The Green Papers: General Election 2000

Copyright Maryland
Primary: Tuesday, March 7, 2000
2000 Electoral Votes:10(1.86% of 538)
Governor:1(Term Limit: 2 consecutive 4-year terms)
Senators:2(Electoral Classes 1 and 3)
2000 Representatives:8(1.84% of 435)
1990 Census: 4,780,753(1.92% of 248,765,170)
Registered Voters (Nov 98): 2,569,316
Estimated Voting age population (Jan 98): 3,824,000 
Tuesday, November 7, 2000 Polls Close: 8 PM EST (0100 UTC)
Candidates seeking office
Last modified
States Alphabetically    States Chronologically    Maryland Links
  President (short)    President (long)    Governors    Senate    House  

President  Electoral votes: 10, Term limit: No more than 2 4-year terms in a lifetime; Electors: How Appointed, Meeting Place, How they voted; Total Popular Vote: 2,023,735; List of States: Short, Long

 Candidate"Write-In" 1 0.00% Mike K. Brown
No running mate. Running as a Democrat.
 CandidateLibertarian 5,310 0.26% Harry Browne
 CandidateReform 4,248 0.21% Pat Buchanan
 CandidateRepublican813,827 40.21% Governor George W. Bush
 Candidate"Write-In" 2 0.00% Alonzo Crawford
No running mate. Unaffiliated.
 Candidate"Write-In" 1 0.00% Earnest Lee Easton
No running mate. Unaffiliated.
 WinnerDemocrat 1,144,008 56.53% Vice President Albert A. "Al" Gore, Jr.
(10 Electoral Votes)
 Candidate"Write-In"176 0.01% John Hagelin
Running under the banner of the Natural Law Party. Maryland State Board of Elections lists running mate as "Other Candidates".
 Candidate"Write-In" 1 0.00% Forrest C. LaBelle
Running mate is Tim Locke. Unaffiliated.
 Candidate"Write-In" 0 0.00% Isabell Masters
No running mate. Running as a Republican.
 Candidate"Write-In" 3 0.00% Rachelle OneFamily Miller
No running mate. Unaffiliated.
 CandidateGreen 53,768 2.66% Ralph Nader
 Candidate"Write-In" 3 0.00% Raj Alison Officewala
No running mate. Unaffiliated.
 Candidate(scatter) 1,462 0.07% Other Write-ins
Listed as "Other Write-ins" by the Board of Elections.
 Candidate"Write-In" 1 0.00% Daniel J. Pearlman
No running mate. Unaffiliated.
 Candidate"Write-In" 2 0.00% Jeffrey Peters
No running mate. Unaffiliated.
 Candidate"Write-In" 0 0.00% Sylvester J. Pettway
No running mate. Unaffiliated.
 CandidateConstitution918 0.05% Howard Phillips
 Candidate"Write-In" 3 0.00% Joe Schriner
No running mate. Unaffiliated.
 Candidate"Write-In" 0 0.00% Michael F. Sterba
No running mate. Unaffiliated.
 Candidate"Write-In" 1 0.00% Gloria Dawn Strickland
No running mate. Unaffiliated.

Governor  Term limit: 2 consecutive 4-year terms, Current Governors  

 Democrat  Parris N. Glendening
First elected: 1994; re-elected: 1998
Chair up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002. (The current Governor is affected by a term limit and CANNOT run in the next election for Governor).

Senate  6-year term, Current Senate  Senate Electoral Classes

Class 1Democrat  Paul Sarbanes
First elected: 1976; re-elected: 1982, 1988, 1994, 2000
Renominated - 7 March 2000 Primary
 CandidateRepublican  Paul Rappaport
 WinnerDemocrat  Senator Paul Sarbanes

Class 3Democrat  Barbara A. Mikulski
First elected: 1986; re-elected: 1992, 1998
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 2, 2004.

House of Representatives  2 year term, Current House  
4 Democrats
4 Republicans

CD 1Republican  Wayne Gilchrest
Renominated - 7 March 2000 Primary
 CandidateDemocrat  Bennett Bozman
 WinnerRepublican  Congressman Wayne Gilchrest

CD 2Republican  Robert Ehrlich, Jr.
Renominated - 7 March 2000 Primary
 CandidateDemocrat  Kenneth Bosley
 WinnerRepublican  Congressman Robert Ehrlich, Jr.
 CandidateIndependent  Leroy Weekley

CD 3Democrat  Benjamin Cardin
Renominated - 7 March 2000 Primary
 WinnerDemocrat  Congressman Benjamin Cardin
 CandidateRepublican  Colin Harby

CD 4Democrat  Albert Wynn
Renominated - 7 March 2000 Primary
 CandidateRepublican  John Kimble
 WinnerDemocrat  Congressman Albert Wynn

CD 5Democrat  Steny Hoyer
Renominated - 7 March 2000 Primary
 WinnerDemocrat  Congressman Steny Hoyer
 CandidateRepublican  Thomas Hutchins

CD 6Republican  Roscoe Bartlett
Renominated - 7 March 2000 Primary
 WinnerRepublican  Congressman Roscoe Bartlett
 CandidateDemocrat  Donald DeArmon

CD 7Democrat  Elijah Cummings
Renominated - 7 March 2000 Primary
 WinnerDemocrat  Congressman Elijah Cummings
 CandidateRepublican  Kenneth Kodner

CD 8Republican  Constance Morella
Renominated - 7 March 2000 Primary
 CandidateDemocrat  Terry Lierman
 WinnerRepublican  Congressman Constance Morella

Congressional District

Maryland has 23 Counties plus the independent City of Baltimore (not part of any County) and 8 Congressional Districts: 18 counties are wholly within one congressional district; 5 counties- along with the independent City of Baltimore- are divided among more than one congressional district.

UNDIVIDED COUNTIES (those wholly within one Congressional District):

  • CD # 1: Caroline, Cecil, Dorchester, Kent, Queen Anne's, Somerset, Talbot, Wicomico and Worcester
  • CD # 2: Harford
  • CD # 5: Calvert, Charles and St. Mary's
  • CD # 6: Allegany, Carroll, Frederick, Garrett and Washington

DIVIDED COUNTIES (those split among more than one Congressional District)

  • Anne Arundel: CDs 1, 2, 3 and 5
  • Baltimore County [NOTE: this is NOT the City of Baltimore nor does it include the City of Baltimore]: CDs 2, 3 and 7
  • Howard: CDs 3 and 6
  • Montgomery: CDs 4 and 8 [CD # 8 is wholly within Montgomery County]
  • Prince George's: CDs 4 and 5

The independent City of Baltimore is divided among CDs 1, 3 and 7.