The Green Papers: 2019 General Election
Copyright 2019 Governor's Chairs
by State

This is a list of the current Governors' chairs, the incumbents occupying them, and the candidacy status of said incumbents. Chairs up for election in the year 2019 are marked as such.

There have been 0 deaths, 0 resignations, and 0 changes of party affiliation in 2019.

  Alabama    Alaska    Arizona    Arkansas    California    Colorado    Connecticut    Delaware    Florida    Georgia    Hawaii    Idaho    Illinois    Indiana    Iowa    Kansas    Kentucky    Louisiana    Maine    Maryland    Massachusetts    Michigan    Minnesota    Mississippi    Missouri    Montana    Nebraska    Nevada    New Hampshire    New Jersey    New Mexico    New York    North Carolina    North Dakota    Ohio    Oklahoma    Oregon    Pennsylvania    Rhode Island    South Carolina    South Dakota    Tennessee    Texas    Utah    Vermont    Virginia    Washington    West Virginia    Wisconsin    Wyoming 

Gubernatorial Links


Kentucky  4 year term, Election Cycle: 2015, 2019. Term Limit: 2 consecutive 4-year terms
Partisan Composition: 1 Republican

Chair up for regular election Republican Governor Matthew Griswold "Matt" Bevin
First elected: 2015
Chair up for regular election: Tuesday 5 November 2019
The current Governor is unaffected by the State's term limit.
  Elected Democratic 709,577 49.19% Attorney General Andy Beshear
for Lieutenant Governor: Jacqueline Coleman
  Candidate Republican 704,388 48.83% Governor Matthew Griswold "Matt" Bevin
for Lieutenant Governor: state Senator Ralph A. Alvarado

25 August 2018: Announced he would run for re-election.
5 November 2019: Governor Bevin states he will not concede.
6 November 2019: This result is being challenged. There will be a recanvass on 14 November.
14 November 2019: Conceded.
  Candidate Libertarian 28,425 1.97% John Hicks
for Lieutenant Governor: Ann Cormican
  Candidate Write-in; (Socialist Workers Party)     Amy Husk
for Lieutenant Governor: Samir Hazboun
  Candidate Write-in     Blackii Effing Whyte
for Lieutenant Governor: Douglas G. Estridge
Total 1,442,390 100.00%  

Mississippi  4 year term, Election Cycle: 2015, 2019. Term Limit: No one can serve more than 2 4-year terms in a lifetime
Partisan Composition: 1 Republican

Chair up for regular election
Republican Governor Phil Bryant
First elected: 2011; re-elected: 2015.
Chair up for regular election: Tuesday 5 November 2019
The current Governor is affected by a term limit and cannot run for re-election.
Open Chair - At term limit.
  Elected Republican 449,655 52.13% Lieutenant Governor Tate Reeves
3 January 2019: Running for Governor in 2019.
6 August 2019: Received 49% in the primary. Proceeds to 27 August Runoff.
27 August 2019: Won the run-off with 54%.
  Candidate Democratic 402,131 46.62% Attorney General Jim Hood
1 October 2018: Will run for Governor in 2019.
  Candidate Independent 8,245 0.96% David R. "Big Dave" Singletary
  Candidate Constitution 2,517 0.29% Bob Hickingbottom
Total 862,548 100.00%  

Political Parties    Parties appear in parenthesis and italics when a candidate receives the endorsement of a given Party and/or official sources indicate a candidate's association with a particular Party but only where the Party in question does not appear on the actual ballot as such.

Major Parties
Major Third Parties
Other Third Parties
  Socialist Workers Party
Write-in/Scattered/otherwise not readily classifiable


Candidates for office appear on this page in italics where 'The Green Papers' does not yet have independent confirmation from a legal election authority that the person has been officially certified to appear on the ballot.


  2019 General Election Home  
2019 Primaries and Runoffs for Statewide offices/Congress
  Alphabetically   --   Alphabetically with Filing Deadlines  
  Chronologically   --   Chronologically with Filing Deadlines  
  Poll Closing Times (with time zones)  
General Election Poll Closing Times (with time zones)
  Alphabetically   --   Chronologically  
Poll Closing Times (list)
  All Elections     Primary/Special Elections     General Elections  
  Governors     Senate     House  
  Senators by 'Class'  
  Governors by election 'cycle'  
  Gubernatorial Primaries at a Glance  
  Open Governor's Chairs, Senate and House Seats (the incumbent is not running for re-election)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with no incumbent running for them  
  Uncontested Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats (one candidate running for office)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with multiple incumbents running for them  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with only one major party candidate running for office  
  2019 Partisan Composition by State  
  Political Parties  
  Senate Electoral Classes  
  Comparative Political Party Predominance in each State, 2000 thru 2016  
  Political Party Floor Leaders in the Congress of the United States  
  Dates of DIRECT PRIMARY Elections re: Major Party Nominations for Statewide and/or Federal Office  
  Length of Terms of Office of STATE Governors throughout American History