 June
    • Franklin County
    • McPherson County
    • Wayne County
  • 2 June
    • Cass County
    • Otoe County
    • Sarpy County
    • Saunders County
    • Nemaha County
    • Scotts Bluff County
  • 4 June
    • Buffalo County
    • Butler County
    • Harlan County
    • Holt County
    • Kearney County
    • Keith County
    • Phelps County
    • Pierce County
    • Richardson County
    • Washington County
    • Webster County
    • York County
  • 5 June
    • Adams County
    • Box Butte County
    • Cedar County
    • Cuming County
    • Fillmore County
    • Furnas County
    • Johnson County
    • Lincoln County
    • Pawnee County
    • Perkins County
    • Red Willow County
    • Saline County
    • Sheridan County
    • Thayer County
    • Wheeler County
  • 6 June
    • Antelope County
    • Dodge County
    • Frontier County
    • Hitchcock County
    • Kimball County
    • Merrick County
    • Morrill County
    • Platte County
  • 7 June
    • Custer County
    • Dakota County
    • Dawes County
    • Garden County
    • Hall County
    • Jefferson County
    • Knox County
    • Lancaster County
    • Madison County
    • Sherman County
    • Thurston County
    • Valley County
  • 8 June
    • Cherry County
  • 9 June
    • Cheyenne County
    • Douglas County
    • Stanton County
  • 10 June
    • Clay County

Saturday 14 July 2012: The Nebraska State Republican Convention convenes. Congressional District Caucuses made up of the State Convention delegates from each of Nebraska's 3 congressional districts choose the 9 district National Convention delegates (3 per congressional district). The State Convention as a whole selects 23 (10 base at-large plus 13 bonus) at-large delegates to the Republican National Convention.

  • Prospective delegates must indicate their Presidential Preference and are bound to vote for that candidate for the first 2 ballots at the National Convention.

In addition, 3 party leaders, the National Committeeman, the National Committeewoman, and the chairman of Nebraska's Republican Party, will attend the convention as unpledged delegates by virtue of their position. [In each year when a President of the United States is to be elected, the State Convention shall elect a National Committeeman and a National Committeewoman to take office at the close of the succeeding National Convention. - NEBRASKA REPUBLICAN PARTY CONSTITUTION, Article IV Section 1, As adopted on 07/31/2010]

Reference: CONSTITUTION THE REPUBLICAN PARTY OF NEBRASKA as amended 7/31/2010, Section 3.

14 July 2012: Reports indicate 2 Paul delegates and 7 Romney delegates were elected at the district level. 23 Romney delegates were elected at-large. Romney Reference:

The National committeeman and National committeewoman are unbound but appear to support Romney.

  • CD 1
    • Robert Evnen (Romney)
    • Tim O'Dell (Romney)
    • Darlene Starman (Romney)
  • CD 2
    • Hal Daub (Romney)
    • John Tucker (Paul)
    • Mary Jane Trunker (Paul)
  • CD 3
    • Paul Burger (Romney)
    • Joyce Simmons (Romney)
    • Bob Tiemann (Romney)
  • At Large
    • James Brown (Romney)
    • Brian Bucher (Romney)
    • Jon Camp (Romney)
    • Carlos Castillo (Romney)
    • Pat Dowart (Romney)
    • Tony Fulton (Romney)
    • Judy Glasburger (Romney)
    • Dee Dee Kelly (Romney)
    • Nancy McCaber (Romney)
    • Andre Miek (Romney)
    • John Muranic (Romney)
    • Kim O'Dell (Romney)
    • Cash Ostrander (Romney)
    • Peggy Popps (Romney)
    • Ron Romans (Romney)
    • Craig Salranek (Romney)
    • Jill Stannon (Romney)
    • John Sieder (Romney)
    • Neal Smith (Romney)
    • JIll Spray (Romney)
    • Boona Wanck (Romney)
    • Faith White (Romney)
    • Kathy Willmont (Romney)
  • National Committeewoman
    • Joyce Simmons (Romney)
  • National Committeeman
    • Dave Kramer (Romney)

Links Links to other web sites

Constitution   Links to State Constitutions
  Nebraska Constitution
Election Authority
  Nebraska Secretary of State
  Nebraska Secretary of State - Election Administration
Legislature   Links to State Legislatures
  Nebraska Revised Statutes
  Nebraska Unicameral Legislature
  Nebraska Republican Party
Media & others
  Alliance Times-Herald
  Columbus Telegram
  Fremont Tribune
  Grand Island Independent
  Kearney Hub
  KETV - ABC - Omaha
  KMTV - CBS - Omaha
  Lexington Clipper-Herald
  Lincoln Journal Star
  McCook Daily Gazette
  Norfolk Daily News
  North Platte Telegraph
  Omaha World-Herald - Nebraska
  The Beatrice Daily Sun


  Election 2012 - Presidential Primary, Caucus, and Convention Home  
  Presidential Candidates  
Rule Making and Process
  30 December 2009 - Democratic Change Commission's Recommendations for the 2012 Presidential Nominating Process  
  20 August 2010 - Democratic National Committee approves 2012 Call To Convention and Delegate Selection Rules  
  6 August 2010 - Republican Temporary Delegate Selection Committee's Recommendations for the 2012 Presidential Nominating Process  
  States Alphabetically  
  Events Chronologically  
  Major Events Chronologically  
  Democratic "First Determining Step" Chronologically  
  Chronological Cumulative Allocation of Delegates  
  Weekly Delegate Distribution and Availability  
  Democratic Pledged and Unpledged Summary   --   Republican Pledged and Unpledged Summary  
  Democratic Hard and Floor Summary   --   Republican Hard and Floor Summary  
Delegate Allocation
  Democratic Quick Reference   --   Republican Quick Reference  
  Democratic Detailed Delegate Allocation   --   Republican Detailed Delegate Allocation  
  Democratic Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility   --   Republican Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility  
  Primaries at a Glance  
  Historical Analysis of the Presidential Nominating Process  
  Historical Analysis of the apportionment of delegate votes at the National Conventions of the two major parties  
  Primary/Caucus/Convention Glossary  
  Statutory Election Information of the Several states / Presidential Primary  
  Dates of PRESIDENTIAL PRIMARIES re: selection and/or allocation/distribution of Delegates to Major Party National Conventions  
  Major Third Party (Constitution, Green, Libertarian) Presidential Nomination Process  
  Straw Polls