The Green Papers: General Election 2000

Copyright Nebraska
Primary: Tuesday, May 9, 2000
2000 Electoral Votes:5(0.93% of 538)
Governor:1(Term Limit: 2 consecutive 4-year terms)
Senators:2(Electoral Classes 1 and 2)
2000 Representatives:3(0.69% of 435)
1990 Census: 1,578,417(0.63% of 248,765,170)
Registered Voters (Nov 98):981,160
Estimated Voting age population (Jan 98): 1,231,000 
Tuesday, November 7, 2000 Polls Close: 8 pm EST / 7 PM CST (0100 UTC). The polls close at the same GMT/UTC time, that is, polls close at a particular local time in the advanced time zone and close one hour earlier local time in the lagging time zone.
Candidates seeking office
"By Petition":2
Natural Law:1
Last modified
States Alphabetically    States Chronologically    Nebraska Links
  President (short)    President (long)    Governors    Senate    House  

President  Electoral votes: 5, Term limit: No more than 2 4-year terms in a lifetime; Electors: How Appointed, Meeting Place, How they voted; Total Popular Vote: 697,019; List of States: Short, Long

 WinnerRepublican433,862 62.25% Governor George W. Bush
(5 Electoral Votes)
 CandidateDemocrat231,780 33.25% Vice President Albert A. "Al" Gore, Jr.
 CandidateLibertarian 2,245 0.32% Harry Browne
 CandidateNatural Law478 0.07% John Hagelin
 CandidateGreen 24,540 3.52% Ralph Nader
 Candidate"By Petition" 3,646 0.52% Pat Buchanan
 Candidate"By Petition"468 0.07% Howard Phillips

The candidate who receives the greatest number of votes statewide receives 2 electors. The candidate who receives the greatest number of votes in each Congressional District receives that district's elector.

District 17541,324142,56286,94618510,085167
District 2925845131,48588,9751418,495146
District 35661,477159,81555,8591525,960155

Governor  Term limit: 2 consecutive 4-year terms, Current Governors  

 Republican  Mike Johanns
First elected: 1998
Chair up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002. (The current Governor is NOT affected by this state's term limit).

Senate  6-year term, Current Senate  Senate Electoral Classes

Class 1Democrat  Bob Kerrey
Elected: 1988; re-elected: 1994
Open Seat. Senator Kerrey was not a candidate for re-election.
 CandidateLibertarian  Robert Eckerson
 WinnerDemocrat  Ben Nelson
 CandidateRepublican  Don Stenberg

Class 2Republican  Chuck Hagel
First elected: 1996
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002.

House of Representatives  2 year term, Current House  
3 Republicans

CD 1Republican  Doug Bereuter
Renominated - 9 May 2000 Primary
 WinnerRepublican  Congressman Doug Bereuter
 CandidateDemocrat  Alan Jacobsen
 CandidateLibertarian  David Oenbring

CD 2Republican  Lee Terry
Renominated - 9 May 2000 Primary
 CandidateLibertarian  John J. Graziano
 CandidateDemocrat  Shelley Kiel
 WinnerRepublican  Congressman Lee Terry

CD 3Republican  Bill Barrett
Open Seat. Congressman Barrett was not a candidate for re-election.
 CandidateLibertarian  Jerry Hickman
 WinnerRepublican  Tom Osborne
 CandidateDemocrat  Roland E. Reynolds

Congressional District

Nebraska has 93 counties and 3 congressional districts: 92 counties are wholly within a given congressional district; 1 county is divided among more than one congressional district.

UNDIVIDED COUNTIES (wholly within one Congressional District):

  • CD 1: Burt, Butler, Cedar, Colfax, Cuming, Dakota, Dixon, Dodge, Gage, Johnson, Lancaster, Madison, Nemaha, Otoe, Pawnee, Richardson, Saline, Saunders, Seward, Stanton, Thurston, Washington, Wayne and York.
  • CD 2: Douglas and Sarpy.
  • CD 3: Adams, Antelope, Arthur, Banner, Blaine, Boone, Box Butte, Boyd, Brown, Buffalo, Chase, Cherry, Cheyenne, Clay, Custer, Dawes, Dawson, Deuel, Dundy, Fillmore, Franklin, Frontier, Furnas, Garden, Garfield, Gosper, Grant, Greeley, Hall, Hamilton, Harlan, Haynes, Hitchcock, Holt, Hooker, Howard, Jefferson, Kearney, Keith, Keya Paha, Kimball, Knox, Lincoln, Logan, Loup, McPherson, Merrick, Morrill, Nance, Nuckolls, Perkins, Phelps, Pierce, Platte, Polk, Red Willow, Rock, Scotts Bluff, Sheridan, Sherman, Sioux, Thayer, Thomas, Valley, Webster and Wheeler.

DIVIDED COUNTIES (split between more than one Congressional District):

  • Cass: CDs 1 and 2.