The Green Papers: General Election 2000

Copyright Delaware
Primary: Saturday, September 9, 2000
2000 Electoral Votes:3(0.56% of 538)
Governor:1(Term Limit: No one can serve more than 2 4-year terms in a lifetime)
Senators:2(Electoral Classes 1 and 2)
2000 Representatives:1(0.23% of 435)
1990 Census:666,168(0.27% of 248,765,170)
Registered Voters (Nov 98):445,067
Estimated Voting age population (Jan 98):568,000 
Tuesday, November 7, 2000 Polls Close: 8 PM EST (0100 UTC)
Candidates seeking office
Natural Law:1
Last modified
States Alphabetically    States Chronologically    Delaware Links
  President (short)    President (long)    Governors    Senate    House  

President  Electoral votes: 3, Term limit: No more than 2 4-year terms in a lifetime; Electors: How Appointed, Meeting Place, How they voted; Total Popular Vote: 327,529; List of States: Short, Long

 WinnerDemocrat180,068 54.98% Vice President Albert A. "Al" Gore, Jr.
(3 Electoral Votes)
 CandidateRepublican137,288 41.92% Governor George W. Bush
 CandidateConstitution208 0.06% Howard Phillips
 CandidateGreen 8,307 2.54% Ralph Nader
 CandidateLibertarian774 0.24% Harry Browne
 CandidateNatural Law107 0.03% John Hagelin
 CandidateReform777 0.24% Pat Buchanan

Governor  Term limit: No one can serve more than 2 4-year terms in a lifetime, Current Governors  

 Democrat  Thomas R. Carper
First elected: 1992
Open Seat. (The current Governor is affected by a term limit and CANNOT run in the next election for Governor).
 CandidateRepublican  John M. Burris
 CandidateIndependent  Floyd E. McDowell, Sr.
Running under the banner of "the INDEPENDENT PARTY OF DELAWARE"
 WinnerDemocrat  Ruth Ann Minner

Senate  6-year term, Current Senate  Senate Electoral Classes

Class 1Republican  William V. Roth, Jr.
First elected: 1970; re-elected: 1976, 1982, 1988, 1994
Renominated - 9 September Primary
 WinnerDemocrat  Governor Thomas R. Carper
 CandidateLibertarian  J. Burke Morrison
 CandidateRepublican  Senator William V. Roth, Jr.

Class 2Democrat  Joseph R. Biden, Jr.
First elected: 1972; re-elected: 1978, 1984, 1990, 1996
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002.

House of Representatives  2 year term, Current House  
1 Republican

At-LargeRepublican  Michael N. Castle
Renominated - 9 September Primary
 WinnerRepublican  Congressman Michael N. Castle
 CandidateDemocrat  Michael C. Miller

Congressional District

Delaware has been allocated only 1 Representative in Congress at large; therefore, the entire state consists of, in effect, only one statewide Congressional District.