The Green Papers: 2020 General Election

Copyright All-up chart of Governors by election 'cycle'

Governors, in all states except New Hampshire and Vermont, serve 4 year terms.
The Governors of New Hampshire and Vermont serve 2 year terms.

Regular Gubernatorial elections are held the first Tuesday following the first Monday in November in all states except Louisiana. Louisiana will hold a non-partisan primary on Saturday 9 October 2023 and, if no candidate receives 50% of the vote, a Saturday 11 November 2023 runoff.

Presidential Election
[next regular election:
Tuesday 3 November 2020]
Off Year Election
[next regular election:
Tuesday 2 November 2021]
[next regular election:
Tuesday 8 November 2022]
Off Year Election
[next regular election:
Tuesday 7 November 2023]
Delaware: Carney (D)New Jersey: Murphy (D)Alabama: Ivey (R)Kentucky: Beshear (D)
Indiana: Holcomb (R)Virginia: Northam (D)Alaska: Dunleavy (R)Louisiana: Edwards (D) (next election Saturday 14 October 2023)
Missouri: Parson (R) Arizona: Ducey (R)Mississippi: Reeves (R)
Montana: Bullock (D) Arkansas: Hutchinson (R) 
New Hampshire: Sununu (R) California: Newsom (D) 
North Carolina: Cooper (D) Colorado: Polis (D) 
North Dakota: Burgum (R) Connecticut: Lamont (D) 
Utah: Herbert (R) Florida: DeSantis (R) 
Vermont: Scott (R) Georgia: Kemp (R) 
Washington: Inslee (D) Hawaii: Ige (D) 
West Virginia: Justice (R) Idaho: Little (R) 
  Illinois: Pritzker (D) 
  Iowa: Reynolds (R) 
  Kansas: Kelly (D) 
  Maine: Mills (D) 
  Maryland: Hogan (R) 
  Massachusetts: Baker (R) 
  Michigan: Whitmer (D) 
  Minnesota: Walz (D) 
  Nebraska: Ricketts (R) 
  Nevada: Sisolak (D) 
  New Hampshire: 2-year term, previous regular election 2020 
  New Mexico: Lujan Grisham (D) 
  New York: Cuomo (D) 
  Ohio: DeWine (R) 
  Oklahoma: Stitt (R) 
  Oregon: Brown (D) 
  Pennsylvania: Wolf (D) 
  Rhode Island: Raimondo (D) 
  South Carolina: McMaster (R) 
  South Dakota: Noem (R) 
  Tennessee: Lee (R) 
  Texas: Abbott (R) 
  Vermont: 2-year term, previous regular election 2020 
  Wisconsin: Evers (D) 
  Wyoming: Gordon (R) 
3 November 2020
4 Democratic (D)
7 Republican (R)
2 November 2021
2 Democratic (D)
8 November 2022
16 Democratic (D)
18 Republican (R)
7 November 2023
2 Democratic (D)
1 Republican (R)
Grand Total
24 Democratic (D)
26 Republican (R)

  2020 General Election Home  
2020 Primaries and Runoffs for Statewide offices/Congress
  Alphabetically   --   Alphabetically with Filing Deadlines  
  Chronologically   --   Chronologically with Filing Deadlines  
  Poll Closing Times (with time zones)  
General Election Poll Closing Times (with time zones)
  Alphabetically   --   Chronologically  
Poll Closing Times (list)
  All Elections     Primary/Special Elections     General Elections  
  Presidential Candidates     Presidential Candidates by State     Presidential Candidate Ballot Access by State  
  Governors     Senate     House  
  Senators by 'Class'  
  Governors by election 'cycle'  
  Gubernatorial Primaries at a Glance   --   Senatorial Primaries at a Glance  
  Open Governor's Chairs, Senate and House Seats (the incumbent is not running for re-election)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with no incumbent running for them  
  Uncontested Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats (one candidate running for office)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with multiple incumbents running for them  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with only one major party candidate running for office  
  2020 Partisan Composition by State  
  Political Parties  
  Senate Electoral Classes  
  Comparative Political Party Predominance in each State, 2000 thru 2016  
  Political Party Floor Leaders in the Congress of the United States  
  Dates of DIRECT PRIMARY Elections re: Major Party Nominations for Statewide and/or Federal Office  
  Length of Terms of Office of STATE Governors throughout American History  
  Dates of U.S. Presidential Election "Events": 1789 to present  
  Complete Constitutional provisions for the election of the President and Vice-President  
  Complete Federal Law governing the election of a President and Vice-President and filling of vacancies of the same