The Green Papers: General Election 2000

Copyright Hawaii
Primary: Saturday, September 23, 2000
2000 Electoral Votes:4(0.74% of 538)
Governor:1(Term Limit: 2 consecutive 4-year terms)
Senators:2(Electoral Classes 1 and 3)
2000 Representatives:2(0.46% of 435)
1990 Census: 1,108,229(0.45% of 248,765,170)
Registered Voters (Nov 98):601,404
Estimated Voting age population (Jan 98):878,000 
Tuesday, November 7, 2000 Polls Close: 6 PM Hawaii (0400 UTC)
Candidates seeking office
Natural Law:2
Last modified
States Alphabetically    States Chronologically    Hawaii Links
  President (short)    President (long)    Governors    Senate    House  

President  Electoral votes: 4, Term limit: No more than 2 4-year terms in a lifetime; Electors: How Appointed, Meeting Place, How they voted; Total Popular Vote: 368,547; List of States: Short, Long

 CandidateConstitution343 0.09% Howard Phillips
 WinnerDemocrat205,286 55.70% Vice President Albert A. "Al" Gore, Jr.
(4 Electoral Votes)
 CandidateGreen 21,623 5.87% Ralph Nader
 CandidateLibertarian 1,477 0.40% Harry Browne
 CandidateNatural Law306 0.08% John Hagelin
 CandidateReform 1,071 0.29% Pat Buchanan
 CandidateRepublican137,845 37.40% Governor George W. Bush
 Candidate(scatter)596 0.16% OTHER VOTES
Recorded as "OTHER VOTES" by the State of Hawaii.

Governor  Term limit: 2 consecutive 4-year terms, Current Governors  

 Democrat  Ben Cayetano
First elected: 1994; re-elected: 1998
Chair up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002. (The current Governor is affected by a term limit and CANNOT run in the next election for Governor).

Senate  6-year term, Current Senate  Senate Electoral Classes

Class 1Democrat  Daniel K. Akaka
Appointed by Governor John Waihee (Democrat) 16 May 1990, to fill vacancy caused by the death of Senator Spark M. Matsunaga (Democrat): 15 April 1990; elected to finish out the term in a Special Election: 1990; elected to full term: 1994; re-elected 2000
Renominated - 23 September 2000 Primary
 WinnerDemocrat  Senator Daniel K. Akaka
 CandidateRepublican  John Carroll
 CandidateNatural Law  Laurel A. Clegg
 CandidateLibertarian  Lloyd Jeffrey Mallon

Class 3Democrat  Daniel K. Inouye
First elected: 1962; re-elected: 1968, 1974, 1980, 1986, 1992, 1998
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 2, 2004.

House of Representatives  2 year term, Current House  
2 Democrats

CD 1Democrat  Neil Abercrombie
Renominated - 23 September 2000 Primary
 WinnerDemocrat  Congressman Neil Abercrombie
 CandidateRepublican  Phil Meyers
 CandidateLibertarian  Jerry Murphy

CD 2Democrat  Patsy Takemoto Mink
Renominated - 23 September 2000 Primary
 CandidateLibertarian  Lawrence G.K. Duquesne
 CandidateRepublican  Russ Francis
 WinnerDemocrat  Congressman Patsy Takemoto Mink

Congressional District

Hawaii has 2 congressional districts and 5 counties:

CD 1 is wholly within the City and County of Honolulu.

CD 2 includes- besides the remainder of the City and County of Honolulu- the Counties of Hawaii, Kalawao, Kauai and Maui.