The Green Papers: General Election 2000

Copyright Montana
Primary: Tuesday, June 6, 2000
2000 Electoral Votes:3(0.56% of 538)
Governor:1(Term Limit: No more than 2 4-year terms in any 4-term period)
Senators:2(Electoral Classes 1 and 2)
2000 Representatives:1(0.23% of 435)
1990 Census:799,065(0.32% of 248,765,170)
Registered Voters (Nov 98):494,763
Estimated Voting age population (Jan 98):658,000 
Tuesday, November 7, 2000 Polls Close: 8 PM MST (0300 UTC)
Candidates seeking office
Natural Law:1
Last modified
States Alphabetically    States Chronologically    Montana Links
  President (short)    President (long)    Governors    Senate    House  

President  Electoral votes: 3, Term limit: No more than 2 4-year terms in a lifetime; Electors: How Appointed, Meeting Place, How they voted; Total Popular Vote: 410,997; List of States: Short, Long

 CandidateLibertarian 1,718 0.42% Harry Browne
 CandidateReform 5,697 1.39% Pat Buchanan
 WinnerRepublican240,178 58.44% Governor George W. Bush
(3 Electoral Votes)
 CandidateDemocrat137,126 33.36% Vice President Albert A. "Al" Gore, Jr.
 CandidateNatural Law675 0.16% John Hagelin
 CandidateGreen 24,437 5.95% Ralph Nader
 CandidateConstitution 1,155 0.28% Howard Phillips
 Candidate(scatter) 11 0.00% Write-In
Forrest Laible received 11 write-in votes for President and Tim Locke received 6 write-in votes for Vice President.

Governor  Term limit: No more than 2 4-year terms in any 4-term period, Current Governors  

 Republican  Marc Racicot
First elected: 1992; re-elected: 1996
Open Seat. Ineligible to run for a third consecutive term. (The current Governor is affected by a term limit and CANNOT run in the next election for Governor).
 WinnerRepublican  Judy Martz
 CandidateDemocrat  Mark O'Keefe

Senate  6-year term, Current Senate  Senate Electoral Classes

Class 1Republican  Conrad Burns
First elected: 1988; re-elected: 1994, 2000
Renominated - 6 June 2000 Primary
 WinnerRepublican  Senator Conrad Burns
 CandidateReform  Sam Rankin
 CandidateDemocrat  Brian Schweitzer

Class 2Democrat  Max Baucus
First elected: 1978; re-elected: 1984, 1990, 1996
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002.

House of Representatives  2 year term, Current House  
1 Republican

At-LargeRepublican  Rick Hill
Open Seat. Congressman Hill not a candidate for re-election.
 CandidateDemocrat  Nancy Keenan
 WinnerRepublican  Dennis Rehberg
 CandidateLibertarian  James J. Tikalsky

Congressional District

Montana has been allocated only 1 Representative in Congress at large; therefore, the entire state consists of, in effect, only one statewide Congressional District.