The Green Papers: General Election 2000

Copyright Rhode Island
Primary: Tuesday, September 12, 2000
2000 Electoral Votes:4(0.74% of 538)
Governor:1(Term Limit: 2 consecutive 4-year terms)
Senators:2(Electoral Classes 1 and 2)
2000 Representatives:2(0.46% of 435)
1990 Census: 1,003,464(0.40% of 248,765,170)
Registered Voters (Nov 98):629,786
Estimated Voting age population (Jan 98):751,000 
Tuesday, November 7, 2000 Polls Close: 9 PM EST (0200 UTC)
Candidates seeking office
Natural Law:1
Socialist Workers:1
Workers World:1
Last modified
States Alphabetically    States Chronologically    Rhode Island Links
  President (short)    President (long)    Governors    Senate    House  

President  Electoral votes: 4, Term limit: No more than 2 4-year terms in a lifetime; Electors: How Appointed, Meeting Place, How they voted; Total Popular Vote: 409,112; List of States: Short, Long

 CandidateRepublican130,555 31.91% Governor George W. Bush
 WinnerDemocrat249,508 60.99% Vice President Albert A. "Al" Gore, Jr.
(4 Electoral Votes)
 CandidateReform 2,273 0.56% Pat Buchanan
 CandidateNatural Law271 0.07% John Hagelin
 CandidateWorkers World199 0.05% Monica Moorehead
 CandidateLibertarian742 0.18% Harry Browne
 CandidateGreen 25,052 6.12% Ralph Nader
 CandidateSocialist 52 0.01% David McReynolds
 CandidateSocialist Workers 34 0.01% James E. Harris, Jr.
 CandidateConstitution 97 0.02% Howard Phillips
 Candidate(scatter)329 0.08% Write-In

Governor  Term limit: 2 consecutive 4-year terms, Current Governors  

 Republican  Lincoln C. Almond
First elected: 1994; re-elected: 1998
Chair up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002. (The current Governor is affected by a term limit and CANNOT run in the next election for Governor).

Senate  6-year term, Current Senate  Senate Electoral Classes

Class 1Republican  Lincoln D. Chafee
Appointed by Governor Lincoln C. Almond (Republican) on 2 November 1999, to fill vacancy caused by the death of Senator John H. Chafee (Republican): 24 October 1999; elected to first full term 2000
Renominated - 12 September 2000 Primary
 WinnerRepublican  Senator Lincoln D. Chafee
 CandidateIndependent  Kenneth P. Proulx
 CandidateDemocrat  Robert A. Weygand
 CandidateReform  Christopher Young

Class 2Democrat  John F. Reed
First elected: 1996
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002.

House of Representatives  2 year term, Current House  
2 Democrats

CD 1Democrat  Patrick J. Kennedy
Renominated - 12 September 2000 Primary
 CandidateRepublican  Stephen Cabral
 WinnerDemocrat  Congressman Patrick J. Kennedy

CD 2Democrat  Robert A. Weygand
Open Seat. Seeking U.S. Senate seat.
 CandidateGreen  Dorman J. Hayes, Jr.
 WinnerDemocrat  James R. Langevin
 CandidateRepublican  Robert G. Tingle

Congressional District

Rhode Island has 5 Counties and 2 Congressional Districts; 4 counties are wholly within a congressional and only one county is split between the two congressional districts.

  • CD # 1: Bristol and Newport Counties in their entirety plus the Towns or Cities of Burrillville, Central Falls, Cumberland, East Providence, Lincoln, North Providence, North Smithfield, Pawtucket, Smithfield and Woonsocket in Providence County.
  • CD # 2: Kent and Washington Counties in their entirety plus the Towns or Cities of Cranston, Foster, Glocester, Johnston and Scituate in Providence County.

The City of Providence (part of Providence County) is divided between CDs 1 and 2.