The Green Papers: General Election 2000

Copyright Idaho
Primary: Tuesday, May 23, 2000
2000 Electoral Votes:4(0.74% of 538)
Governor:1(Term Limit: None; 4-year term)
Senators:2(Electoral Classes 2 and 3)
2000 Representatives:2(0.46% of 435)
1990 Census: 1,006,734(0.40% of 248,765,170)
Registered Voters (Nov 98):661,433
Estimated Voting age population (Jan 98):888,000 
Tuesday, November 7, 2000 Polls Close: 8 PM MST (0300 UTC) and 8 PM PST (0400 UTC) - A sizable part of IDAHO is in PST but, as the MST section is the much more populated portion of the state, the networks consider that "most of the polls in IDAHO" are closed by 8 pm MST.
Candidates seeking office
Natural Law:1
Last modified
States Alphabetically    States Chronologically    Idaho Links
  President (short)    President (long)    Governors    Senate    House  

President  Electoral votes: 4, Term limit: No more than 2 4-year terms in a lifetime; Electors: How Appointed, Meeting Place, How they voted; Total Popular Vote: 501,615; List of States: Short, Long

 CandidateLibertarian 3,488 0.70% Harry Browne
 CandidateReform 7,615 1.52% Pat Buchanan
 WinnerRepublican336,937 67.17% Governor George W. Bush
(4 Electoral Votes)
 CandidateDemocrat138,637 27.64% Vice President Albert A. "Al" Gore, Jr.
 CandidateNatural Law 1,177 0.23% John Hagelin
 Candidate"Write-In" 12,292 2.45% Ralph Nader
 CandidateConstitution 1,469 0.29% Howard Phillips

Governor  Term limit: None; 4-year term, Current Governors  

 Republican  Dirk Kempthorne
First elected: 1998
Chair up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002.

Senate  6-year term, Current Senate  Senate Electoral Classes

Class 2Republican  Larry E. Craig
First elected: 1990; re-elected: 1996
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002.

Class 3Republican  Mike Crapo
First elected: 1998
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 2, 2004.

House of Representatives  2 year term, Current House  
2 Republicans

CD 1Republican  Helen Chenoweth
Open Seat. Congressman Chenoweth not a candidate for re-election.
 CandidateReform  Kevin Philip Hambsch
 WinnerRepublican  C.L. "Butch" Otter
 CandidateDemocrat  Linda Pall
 CandidateLibertarian  Ronald G. Wittig

CD 2Republican  Mike Simpson
Renominated - 23 May 2000 Primary
 CandidateLibertarian  Donovan Bramwell
 WinnerRepublican  Congressman Mike Simpson
 CandidateDemocrat  Craig Williams

Congressional District

Idaho has 44 counties and 2 congressional districts: 43 counties are wholly within a given congressional district; 1 county is divided between both congressional districts.

    UNDIVIDED COUNTIES (wholly within one Congressional District):

  • CD 1: Adams, Benewah, Boise, Bonnier, Boundary, Canyon, Clearwater, Gem, Idaho, Kootenai, Latah, Lewis, Nez Perce, Owyhee, Payette, Shoshone, Valley and Washington.
  • CD 2: Bannock, Bear Lake, Bingham, Blaine, Bonneville, Butte, Camas, Caribou, Cassia, Clark, Custer, Elmore, Franklin, Fremont, Gooding, Jefferson, Jerome, Lemhi, Lincoln, Madison, Minidoka, Oneida, Power, Teton and Twin Falls.

DIVIDED COUNTY (split between both Congressional Districts):

  • Ada: CDs 1 and 2