The Green Papers
2004 Presidential Primaries, Caucuses, and Conventions
Copyright West Virginia Democrat
Presidential Nominating Process
Primary: Tuesday 11 May 20041
State Democratic Executive Committee: Saturday 19 June 2004
Delegate Votes
Hard TotalFloor Vote
Kerry, John F.175,065   69.2%28.   71.8%39.  100.0%
Edwards, John33,950   13.4%  
Lieberman, Joe13,881    5.5%  
Dean, Howard10,576    4.2%  
Clark, Wesley K.9,170    3.6%  
Kucinich, Dennis J.6,114    2.4%  
LaRouche, Lyndon H., Jr.4,083    1.6%  
Uncommitted 11.   28.2% 
Total252,839  100.0%39.  100.0%39.  100.0%

States Chronologically   States Alphabetically     Democratic Convention     West Virginia Republican    
West Virginia Primaries for Statewide offices and Congress


26 May 2004 Unpledged delegate preference update: Kerry: 1. Unpledged delegates appear in the "Soft Unpledged" column.

The Popular Vote above is based on official returns from the 11 May Primary. This Presidential Primary coincides with a state/local primary. These coinciding primaries tend to have an impact upon voter turnout.

WEST VIRGINIA Primary Returns from an official source

Here's how we compute the delegate count:

  1. A candidate must receive 15% or more of the total popular vote to qualify for delegates. Discard votes cast for those candidates who do not meet the threshold.
  2. Allocate Congressional District delegates from the qualified vote in each district. Allocate Pledged PLEO and At-Large delegates using the state-wide qualified vote.
  3. In each jurisdiction (CD and statewide):
    1. Total qualified vote = total votes cast for the qualifying candidates in the jurisdiction.
    2. Allocation = (delegates for the jurisdiction) (candidate's popular vote) (total qualified vote).
    3. Assign each candidate the WHOLE NUMBER of delegates.
    4. If delegates remain, allocate each of the remaining delegates to those candidates with the LARGEST REMAINDERS.




Tuesday 11 May 2004: 28 of 39 delegates to the Democratic National Convention are allocated to presidential contenders based on the results of the voting in today's West Virginia Presidential Primary. A mandatory 15 percent threshold is required in order for a presidential contender to be allocated National Convention delegates at either the congressional district or statewide level.

  • 18 district delegates are to be allocated proportionally to presidential contenders based on the primary results in each of the State's 3 congressional districts.
    • CD 1: 6
    • CD 2: 6
    • CD 3: 6
  • In addition, 10 delegates are to be allocated to presidential contenders based on the primary vote statewide.
    • 6 at-large National Convention delegates
    • 4 Pledged PLEOs

Saturday 19 June 2004: The West Virginia State Democratic Executive Committee meets.

The remaining 11 National Convention delegates consist of

  • 10 Unpledged PLEO delegates:
    • 4 Democratic National Committee members
    • 4 Members of Congress (2 Senators and 2 Representatives)
    • 1 Governor
    • 1 Distinguished Party Leader
  • 1 Unpledged "add-on" (selected by the State Democratic Executive Committee ).

These 11 delegates and will go to the Democratic National Convention officially "Unpledged".

Delegation to the National Convention

West Virginia Delegation (as posted by, 4 July 2004)

Pledged District11718
Pledged PLEO044
Pledged At-Large066
Total Pledged12728
Alternate Pledged District303
Alternate Pledged PLEO000
Alternate Pledged At-Large112
Total Alternates415
Unpledged  11
Pages  0
Pledged District 1KerryBelinda BiaforeFairmont, WV
Pledged District 1KerryHon. Thais BlatnikWheeling, WV
Pledged District 1KerryStephen CookMorgantown, WV
Pledged District 1KerryHon. Glen GainerParkersburg, WV
Pledged District 1KerryTimothy ManchinFairmont, WV
Pledged District 1KerryCharlene MarshallMorgantown, WV
Pledged District 2KerryHon. Bonnie BrownSo. Charleston, WV
Pledged District 2KerryOshel CraigoWinfield, WV
Pledged District 2KerryHon. Cathy GatsonCharleston, WV
Pledged District 2KerryJames HumphreysCharleston, WV
Pledged District 2KerryNatalie TennantCharleston, WV
Pledged District 2KerryErik WellsCharleston, WV
Pledged District 3KerryWoodrow BerryHuntington, WV
Pledged District 3KerryDeborah ChapmanHuntington, WV
Pledged District 3KerryHon. Mary Pearl ComptonUnion, WV
Pledged District 3KerryBetty FarmerUnion, WV
Pledged District 3(unknown)Shirley LoveOak Hill, WV
Pledged District 3KerryHon. William WootonBeckley, WV
Pledged PLEOKerryHon. Barbara Evans FleishauerMorgantown, WV
Pledged PLEOKerryHon. Barbara HatfieldSo. Charleston, WV
Pledged PLEO
Delegation Chair
KerryHon. Joe ManchinCharleston, WV
Pledged PLEOKerryKenneth PerdueSo. Charleston, WV
Pledged At-LargeKerrySharon Smith BanksInstitute, WV
Pledged At-LargeKerryElaine HarrisSt. Albans, WV
Pledged At-LargeKerryMargaret JarvisPoca, WV
Pledged At-LargeKerryStephen McElroyCharleston, WV
Pledged At-LargeKerryCecil RobertsMiami, WV
Pledged At-LargeKerryKellie ShamblinSo. Charleston, WV
Alternate Pledged District(unknown)Anthony BarberioClarksburg, WV
Alternate Pledged District(unknown)Truman ChafinWilliamson, WV
Alternate Pledged District(unknown)Nadine Joy RandolphRavenswood, WV
Alternate Pledged At-Large(unknown)Libby StoutClarksburg, WV
Alternate Pledged At-LargeKerryPhyllis Riffe WhiteGilbert, WV
Unpledged Add-on Anita MaroneyCharleston, WV
Unpledged Congressman Hon. Alan MollohanWashington, DC
Unpledged Congressman Hon. Nick RahallBeckley, WV
Unpledged Distinguished Party Leader Hon. Robert ByrdWashington, DC
Unpledged DNC Member Jim BowenCharleston, WV
Unpledged DNC Member Nick CaseyCharleston, WV
Unpledged DNC Member Alice GermondWashington, DC
Unpledged DNC Member Emilie HolroydPrinceton, WV
Unpledged DNC Member Marie PreziosoCharleston, WV
Unpledged Governor Hon. Bob WiseCharleston, WV
Unpledged Senator Hon. John RockefellerWashington, DC

Congressional Districts  

West Virginia has 55 counties and 3 congressional districts: all 55 counties are wholly within a given congressional district and no county is divided among more than one congressional district.

  • CD 1: Barbour, Brooke, Doddridge, Gilmer, Grant, Hancock, Harrison, Marion, Marshall, Mineral, Monongalia, Ohio, Pleasants, Preston, Ritchie, Taylor, Tucker, Tyler, Wetzel and Wood.
  • CD 2: Berkeley, Braxton, Calhoun, Clay, Hampshire, Hardy, Jackson, Jefferson, Kanawha, Lewis, Mason, Morgan, Pendleton, Putnam, Randolph, Roane, Upshur and Wirt.
  • CD 3: Boone, Cabell, Fayette, Greenbrier, Lincoln, Logan, McDowell, Mercer, Mingo, Monroe, Nicholas, Pocahontas, Raleigh, Summers, Wayne, Webster and Wyoming.

1 Democratic Party's "First Determining Step" of the delegate selection process.


  Election 2004 - Primary, Caucus, and Convention Home  
  States Alphabetically  
  Events Chronologically  
  Major Events Chronologically  
  Poll Closing Times  
  Democratic "First Determining Step" Chronologically  
  Chronological Cumulative Allocation of Delegates  
Delegate Counts
  State by State Summary  
  Democratic Pledged and Unpledged Summary   --   Republican Pledged and Unpledged Summary  
  Democratic Hard and Floor Summary   --   Republican Hard and Floor Summary  
Delegate Allocation
  Democratic Quick Reference   --   Republican Quick Reference  
  Democratic Detailed Delegate Allocation   --   Republican Detailed Delegate Allocation  
  Democratic Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility   --   Republican Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility  
  Primaries at a Glance  
Ballot Access
  Democratic Candidates   --   Republican Candidates  
  Historical Analysis of the Presidential Nominating Process  
  Historical Analysis of the apportionment of delegate votes at the National Conventions of the two major parties  
  Primary/Caucus/Convention Glossary  
  Third Parties (Green, Libertarian, Reform)