The Green Papers: General Election 2000

Copyright North Dakota
Primary: Tuesday, June 13, 2000
2000 Electoral Votes:3(0.56% of 538)
Governor:1(Term Limit: None; 4-year term)
Senators:2(Electoral Classes 1 and 3)
2000 Representatives:1(0.23% of 435)
1990 Census:638,800(0.26% of 248,765,170)
Registered Voters (Nov 98):North Dakota has no voter registration.
Estimated Voting age population (Jan 98):476,000 
Tuesday, November 7, 2000 Polls Close: 9 PM CST (0300 UTC) and 9 PM MST (0400 UTC) - The western half of the state is in MST but that is, of course, the more sparsely populated part of the state, so it is not as problematic to the networks as might be otherwise suggested by simple geography.
Candidates seeking office
Last modified
States Alphabetically    States Chronologically    North Dakota Links
  President (short)    President (long)    Governors    Senate    House  

President  Electoral votes: 3, Term limit: No more than 2 4-year terms in a lifetime; Electors: How Appointed, Meeting Place, How they voted; Total Popular Vote: 288,256; List of States: Short, Long

 WinnerRepublican174,852 60.66% Governor George W. Bush
(3 Electoral Votes)
 CandidateDemocrat 95,284 33.06% Vice President Albert A. "Al" Gore, Jr.
 CandidateReform 7,288 2.53% Pat Buchanan
 CandidateConstitution373 0.13% Howard Phillips
 CandidateIndependent660 0.23% Harry Browne
 CandidateIndependent 9,486 3.29% Ralph Nader
 CandidateIndependent313 0.11% John Hagelin

Governor  Term limit: None; 4-year term, Current Governors  

 Republican  Edward T. Schafer
First elected: 1992; re-elected: 1996
Open Seat. Governor Schafer not a candidate for re-election.
 CandidateDemocrat  Heidi Heitkamp
 WinnerRepublican  John Hoeven

Senate  6-year term, Current Senate  Senate Electoral Classes

Class 1Democrat  Kent Conrad
First elected to the "Class 3" seat from the state: 1986; was not a candidate for re-election in the 3 November 1992 General Election; Elected to finish out the "Class 1" term in a Special Election: 4 December 1992 [held to fill the vacancy caused by the death of Senator Quentin N. Burdick (Democrat): 8 September 1992- which Jocelyn B. Burdick (Democrat) had been appointed by Governor George Sinner (Democrat) to fill, 12 September 1992]; elected to a full term: 1994, 2000
Renominated - 13 June 2000 Primary
 WinnerDemocrat  Senator Kent Conrad
 CandidateRepublican  Duane Sand

Class 3Democrat  Byron L. Dorgan
First elected: 1992; was induced to take the oath of office: 5 December 1992 when the seat became vacant upon outgoing Senator Kent Conrad (Democrat) having taken the oath of office for the "Class 1" seat from the state; re-elected: 1998
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 2, 2004.

House of Representatives  2 year term, Current House  
1 Democrat

At-LargeDemocrat  Earl Pomeroy
Renominated - 13 June 2000 Primary
 CandidateReform  Dana Paul Brandenburg
 CandidateRepublican  John Dorso
 WinnerDemocrat  Congressman Earl Pomeroy

Congressional District

North Dakota has been allocated only 1 Representative in Congress at large; therefore, the entire state consists of, in effect, only one statewide Congressional District.