The Green Papers: General Election 2000

Copyright Louisiana
Primary (subject to runoff): Tuesday, November 7, 2000
Runoff: Saturday, December 9, 2000
2000 Electoral Votes:9(1.67% of 538)
Governor:1(Term Limit: 2 consecutive 4-year terms)
Senators:2(Electoral Classes 2 and 3)
2000 Representatives:7(1.61% of 435)
1990 Census: 4,221,826(1.70% of 248,765,170)
Registered Voters (Nov 98): 2,511,141
Estimated Voting age population (Jan 98): 3,149,000 
Tuesday, November 7, 2000 Polls Close: 8 PM CST (0200 UTC)
Candidates seeking office
Natural Law:3
Socialist Workers:1
Last modified
States Alphabetically    States Chronologically    Louisiana Links
  President (short)    President (long)    Governors    Senate    House  

President  Electoral votes: 9, Term limit: No more than 2 4-year terms in a lifetime; Electors: How Appointed, Meeting Place, How they voted; Total Popular Vote: 1,765,656; List of States: Short, Long

 CandidateDemocrat792,344 44.88% Vice President Albert A. "Al" Gore, Jr.
 CandidateReform 14,356 0.81% Pat Buchanan
 WinnerRepublican927,871 52.55% Governor George W. Bush
(9 Electoral Votes)
 CandidateConstitution 5,483 0.31% Howard Phillips
 CandidateGreen 20,473 1.16% Ralph Nader
 CandidateLibertarian 2,951 0.17% Harry Browne
 CandidateNatural Law 1,075 0.06% John Hagelin
 CandidateSocialist Workers 1,103 0.06% James E. Harris, Jr.

Governor  Term limit: 2 consecutive 4-year terms, Current Governors  

 Republican  M.J. "Mike" Foster
First elected: 1995; re-elected: 1999
Chair up for election: Saturday, October 18, 2003. (The current Governor is affected by a term limit and CANNOT run in the next election for Governor).
 A runoff will be held Saturday 15 November 2003 should no candidate receive 50% of the vote in the Saturday 18 October 2003 election.

Senate  6-year term, Current Senate  Senate Electoral Classes

Class 2Democrat  Mary L. Landrieu
First elected: 1996
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002.

Class 3Democrat  John B. Breaux
First elected: 1986; re-elected: 1992, 1998
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 2, 2004.

House of Representatives  2 year term, Current House  
2 Democrats
5 Republicans

CD 1Republican  David Vitter
Republican David Vitter was elected to fill this seat on 29 May 1999 (special election), sworn 8 June 1999. (Republican Congressman Bob Livingston resigned 1 March 1999.)
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 7, 2000. Election status not yet determined.
 CandidateDemocrat  Michael A. Armato
 CandidateDemocrat  Cary J. Deaton
 CandidateNatural Law  Martin A. Rosenthal
 CandidateLibertarian  John Paul "Jack" Simanonok
 WinnerRepublican  Congressman David Vitter

CD 2Democrat  William J. Jefferson
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 7, 2000. Election status not yet determined.
 WinnerDemocrat  Congressman William J. Jefferson
 (no candidate from any other party listed; Congressman Jefferson will apparently run unopposed)

CD 3Republican  W.J. "Billy" Tauzin
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 7, 2000. Election status not yet determined.
 CandidateIndependent  Edwin J. "Eddie" Albares
 CandidateLibertarian  Dion Bourque
 CandidateNatural Law  Anita W. Rosenthal
 WinnerRepublican  Congressman W.J. "Billy" Tauzin

CD 4Republican  "Jim" McCrery
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 7, 2000. Election status not yet determined.
 CandidateDemocrat  Phillip R. Green
 WinnerRepublican  Congressman "Jim" McCrery
 CandidateIndependent  James Ronald Skains
 CandidateLibertarian  Michael "Mike" Taylor

CD 5Republican  John Cooksey
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 7, 2000. Election status not yet determined.
 CandidateDemocrat  Roger Beall
 WinnerRepublican  Congressman John C. Cooksey
 CandidateLibertarian  Raymond A. "Chuck" Dumas
 CandidateDemocrat  Sam Houston Melton, Jr.

CD 6Republican  Richard Baker
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 7, 2000. Election status not yet determined.
 WinnerRepublican  Congressman Richard H. Baker
 CandidateDemocrat  Kathy J. Rogillio
 CandidateLibertarian  Michael S. Wolf

CD 7Democrat  Chris John
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 7, 2000. Election status not yet determined.
 CandidateLibertarian  Michael P. Harris
 WinnerDemocrat  Congressman Chris John

Nomination Notes

Louisiana has a so-called "Open Primary" [this is the term used in the Louisiana Election Law- it is not to be confused with an "open" as opposed to a "closed" primary re: voter eligibility] in which all candidates for a given office- regardless of political party- run together on a single ballot and on a non-partisan basis [though they are permitted to indicate their political party affiliation on the ballot, if they so desire]: where a candidate wins a majority of the votes in this "Open Primary", he or she is "declared elected"; if not, the top two vote-getters among all the candidates "run off" in a subsequent election... until recently, this "Open Primary" was held in late September or early October and the "runoff"- if necessary- was held on the same day as the General Election [the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November]; the Federal courts, however, have voided- at least insofar as the election of Federal officials is concerned [this ruling has no effect on the use of the "Open Primary" or its scheduling for Louisiana's State and Local Elections]- the earlier dates formerly used for this "Open Primary" as being in violation of Federal Law, which requires that all Federal officers- including the U.S. Senators and U.S. Congressmen from Louisiana- be elected, across the USA, on the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November [the declaring of candidates "elected" on an earlier date- in those cases where no runoff would be required- was held to be out of compliance with this Federal statute]. As a result, Louisiana now holds its "Open Primary" for Federal officers from the State on the same day as the General Election across the USA and any runoffs resulting therefrom are held at a date subsequent to that of the November General Election.

Congressional District

Louisiana has 64 parishes (a Parish being Louisiana's equivalent to a County in most other states) and 7 congressional districts: 58 parishes are wholly within a given congressional district; 6 parishes are divided among more than one congressional district.

UNDIVIDED PARISHES (those wholly within one Congressional District):

  • CD # 1: St. Tammany, Tangipahoa and Washington
  • CD # 3: Assumption, Iberia, Lafourche, Plaquemines, St. Bernard, St. Charles, St. James, St. John the Baptist, St. Mary and Terrebonne
  • CD # 4: Beauregard, Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, Claiborne, DeSoto, Natchitoches, Red River, Sabine, Vernon and Webster
  • CD # 5: Avoyelles, Caldwell, Catahoula, Concordia, East Carroll, Franklin, Grant, Jackson, LaSalle, Lincoln, Madison, Morehouse, Ouachita, Rapides, Richland, Tensas, Union, West Carroll and Winn
  • CD # 6: East Baton Rouge, East Feliciana, Iberville, Livingston, Pointe Coupee, St. Helena, West Baton Rouge and West Feliciana
  • CD # 7: Acadia, Calcasieu, Cameron, Jefferson Davis, Lafayette, St. Landry and Vermilion

DIVIDED PARISHES (those split between more than one Congressional District):

  • Allen: CDs 4 & 7
  • Ascension: CDs 3 & 6
  • Evangeline: CDs 5 & 7
  • Jefferson: CDs 1, 2 & 3
  • Orleans (coterminous with the City of New Orleans): CDs 1 & 2
  • St. Martin: CDs 3 & 7