The Green Papers: General Election 2000

Copyright Oklahoma
Primary (subject to runoff): Tuesday, August 22, 2000
Runoff: Tuesday, September 19, 2000
2000 Electoral Votes:8(1.49% of 538)
Governor:1(Term Limit: 2 consecutive 4-year terms)
Senators:2(Electoral Classes 2 and 3)
2000 Representatives:6(1.38% of 435)
1990 Census: 3,145,576(1.26% of 248,765,170)
Registered Voters (Nov 98): 1,737,229
Estimated Voting age population (Jan 98): 2,463,000 
Tuesday, November 7, 2000 Polls Close: 7 PM CST (0100 UTC)
Candidates seeking office
Last modified
States Alphabetically    States Chronologically    Oklahoma Links
  President (short)    President (long)    Governors    Senate    House  

President  Electoral votes: 8, Term limit: No more than 2 4-year terms in a lifetime; Electors: How Appointed, Meeting Place, How they voted; Total Popular Vote: 1,234,229; List of States: Short, Long

 CandidateDemocrat474,276 38.43% Vice President Albert A. "Al" Gore, Jr.
 WinnerRepublican744,337 60.31% Governor George W. Bush
(8 Electoral Votes)
 CandidateLibertarian 6,602 0.53% Harry Browne
 CandidateReform 9,014 0.73% Pat Buchanan

Governor  Term limit: 2 consecutive 4-year terms, Current Governors  

 Republican  Frank Keating
First elected: 1994; re-elected 1998
Chair up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002. (The current Governor is affected by a term limit and CANNOT run in the next election for Governor).

Senate  6-year term, Current Senate  Senate Electoral Classes

Class 2Republican  James M. Inhofe
First elected to fill out the term in a Special Election: 1994 [held to fill the impending vacancy caused by the resignation of Senator David L. Boren (Democrat): effective, 15 November 1994 but announced before the 1994 Oklahoma state/local Primary in August 1994, allowing for this Special Election to take place; elected to a full term: 1996
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002.

Class 3Republican  Don Nickles
First elected: 1980; re-elected: 1986, 1992, 1998
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 2, 2004.

House of Representatives  2 year term, Current House  
6 Republicans

CD 1Republican  Steve Largent
Renominated - 22 August 2000 Primary
 CandidateLibertarian  Michael A. Clem
 WinnerRepublican  Congressman Steve Largent
 CandidateDemocrat  Dan Lowe

CD 2Republican  Tom Coburn
Open Seat. Not a candidate.
 WinnerDemocrat  Brad Carson
won Runoff (19 September 2000) over Bill Settle
 CandidateRepublican  Andy Ewing
 CandidateLibertarian  Neil Mavis

CD 3Republican  Wes Watkins
Renominated - 22 August 2000 Primary
 CandidateLibertarian  R.C. Sevier White
 WinnerRepublican  Congressman Wes Watkins
 CandidateIndependent  Argus W. Yandell, Jr.

CD 4Republican  J.C. Watts, Jr.
Renominated - 22 August 2000 Primary
 CandidateReform  Susan Ducey
 CandidateLibertarian  Keith B. Johnson
 WinnerRepublican  Congressman J.C. Watts, Jr.
 CandidateDemocrat  Larry Weatherford

CD 5Republican  Ernest Istook
Renominated - 22 August 2000 Primary
 WinnerRepublican  Congressman Ernest Istook
 CandidateIndependent  Bill Maguire
 CandidateDemocrat  Garland McWatters
 CandidateLibertarian  Robert T. Murphy

CD 6Republican  Frank D. Lucas
Renominated - 22 August 2000 Primary
 CandidateDemocrat  Randy Beutler
 CandidateLibertarian  Joseph V. Cristiano
 WinnerRepublican  Congressman Frank D. Lucas

Congressional District

Oklahoma has 77 counties and 6 congressional districts: 72 counties are wholly within a given congressional district; 5 are divided among more than one congressional district.

UNDIVIDED COUNTIES (wholly within one Congressional District):

  • CD # 1: Tulsa
  • CD # 2: Adair, Cherokee, Craig, Creek, Delaware, Haskell, McIntosh, Mayes, Muskogee, Nowata, Okfuskee, Okmulgee, Ottawa, Rogers and Sequoyah
  • CD # 3: Atoka, Bryan, Carter, Choctaw, Coal, Hughes, Johnston, Latimer, LeFlore, Lincoln, Love, McCurtain, Marshall, Murray, Payne, Pittsburg, Pontotoc, Pottawatomie, Pushmataha and Seminole
  • CD # 4: Cleveland, Comanche, Cotton, Garvin, Grady, Jackson, Jefferson, McClain, Stephens and Tillman
  • CD # 5: Key, Logan, Noble and Washington
  • CD # 6: Alfalfa, Beaver, Beckham, Blaine, Caddo, Cimarron, Custer, Dewey, Ellis, Garfield, Grant, Greer, Harmon, Harper, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Major, Roger Mills, Texas, Washita, Woods and Woodward

DIVIDED COUNTIES (split between more than one Congressional District):

  • Canadian: CDs 5 & 6
  • Oklahoma: CDs 4, 5 & 6
  • Osage: CDs 2 & 5
  • Pawnee: CDs 2 & 3
  • Wagoner: CDs 1 & 2