The Green Papers: General Election 2000

Copyright Missouri
Primary: Tuesday, August 8, 2000
2000 Electoral Votes:11(2.04% of 538)
Governor:1(Term Limit: No one can serve more than 2 4-year terms in a lifetime)
Senators:2(Electoral Classes 1 and 3)
2000 Representatives:9(2.07% of 435)
1990 Census: 5,116,901(2.06% of 248,765,170)
Registered Voters (Nov 98): 3,240,657
Estimated Voting age population (Jan 98): 4,042,000 
Tuesday, November 7, 2000 Polls Close: 7 PM CST (0100 UTC)
Candidates seeking office
Natural Law:4
Last modified
States Alphabetically    States Chronologically    Missouri Links
  President (short)    President (long)    Governors    Senate    House  

President  Electoral votes: 11, Term limit: No more than 2 4-year terms in a lifetime; Electors: How Appointed, Meeting Place, How they voted; Total Popular Vote: 2,359,892; List of States: Short, Long

 CandidateDemocrat 1,111,138 47.08% Vice President Albert A. "Al" Gore, Jr.
 WinnerRepublican 1,189,924 50.42% Governor George W. Bush
(11 Electoral Votes)
 CandidateLibertarian 7,436 0.32% Harry Browne
 CandidateConstitution 1,957 0.08% Howard Phillips
 CandidateReform 9,818 0.42% Pat Buchanan
 CandidateNatural Law 1,104 0.05% John Hagelin
Running mate is Mike Tompkins.
 CandidateGreen 38,515 1.63% Ralph Nader

Governor  Term limit: No one can serve more than 2 4-year terms in a lifetime, Current Governors  

 Democrat  Roger B. Wilson
Sworn into office 17 October 2000 upon the death of former Governor Mel Carnahan.
Open Seat. (The current Governor is NOT affected by this state's term limit).
 WinnerDemocrat  Bob Holden
 CandidateReform  Richard Allen Kline
 CandidateGreen  Lavoy (Zaki Baruti) Reed
 CandidateLibertarian  John M. Swenson
 CandidateRepublican  Congressman James M. Talent
 with 97% of the precincts reporting: Bob Holden (Democrat) 1,132,560 to Congressman James M. Talent (Republican) 1,120,984

Senate  6-year term, Current Senate  Senate Electoral Classes

Class 1Republican  John Ashcroft
First elected: 1994
Renominated - 8 August 2000 Primary
 CandidateRepublican  Senator John Ashcroft
 WinnerDemocrat  Governor Mel Carnahan
Monday 16 October 2000: Governor Carnahan was killed in a plane crash. If the late Governor Carnahan were to be "elected" come 7 November over the incumbent Senator John Ashcroft, then a vacancy would exist in the Class 1 Senate seat from Missouri as of the expiration of Ashcroft's term at Noon, 3 January 2001.
On Monday, October 30, 2000 Gov. Mel Carnahanís widow, Jean Carnahan, 66, declared that she would accept the appointment to the Senate should voters elect her late husband.
 CandidateNatural Law  Charles Dockins
 CandidateReform  Hugh Foley
 CandidateLibertarian  Grant Samuel Stauffer
 CandidateGreen  Evaline Taylor
 Tuesday 24 October 2000: Acting Governor Roger Wilson (Democrat-Missouri) has just announced that he will- should the late Governor Mel Carnahan (Democrat) get more votes than incumbent Senator John Ashcroft (Republican) in the upcoming election- appoint Jean Carnahan, Governor Carnahan's widow, to fill the vacancy in the seat that would result from just such an election outcome as of 3 January 2001. [This is clearly a political move to put a face to the late Governor's name on the Missouri General Election ballot (letting the voters know that a vote for Mel would actually be a vote for Jean- an attempt to keep voters from not pulling the lever next to the name of a dead man.]

Class 3Republican  Christopher "Kit" Bond
First elected: 1986; re-elected: 1992, 1998
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 2, 2004.

House of Representatives  2 year term, Current House  
5 Democrats
4 Republicans

CD 1Democrat  William "Bill" Clay, Sr.
Open Seat. Not a candidate.
 CandidateRepublican  Z. Dwight Billingsly
 WinnerDemocrat  William Lacy Clay
 CandidateLibertarian  Tamara A. Millay
 CandidateReform  Robert Penningroth

CD 2Republican  James M. Talent
Open Seat. - successfully sought the Republican nomination for Governor.
 WinnerRepublican  Todd Akin
 CandidateReform  Richard J. Gimpelson
 CandidateLibertarian  James Higgins
 CandidateDemocrat  Ted House

CD 3Democrat  Richard A. Gephardt
Renominated - 8 August 2000 Primary
 CandidateLibertarian  Michael H. Crist
 CandidateRepublican  Bill Federer
 WinnerDemocrat  Congressman Richard A. Gephardt
 CandidateReform  Anthony J. "Tony" Windisch

CD 4Democrat  Ike Skelton
Renominated - 8 August 2000 Primary
 CandidateLibertarian  Thomas L. Knapp
 CandidateRepublican  Jim Noland
 CandidateReform  James Edward Rinehart
 WinnerDemocrat  Congressman Ike Skelton

CD 5Democrat  Karen McCarthy
Renominated - 8 August 2000 Primary
 CandidateReform  Dennis M. Carriger
 CandidateRepublican  Steve Gordon
 WinnerDemocrat  Congressman Karen McCarthy
 CandidateLibertarian  Alan Newberry

CD 6Democrat  Patsy Ann "Pat" Danner
Open Seat. Not a candidate for re-election.
 CandidateDemocrat  Steve Danner
 CandidateLibertarian  Jimmy Dykes
 WinnerRepublican  Samuel B. Graves, Jr.
 CandidateNatural Law  Marie Richey

CD 7Republican  Roy Blunt
Renominated - 8 August 2000 Primary
 WinnerRepublican  Congressman Roy Blunt
 CandidateLibertarian  Doug Burlison
 CandidateDemocrat  Charles Christup
 CandidateReform  Ron Lapham

CD 8Republican  Jo Ann Emerson
Renominated - 8 August 2000 Primary
 CandidateDemocrat  Bob Camp
 WinnerRepublican  Congressman Jo Ann Emerson
 CandidateLibertarian  John B. Hendricks, Jr.

CD 9Republican  Kenny Hulshof
Renominated - 8 August 2000 Primary
 CandidateDemocrat  Steven R. Carroll
 CandidateNatural Law  Mark Davis
 CandidateReform  Steven D. Dotson
 CandidateLibertarian  Robert Hoffman
 WinnerRepublican  Congressman Kenny Hulshof

Congressional District

Missouri has 114 counties plus 1 city independent of any county and 9 congressional districts: 111 counties are wholly within a given congressional district while 3 counties plus the independent City of St. Louis are divided among more than one congressional district.

UNDIVIDED COUNTIES (wholly within one Congressional District):

  • CD # 3: Jefferson and Ste. Genevieve
  • CD # 4: Bates, Benton, Camden, Cass, Cole, Dallas, Henry, Hickory, Johnson, Laclede, Lafayette, Maries, Miller, Moniteau, Morgan, Osage, Pettis, Pulaski, St. Clair, Saline, Vernon and Webster
  • CD # 6: Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, Caldwell, Carroll, Charlton, Clay, Clinton, Cooper, Daviess, DeKalb, Gentry, Grundy, Harrison, Holt, Howard, Linn, Livingston, Mercer, Nodaway, Platte, Putnam, Ray, Schuyler, Sullivan and Worth
  • CD # 7: Barry, Barton, Cedar, Christian, Dade, Douglas, Greene, Jasper, Lawrence, McDonald, Newton, Ozark, Polk, Stone and Taney
  • CD # 8: Bollinger, Butler, Cape Girardeau, Carter, Crawford, Dent, Dunklin, Howell, Iron, Madison, Mississippi, New Madrid, Oregon, Pemiscot, Perry, Phelps, Reynolds, Ripley, St. Francois, Scott, Shannon, Stoddard, Texas, Washington, Wayne and Wright
  • CD # 9: Adair, Audrain, Boone, Callaway, Clark, Franklin, Gasconade, Knox, Lewis, Lincoln, Macon, Marion, Monroe, Montgomery, Pike, Ralls, Randolph, Scotland, Shelby and Warren

DIVIDED COUNTIES (split between more than one Congressional District):

  • Jackson: CDs 4, 5 and 6
  • St. Charles: CDs 2 and 9
  • St. Louis County: CDs 1, 2 and 3

independent City of St. Louis: CDs 1 and 3
[NOTE: the City of St. Louis is completely independent of St. Louis County which surrounds it.]

CD # 5 is wholly within Jackson County