The Green Papers: General Election 2000

Copyright Utah
Primary: Tuesday, June 27, 2000
2000 Electoral Votes:5(0.93% of 538)
Governor:1(Term Limit: 3 consecutive 4-year terms)
Senators:2(Electoral Classes 1 and 3)
2000 Representatives:3(0.69% of 435)
1990 Census: 1,722,850(0.69% of 248,765,170)
Registered Voters (Nov 98): 1,045,071
Estimated Voting age population (Jan 98): 1,432,000 
Tuesday, November 7, 2000 Polls Close: 8 PM MST (0300 UTC)
Candidates seeking office
Independent American:1
Natural Law:4
Socialist Workers:1
Last modified
States Alphabetically    States Chronologically    Utah Links
  President (short)    President (long)    Governors    Senate    House  

President  Electoral votes: 5, Term limit: No more than 2 4-year terms in a lifetime; Electors: How Appointed, Meeting Place, How they voted; Total Popular Vote: 770,754; List of States: Short, Long

 CandidateLibertarian 3,616 0.47% Harry Browne
 CandidateReform 9,319 1.21% Pat Buchanan
 WinnerRepublican515,096 66.83% Governor George W. Bush
(5 Electoral Votes)
 Candidate"Write-In" 0 0.00% Earnest Lee Easton
No running mate.
 CandidateDemocrat203,053 26.34% Vice President Albert A. "Al" Gore, Jr.
 CandidateNatural Law763 0.10% John Hagelin
 CandidateSocialist Workers186 0.02% James E. Harris, Jr.
 Candidate"Write-In" 1 0.00% Keith Lewis Kunzler
No running mate.
 Candidate"Write-In" 0 0.00% Forrest C. LaBelle
Running mate is LOCKE.
 CandidateGreen 35,850 4.65% Ralph Nader
 Candidate"Write-In" 0 0.00% Daniel J. Pearlman
Running mate is "Lorraine".
 CandidateIndependent American 2,709 0.35% Howard Phillips
 Candidate"Write-In" 0 0.00% Joe Schriner
No running mate.
 Candidate"Write-In" 0 0.00% Gloria Dawn Strickland
Running mate is "MARTH".
 CandidateIndependent161 0.02% Louie G. Youngkeit
Running mate is Robert Leo Beck. Mr. Youngkeit claims to be the heir of Howard R. Hughes.

Governor  Term limit: 3 consecutive 4-year terms, Current Governors  

 Republican  Michael O. Leavitt
First elected: 1992; re-elected: 1996
Renominated - 27 June 2000 Primary. (The current Governor is NOT affected by this state's term limit).
 WinnerRepublican  Governor Michael O. Leavitt
 CandidateDemocrat  Bill Orton
 CandidateNatural Law  Dub Richards

Senate  6-year term, Current Senate  Senate Electoral Classes

Class 1Republican  Orrin G. Hatch
First elected: 1976; re-elected: 1982, 1988, 1994, 2000
Renominated - by Convention
 CandidateLibertarian  Jim Dexter
 WinnerRepublican  Senator Orrin G. Hatch
 CandidateDemocrat  Scott N. Howell

Class 3Republican  Robert F. Bennett
First elected: 1992; re-elected: 1998
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 2, 2004.

House of Representatives  2 year term, Current House  
3 Republicans

CD 1Republican  James V. Hansen
Renominated - by Convention
 CandidateDemocrat  Kathleen McConkie Collinwood
 CandidateNatural Law  Matthew D. Frandsen
 WinnerRepublican  Congressman James V. Hansen
 CandidateLibertarian  Dave Starr Seely

CD 2Republican  Merrill Cook
Lost Primary - 27 June 2000 to Derek W. Smith
 WinnerDemocrat  Jim Matheson
 CandidateLibertarian  Peter Pixton
 CandidateRepublican  Derek W. Smith
 CandidateIndependent  Steven Alberts Voris

CD 3Republican  Chris Cannon
Renominated - by Convention
 CandidateLibertarian  Kitty K. Burton
 WinnerRepublican  Congressman Chris Cannon
 CandidateDemocrat  Donald Dunn
 CandidateNatural Law  Randall Tolpinrud

Nomination Notes

Utah has an "optional convention" system where candidates are nominated by a Convention. If the leading contender fails to get 70 percent of the vote on the floor of the Convention then a Primary is required.

Congressional District

Utah has 29 counties and 3 congressional districts: 28 of the counties are undivided (those wholly within a given congressional district) while only 1 is divided (split between more than one congressional district).

UNDIVIDED COUNTIES: (wholly within one Congressional District)

  • CD # 1: Beaver, Box Elder, Cache, Davis, Iron, Juab, Millard, Rich, Tooele, Washington and Weber.
  • CD # 3: Carbon, Daggett, Duchesne, Emery, Garfield, Grand, Kane, Morgan, Piute, San Juan, Sanpete, Sevier, Summit, Uintah, Utah, Wasatch and Wayne.


  • Salt Lake County is divided among all 3 of Utah's Congressional Districts;

CD # 2 is wholly within Salt Lake County.