The Green Papers: General Election 2000

Copyright Kentucky
Primary: Tuesday, May 23, 2000
2000 Electoral Votes:8(1.49% of 538)
Governor:1(Term Limit: 2 consecutive 4-year terms)
Senators:2(Electoral Classes 2 and 3)
2000 Representatives:6(1.38% of 435)
1990 Census: 3,686,892(1.48% of 248,765,170)
Registered Voters (Nov 98): 2,512,318
Estimated Voting age population (Jan 98): 2,990,000 
Tuesday, November 7, 2000 Polls Close: 6 PM EST (2300 UTC) and 6 PM CST (0000 UTC) - Poll closing time could be rather problematic in KENTUCKY. A large chunk of the state is in CST [but the networks consider that "most of the polls have closed" in KENTUCKY by 6 pm EST and so, if they can, project at the same time they project INDIANA]. CST voters in KENTUCKY may note the networks' willingness/eagerness to project a winner as early as 6 pm EST.
Candidates seeking office
Natural Law:1
Last modified
States Alphabetically    States Chronologically    Kentucky Links
  President (short)    President (long)    Governors    Senate    House  

President  Electoral votes: 8, Term limit: No more than 2 4-year terms in a lifetime; Electors: How Appointed, Meeting Place, How they voted; Total Popular Vote: 1,544,187; List of States: Short, Long

 CandidateConstitution923 0.06% Howard Phillips
 CandidateDemocrat638,898 41.37% Vice President Albert A. "Al" Gore, Jr.
 CandidateGreen 23,192 1.50% Ralph Nader
 CandidateLibertarian 2,896 0.19% Harry Browne
 CandidateNatural Law 1,533 0.10% John Hagelin
 CandidateReform 4,173 0.27% Pat Buchanan
 WinnerRepublican872,492 56.50% Governor George W. Bush
(8 Electoral Votes)
 Candidate(scatter) 80 0.01% Write-In

Governor  Term limit: 2 consecutive 4-year terms, Current Governors  

 Democrat  Paul Patton
First elected: 1995; re-elected; 1999
Chair up for election: Tuesday, November 4, 2003. (The current Governor is affected by a term limit and CANNOT run in the next election for Governor).

Senate  6-year term, Current Senate  Senate Electoral Classes

Class 2Republican  Mitch McConnell
First elected: 1984; re-elected: 1990, 1996
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002.

Class 3Republican  Jim Bunning
First elected: 1998
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 2, 2004.

House of Representatives  2 year term, Current House  
1 Democrat
5 Republicans

CD 1Republican  Edward Whitfield
Renominated - 23 May 2000 Primary
 CandidateDemocrat  Brian S. Roy
 WinnerRepublican  Congressman Edward Whitfield

CD 2Republican  Ron Lewis
Renominated - 23 May 2000 Primary
 WinnerRepublican  Congressman Ron Lewis
 CandidateDemocrat  Brian Pedigo

CD 3Republican  Anne Meagher Northup
Renominated - 23 May 2000 Primary
 CandidateDemocrat  Eleanor Jordan
 WinnerRepublican  Congressman Anne Meagher Northup

CD 4Democrat  Ken Lucas
Renominated - 23 May 2000 Primary
 CandidateRepublican  Don Bell
 WinnerDemocrat  Congressman Ken Lucas

CD 5Republican  Harold "Hal" Rogers
Renominated - 23 May 2000 Primary
 CandidateDemocrat  Sidney Jane Bailey
 WinnerRepublican  Congressman Harold "Hal" Rogers

CD 6Republican  Ernest Fletcher
Renominated - 23 May 2000 Primary
 CandidateDemocrat  Scotty Baesler
 WinnerRepublican  Congressman Ernest Fletcher
 CandidateReform  Gatewood Galbraith

Congressional District

Kentucky has 120 counties and 6 congressional districts: 115 counties are wholly within a given congressional district; 5 counties are divided among more than one congressional district.

UNDIVIDED COUNTIES (wholly within one Congressional District):

  • CD 1: Allen, Ballard, Butler, Caldwell, Calloway, Carlisle, Christian, Clinton, Crittenden, Cumberland, Fulton, Graves, Henderson, Hickman, Hopkins, Livingston, Logan, Lyon, McCracken, McLean, Marshall, Monroe, Muhlenberg, Ohio, Russell, Simpson, Todd, Trigg, Union and Webster.
  • CD 2: Barren, Breckinridge, Bullitt, Casey, Daviess, Edmonson, Grayson, Green, Hancock, Hardin, Hart, Larue, Marion, Meade, Metcalfe, Nelson, Spencer, Taylor, Warren and Washington.
  • CD 4: Boone, Boyd, Bracken, Campbell, Carroll, Carter, Elliott, Fleming, Gallatin, Grant, Greenup, Henry, Kenton, Lewis, Mason, Oldham, Owen, Pendleton, Robertson, Rowan, Shelby and Trimble.
  • CD 5: Bell, Breathitt, Clay, Floyd, Harlan, Jackson, Johnson, Knott, Knox, Laurel, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, McCreary, Magoffin, Martin, Menifee, Morgan, Owsley, Perry, Pike, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Wayne, Whitley and Wolfe.
  • CD 6: Anderson, Bath, Bourbon, Boyle, Clark, Estill, Fayette, Franklin, Garrard, Harrison, Jessamine, Madison, Mercer, Montgomery, Powell, Scott and Woodford.

DIVIDED COUNTIES (split between more than one Congressional District):

  • Adair: CDs 1 and 2
  • Jefferson: CDs 2 and 3
  • Lawrence: CDs 4 and 5
  • Lincoln: CDs 2 and 6
  • Nicholas: CDs 4 and 6

CD 3 is wholly within Jefferson County